We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If in Mysore with family, this is the place to stay”
Review of Sunlarge Home Stay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mysuru (Mysore)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunlarge Home Stay
Ranked #38 of 152 Mysuru (Mysore) B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Last week we were in Mysore as part of a get together. We were 4 families with kids and had selected Sunlarge homestay fro a period of 3 days. When we arrived, there Mr. Kumar, the cook, had taken care of our lunch and we were treated to some very tasty south indian cusine. Pretty much at the same time i was sure that we would be treated to very delicious meals during our stay at sun large. Coming to the rooms, they were spacious and clean. The toilets were spacius too. Since it was a get together, our primary requirement was to have a place to sit around and chit chat. The huuuugeeee drawing room , was just perfect for this. Literally every night we were awake till early morning hours chit chatting and sharing our experiences and Sun large home was a perfect place for it.
Mr. Arun, the manager was very co-operative and Mr. Kumar, the cook was very accomodative. On the last day, before we left, at the last minute we decided to have food in Sun large itself before leaving and not just that, we walso wanted some food to be packed for the journey. Even though a last minute request, Mr. Kumar accomodated it and we were again treated to a finger licking treat.
For someone who is looking for a homely atmosphere, tasty food and decent proximity to landmarks in Mysore and at a moderate price, i would strongly suggest this place.
Somehow, the review is not complete without mentioning again about the food quality. At one point in time, my friend and I were discussing about taking the cook along with us back to Bangalore.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sunil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 62 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2011

Had a great experience staying in Sunlarge Homestay. Had gone to mysore for a couple of days. There were 5 of us with my parents, wife and my son who is 4.5 yrs old. Was very particulat that we stay in a homestay environment as my son is a very choosy eater and we needed the use of kitchen to cook his food alone. The romms are very spacious and clean, bathrooms kept very neat. The food was 'homely' and the rates nominal.

The people working there respected our privacy and we appreciated it a lot.

We were provided with milk and curd for our son and even potatoes. There is a refrigerator and a kitchen with gas stove and cylinders

Whats best about sunlarge is its location close to the foothills of Chamundi. You can see the hill from the terrace. There is lush greenery in the quiet neighbourhoood.

A place to really spend quality time with family.

Highly recommend

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank anandrangachari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed here with family and young children. The food was good, and the cook took very good care of our needs. It was like staying at somebody's home. It is a bit difficult to get autos from here sometimes and would be great if they could upgrade the bathrooms. We had issues with the water heater the first day of our stay.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
3  Thank mallikamt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

This was the first time that we stayed in a homestay and the experience is rather encouraging - we would do it more often .The rooms are large ,and there is nothing there that is inaccessible - my son prefrred to watch tv in the living room while the rest of the families were in the rooms .There were 2 dogs that were surprisingly very quiet .the beds were very comfortable too.Byt the highlight is the food - fabulous , homely -just perfect.Nagesh , the cook is absolutely fantastic -wantedto take him home with us .Must mention that Arun was very helpful when my father in law left his clothes back there - he followed it up with us which we thought was very nice of him.Things that they could do better - the house could smell a little better (2) there were cockroaches in the room- please do a pest control .(4)The towels were a bit stained .Otherwise great stay

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vandanarumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

How often do you feel at home while on a vacation ? We booked Sunlarge as Mysore was a 2 night halt for us enroute to Coorg. The highlight of the stay was the food prepared by the cook. Simply awesome, very good variety. Since we were about 19 people, all 5 rooms were with us. The homestay guys called us a day earlier to know if we would like to eat when we get to Mysore from Bangalore the next day and also wanted to know what they should prepare. The preparation was very good. The people are very personable, you can get milk, tea, coffee etc. for kids as needed. Rooms are reasonably sized, two are quite big. The living area is really huge. Everyone had a blast. The location too is good and just next to the Palace, so accessibility is not a problem.

Will surely recommend for short stays

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank morpheuskc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

It has been a very good stay, though we just stayed for night ....... whole tiring sightseeing.... was all gone and were fresh enough to go for ooty.....very well maintained and staff are very friendly in understanding the group needs(like ours 13 adults 6 kids) ..... one day is too less for mysore ........ so next time would definitely vote for this homestay and also recommand this place

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rajni999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

What a great time we had at Sunlarge Homestay. Mr Arun, Shri and Kumar were wonderfully helpful and welcoming. We had a first floor room at the back on the house which although lacking a little charm, was clean and quiet. During the afternoon it was very restful sitting on the veranda at the back of the house in the cool watching the bird and animal life. Shri and Kumar were both excellent cooks, and we suggested they should have cooking classes for guests!! Kumar makes the best dosa and coconut chutney ever!! Mysore itself is a charming city with much to explore. We wish we could go back tomorrow!! And we'd stay at Sunlarge Homestay again!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Indiaphiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
4.4 mi away
Tulips Homestay
Tulips Homestay
#6 of 152 in Mysuru (Mysore)
229 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#1 of 106 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,650 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Paradise
Hotel Paradise
#57 of 106 in Mysuru (Mysore)
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
#2 of 106 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,597 reviews
1.9 mi away
Suvarna Residency
Suvarna Residency
#83 of 106 in Mysuru (Mysore)
44 reviews
5.0 mi away
Olive Residency
Olive Residency
#39 of 106 in Mysuru (Mysore)
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunlarge Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunlarge Home Stay

Address: No.1 D,Srinivas Krupa | Next to Wax Museum, Mysuru (Mysore) 570011, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range: $28 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AC Rooms. AC Dlx Family Suite, Studio Apartment ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing