We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attentive service”
Review of The Castle

The Castle
Ranked #181 of 494 Restaurants in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price range: $350 - $750
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Attentive service”
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

My driver recommended this place for lunch on our day trip go Mysore. The restaurant was empty so the staff were very attentive. I had grilled fish on a skillet which was good. I also tried the Mysore tea which I was hoping would be like normal chai but it was very bitter.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnnyfromtheblock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    19
    13
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Long Valley, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean and healthy.”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Great breakfast and service. You can watch the chef at work and see how clean the food preparation is.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nigel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“What an attitude!!!”
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Our driver recommended this restaurant and so we ended up there. Whilst we were there people from different tour companies from far east Asia arrived. The buffet it seemed was catered more for clients from Far East, so we settled for a la carte. After ordering, the waiter brought three wrong orders to our table. They seemed more interested in waiting on the big group. What ever extra we ordered never came e.g. hot water & lemon. This was rather annoying and we decided to tip the waiter with only 10% of our bill. The waiter of wasn't happy and actually made a rude face and did not thank us but just ignored us and walked away. OMG what an attitude!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gulnar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good Food.”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The hotel looks like a 4 star rated one but the restaurant is not so expensive. Travelling with family i was not willing to take a risk on the food quality and hence opted for dinner. The soup (hot and sour chicken) was not that great. But all the other dishes i ordered basically north indian was nice. Good spacious restaurant and staff understands English well. Recommended for travellers with family.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jacobeasaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, NY
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“decent place for "safe" food”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Probably really 3.5 stars. I enjoyed it but we're not talking Michelin stars here.

My guide took me here for lunch on a day trip visit to Mysore from Bangalore. Since it was my 2nd day in India, I was still trying to be pretty careful with what I eat and this place was good because it caters to travellers and westerners - pepsi was served in a bottle, no ice in the glass. Ordered a lamb dish and it was fairly tasty. The wait staff was very nice and I had no trouble understanding them. Not pushy at all. Prices are western prices but the restaurant is spacious and very nice.

Lunch was a la carte dining, not a buffet. Choices of some western, India (both vegetarian and meat) as well as Chinese (go figure). My guide had recommended the Indian vegetarian served in a bannana leaf, but I happen to like lamb and they had a nice selection.

Would definitely recommend for anyone that prefers to be conservative with their dining.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Castle also viewed

Mysuru (Mysore), Mysore District
Mysuru (Mysore), Mysore District
 
Mysuru (Mysore), Mysore District
 

Been to The Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing