We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Melkote

Melkote
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I had a cousin visiting us from the USA and was at a dilemma to take him to Melkote or Somnathpur. I had seen the hoyasala temples at Belur and Halebid a lot of times so I decided to go to Melkote since a lot of movies had been shot here recently.
The in-completed gateway is the only good attraction. The temple is average. The temple on the hill can also be categorized in the same. You do not have anything great to write home about. Not much temple architecture or carvings. If I do not compare it with Somnathpur then I can say it is an average temple town. The kalyani (water body) at the bottom of the hill was also disappointing since it was badly maintained. The so called Subbanna mess was also a let down since you get better food at the kadambam BLR, and definitely cheaper. Localites told us about it but we did not heed to them and trusted the online reviews. If you have an option then this is not the place.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ipot98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    76
    19
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Takes you back in time”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Its quite a endearing place, tiny town with a temple on a hill-lock. The Cheluvanarayana temple beneath is small one, made famous by vaishnavite Shri Ramanujacharya. There are small vendors and shops selling puliagare (tamarind rice) and other eatables , subbanna's is quite popular and that place seems to be cashing in on it with rates costlier than bangalore. There is a small vaishnavite math near the temple providing free mid-day meal (they do take donations) for pilgrims. All in all did not find it worth driving all the way from Bangalore, but its still charming place, seems quite un-changed for years.. The drive along the country side from Mandya is scenic , inter-spread with sugarcane and ragi fields, villagers making hay on the road.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Suresh_Mithala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Place has a rustic charm to it - Must Visit”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I have stayed in Mysore for close to 10 years and Melkote was one of the places closeby which keeps pulling me back.

Its about 65 kms from Mysore and will take about 1.5 hrs to drive. I would recommend starting early in the morning and drive through Pandavpura. You will get to see lush green land on either side and the drive is quite scenic. Try making a stopover at Thaneerkarai and from there you can get your first glimpses of Melkote perched in the hills.

There is a short 5 min drive up the hill before you reach the town/village.

Make sure that you visit the three temples, the twin lakes and the ruins close to Sanskrit college.

Try making it during the rainy season, you will get to see some magnificent views from the hill top.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SriniPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Great for a day trip from Mysore. No shoes allowed. Lots of stairs. Beautiful views. Ancient and quiet. Hold on to young children as there are lots of areas they could fall etc. There are differnt temples and activities. We participated in main temple. Great pictures. Beautiful art and statues. We also visited the Rama Hole which is right down the road about a mile. Bathrooms at main temple but I didnt see any anywhere else. Nice vendors to get coconuts and items for puja.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mariecupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Melukotte vairamudi”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Very famous vairamudi utsavam celebrated every year during march..diamond crown to Lord is one has to have darshan atleast oncein life time...Ramanuja stayed here for years..after 108. Divyadesams it is a must visit place to sri vaishnavas. yoga Narasiha temple on the hillock. View from temple,,,,kalyani,,danushkoti,, sanskrit paatashala are worth visiting...ahobila mautt,,other mutts have rooms to stay... Puliyodarai,, sakkarai pongal are famous prasadams...thirumanjanam to Lord narasimha,,, prasadam at temple can be arranged...by contacting the bhattars...one day visit from bangalore,or mysore ,,road is good,, very famous place for film shooting,,,

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank kuppam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melkote also viewed

Mysuru (Mysore), Mysore District
Mysuru (Mysore), Mysore District
 

Been to Melkote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing