We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY Bad experience!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barowalia Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barowalia Resorts
Ranked #100 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“VERY Bad experience!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2011

I had a pathetic experience of this hotel. The reasons:
The rooms are tiny and almost like a small shack.
Theres no view from the rooms, as the pine trees obstruct the windows.
The towels are dirty and unwashed, I had to go personally in their store and search for a few clean towels.
The curtains donot even cover the entire window!! Pull them on one side and the other end of the window is open!
The staff is not very helpful, Breakfast is served only after 08:30 am!!
Asked for Alu paratha and got onion instead, that too after 45 min wait, they didnt even have aluminium foil to pack it in and instead used newspapers to pack our parathas!! Can you beat that?
This is a ramshackle of a place and best is to stay away. Spolied my Shimla stay in this hotel.
And yes, the way to the hotel is pathetic, the climbing of the stairs and the overall surrounding is like you are entering some cheap and shady place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Happyvacation1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    4
    3
    19
See reviews for
11
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

Barowalia Resorts is the name of the Hotel Though it is not a Resorts but the way it is maintained from outside and inside it is wonderful .The Hotel has given almost all the facilities of a Resorts within. The Landscaping , the fountain the flowers etc are realy good, The view from the Hotel is marvlous.The rooms, the staff, the food is very good .Especialy the location, It is away from the crowd & near the mall Road (only a walking distance} sightseeng is also arrenged by the travel Desk. Actualy after booking this Hotel I visited onesite of a Reputed Travel Portal They have written it is a basic Hotel , away from the Mall Road etc.I thought of cancelling my booking but then decided to visit but I found it a nice place to stay and I think the tariff is very less according to the facilities provided.

Room Tip: take room No.802 for the Fabulous view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uma12363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silchar, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

nice place-we enjoyed the snowfall in feb-the view from the cozy rooms was so magnificent....food was nice and service was good....we enjoyed lots

Room Tip: superdeluxe are the best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abhi858472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2010

We had an awesome time and great fun staying at Barowalia Resorts. Though, one has to climb a few stairs to reach the hotel but the warmth with which they recieve the guests is worth mentioning.
Me and my husband enjoyed our three nights stay at hotel- infact it was a home away from home!!!!
Food was good especially as they serve pure vegetarian food and Staff was cordial.
The room had open picturesque view of enchanting mountains and valley.
We enjoyed lots and will surely go back next year too.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mini80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2010

15 mins walk from Mall road situated near kali bari temple.economical.and nice hospitality.have a inhouse cafe as well.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sailpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2010

Its not a resort, its a hotel with damp rooms and stinking carpet. Air exhaust is not available and rooms are damn cold with no heating. You can also see pillars in your small bedrooms. In Breakfast and other facilities I had similar experience. Their phone system does not work and you would need to go to kitchen to order morning tea. The manager there has the rights to fight with you as the hotel is owned by a shimla judge and you have no option to cancel the deal incase you want to. Pay, stay and crib coming to shimla. I would never visit Shimla/ Barowalia again. There are a lot more better hotels in Shimla, I had checked those out while I could do nothing after a fight to move out of the Barowalia.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank arachit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shimla hotels

Delhi
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2009

This was my worst experience. Infact there was nothing as promised on the website. At the time of booking the website mentioned that the hotel has parking whereas there was no parking available.

The hotel didn't even have the basic amenities like towels.. I kept on repeatedly asking for towels but hotel couldn't give to me. Hotel didn't even have a remote for the television. My 2 days of stay was a nightmare. The food was terrible.

The rooms were stinking and the most amazing thing is that they dont clean the room after 5 in the evening.

Overall experience was terrible and this is the first time and the last time I stayed there. I expected it to be atleast descent since I booked it from a reliable source like cleartrip.com.

I was disappointed with my experience at this resort..I went there to relax for couple of days but ended up straining myself further..

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank rohitsharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shimla hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
#79 of 111 in Shimla
3.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bridge View Regency
Bridge View Regency
#69 of 111 in Shimla
3.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
7.0 mi away
Nature Nest Eco Resort
Nature Nest Eco Resort
#81 of 111 in Shimla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Fairmount Shimla Forest Greens
0.7 mi away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel CK International
Hotel CK International
#14 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barowalia Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barowalia Resorts

Property: Barowalia Resorts
Address: Tourist Complex North Bank Estate The Mall Road | North Bank Estate, The Mall, Shimla 171012, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Barowalia Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing