We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 places - both nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Om Shanthi

Om Shanthi
Ranked #24 of 484 Restaurants in Mysuru (Mysore)
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
320 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“2 places - both nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

I arrived here tired & hungry at about 6pm in the evening. The place was crowded & cooled by ceiling fans. The decor was pretty casual & there was a nice family atmosphere. I ordered channa batura for 60 rupees & a lassi. Both arrived quickly & were really nice. Next day I went again for lunch after a long walk down Chamundi Hill & I was really hungry. The menu was mainly snacks, but I wanted something more substantial. Eventually an older waiter escorted me to a sort of inner sanctum with smarter decor & air conditioning. Here I has a wonderful South Indian thali. I was so full I could hardly move but it was delicious. So if you want something bigger or slightly more upmarket go to the posher annexe. Anyway, both are good but they are different.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scousepeasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    95
    28
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

we had our breakfast despite staying at ginger hotel.Best place to have your meal with a great deal. good food but ignorant manger at the door with a tie no welcome no one will you take you to the table find your own. clean and good place

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank crispycriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Unproffessional!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

It was a crowded Friday afternoon. The three of us were made to wait for 45 mins despite being no: 1 on the waiting list. The reason: If we are 3, a table for 3 only has to get vacant!! The guy refused to give us a table for 4 or 6 but kept accomodating the 4s n the 6s. I took this up with a mngr named Myla Reddy who told us thats what they been asked to do n went on to try n convince me how a bigger crowd would fetch them more revenue rather than us, so they have their priorities! Food is hygenic, but expensive as the service left a lot to be desired.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shashi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mysuru (Mysore), India
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor Service and Inferior Food Quality”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Om Shanthi was always our favorite joint for South Indian Food and Thali until recent when not only food, but the service was quite appalling! Our luck went horribly wrong when instead of going to another good restaurant we thought of trying Om Shanthi for Rava Idli and South Indian Meals.

Rava Idli priced at Rs. 42 was the worst Rava Idli I ever had my life. Idli looked Stale and was smelling horibbly bad! South Indian Meals (priced at Rs 80 or 100 cant remember) clearly said that it will be served with Poori, but instead cold stale Paratha was served with it. On confronting, the waiter said thats what they have!

I left the place quite disappointed and vowed never to come back again. It may not affect them to loose one of their loyal customer, but they should understand its hard to built your reputation but may take 1-2 bad service to bring it down to dust!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vikzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mysore, India
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“The best evening place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Every time we drive this place in the evening, we make it a point to munch our snacks here. The taste is too good. The ice cream and pan after the coffee makes every evening a special evening

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank GURURAJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Om Shanthi also viewed

Mysuru (Mysore), Karnataka
 
Mysuru (Mysore), Karnataka
Mysuru (Mysore), Karnataka
 
Mysuru (Mysore), Karnataka
Mysuru (Mysore), Karnataka
 

Been to Om Shanthi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing