We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service and Inferior Food Quality”
Review of Om Shanthi

Om Shanthi
Ranked #35 of 494 Restaurants in Mysuru (Mysore)
Restaurant details
Mysuru (Mysore), India
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor Service and Inferior Food Quality”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Om Shanthi was always our favorite joint for South Indian Food and Thali until recent when not only food, but the service was quite appalling! Our luck went horribly wrong when instead of going to another good restaurant we thought of trying Om Shanthi for Rava Idli and South Indian Meals.

Rava Idli priced at Rs. 42 was the worst Rava Idli I ever had my life. Idli looked Stale and was smelling horibbly bad! South Indian Meals (priced at Rs 80 or 100 cant remember) clearly said that it will be served with Poori, but instead cold stale Paratha was served with it. On confronting, the waiter said thats what they have!

I left the place quite disappointed and vowed never to come back again. It may not affect them to loose one of their loyal customer, but they should understand its hard to built your reputation but may take 1-2 bad service to bring it down to dust!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vikzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    98
    30
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mysore, India
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“The best evening place”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Every time we drive this place in the evening, we make it a point to munch our snacks here. The taste is too good. The ice cream and pan after the coffee makes every evening a special evening

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank GURURAJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“No Service and Horrible Food”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I visited the restaurant reading the review here but definitely don't recommend the same as the food was literally tasteless and not at all good, a definite skip. The service was real poor and the team was not bothered whether you got things or not, even after we mentioned we are traveling from Mumbai. There was actually no service and the place was dirty with food spilt all over the place and they not cleaning it at all before making the next lot sit, they weren't even giving servings till not requested multiple times. None of us liked the food and realized that you get better South Indian meals in Bangalore itself. Will definitely not recommend and then when we asked the locals, none of them also suggested the place to us, they recommended we try out Vishala or else Mahesh Sagar. We visited on December 29, 2012 and the place was crowded on account of vacation, probably that was the reason for such low quality, avoidable according to me.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MonitaMehra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
580 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Great South Indian Thali”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Dropped in here for lunch. Its located in the ground floor of Siddhartha hotel and easily walk-able from the nearby tourist hotels. The service was good and the thali(comes with a choice of curries, chapathi and rice,ending with a sweet) was good with typical South Indian veggie food, a must try for someone looking to try the local cuisine. You have the choice of sitting in the AC but you rather sit outside and enjoy the hustle bustle too. My brother also dropped in for a dosa at a different time and liked it. Well liked by the locals too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PavRao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“10 on 10 restaurant for jain/veg food”
Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

We had both dinner and lunch at this restaurant. They had enough optiond for jain food. This is a pure veg place.

Gobi manchurian, panneer butter masala, roti, nan is all what we had. They also have sizzlers in their menu. This place seemed like a place frequented by local families. We experienced Great ambience, cordial staff and good service.

They also have a nice pan shop outside.

Ample parking and cards accepted. A complete city restaurant with an ac family area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Virag S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Om Shanthi also viewed

Mysuru (Mysore), Mysore District
Mysuru (Mysore), Mysore District
 
Mysuru (Mysore), Mysore District
Mysuru (Mysore), Mysore District
 
Mysuru (Mysore), Mysore District
Mysuru (Mysore), Mysore District
 

Been to Om Shanthi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing