We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst hotel and Tourist trap”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Roopa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Roopa
Ranked #14 of 100 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Worst hotel and Tourist trap”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

This is one of the worst hotel i ever stayed in my life. I stayed in this hotel based on reading the review on tripadvisor, but really disappointed.

Me and my couple of friends checked in this hotel last week. Ambiance and amenities as you enter the lobby is good. Even the rooms are neatly maintained. But sorry to say this is a tourist trap. None of the ACs in the room are in working condition. All ACs function as blower and zero cooling effect. Hotel staff collected 1 day advance from us, after we complained about AC and shifting to other rooms in the hotels we realized that its day light robbery in the name of AC. We checked out in 3-4 hours of our stay and decided to stay in some other hotel. Worst part is hotel staff charged us full day tariff and refused to reimburse us the money in spite of the fact that they failed to provide us service (read: AC in working condition). Reception staffs are rude, shameless and cheats.

I would certainly not recommend this hotel, unless you want to waste your money and AC is not your requirement.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lazybrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    145
    93
    30
    25
See reviews for
177
102
18
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

The best thing about the hotel is it's positioned near the Mysore Palace - one can simply walk to the palace from the hotel. The hotel is very tidy and the restaurants offer a multitude of cuisines to pamper your taste buds. Food was of high quality and room service was satisfactory. We were offered complementary breakfasts on our stay which gave us a nice opportunity to get introduced to various South Indian dishes. Highly recommended for anyone visiting Mysore, for whatever purpose it might be.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

Well located, near to the Palace and easy access to transportation. Rooms are ok for a couple but small if you have kids. Room furnishings would rate 7 (1~10). Cleanliness 8. So it is possible to improve much more and make them as good as the reception. The roof top resto-bar is open all day and is a good attraction for the evenings. Food is not exceptional but much better than other places. The tariff is very well placed, between the low and the high, so you get a better than average place at not so high rates.

Room Tip: A room away from the front will be quiter but may not have any view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmiSen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

Well located,clean,friendly.No lavatory paper provided but that was the only downside!
Good roof top restaurant and bar from which you can see Mysore Palace lit up at night.
Breakfast pretty poor if you want Asian style..but you can request other provisions that are not on display.
Most of the guests were of Indian origin except to the bar and restaurant.
No problems with hot water experienced.
My room did not have A/C..but the weather was not humid and the room was well shaded by the next door building..so a fan was perfectly adequate.

Room Tip: face towards next door cinema..no view but room will remain cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthonyvanoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mysuru (Mysore), India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

I've now visited Roopa roof top many times. Its becoming a real favourite. Food is consistently high quality, service is timely, and the illuminated Palace can be seen on a sunday night. There's indoors just in case it rains (rarely) or a little cool and a good range of Indian food and drinks.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfindia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

I chose this hotel as it had a good write up in LP and OK reviews on Trip Advisor but was very disappointed. My room wasn't clean, there was no hot water and it was definitely over-priced but worse was constant hassle from the staff. Within minutes of checking in there was a knock on the door by a male member of staff who demanded a tip from me even though I'd never met him. He tried to push his way into my room and was quite threatening. When I reported this to the front desk they just shrugged their shoulders. The following morning I had 3 more knocks on the door from different men, none with any particular reason. When I checked out and cited this as a reason the staff were really indifferent. I viewed a number of hotels in the same area and they all seemed to offer much better and cheaper rooms. The Roopa refused to give a single person discount whereas everyone else in the area where more than happy to do so. I definitely wouldn't stay here again. Oh, and the breakfast was terrible. The staff even looked surprised to see me!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rebe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels

Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

Pros : Location, Morning breakfast
Con: Extremely Untidy, Any room other than AC is a big no, even AC isnt very good for the price being charged. Waiters don't understand you. Menu is limited and food is horrible. Had eaten Chinese and Indian Chinese earlier. Discovered South Indian Chinese at Roopa :)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GVJMaheshwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#1 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel BS International
Hotel BS International
#32 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parklane Hotel
Parklane Hotel
#12 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Grand Mercure Mysuru
Grand Mercure Mysuru
#5 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.7 mi away
NI Ambaari Suites
NI Ambaari Suites
#37 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Sujatha Residency
Hotel Sujatha Residency
#34 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roopa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roopa

Property: Hotel Roopa
Address: Bangalore Nilgiri Road | Opp. Woodlands Theatre, Mysuru (Mysore) 570001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 100 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Roopa 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Roopa is a city lifestyle destination beyond compare. Mysorean hospitality begins to come alive the moment you enter the premises and you are made to feel at home instantly. Set in the heart of Mysore, a few minutes' walk from the Mysore Palace and just a short drive away from Mysore Railway Station, this established landmark encompasses a fully integrated business hotel with high luxurious spacious rooms and suites,paired with creative meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Roopa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing