We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Experience”
Review of Le' Talbot Hotel

Le' Talbot Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shimla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le' Talbot Hotel
Ranked #91 of 114 Hotels in Shimla
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I have been to Le Talbot Hotel on 10th April with my wife. Though I booked the hotel through getting the details and phone numbers from Google. It was cold evening when we reached hotel, but we realized as it was my mistake that booked the hotel for vacation. There was no warm welcome, rather I can say the hotel staff was not all cooperative, whether it was the manager or the waiters. They were actually rude. Anyhow I managed there for that evening and hunted for hotel around. I managed to get a room at a very next hotel Prashant. Though there were stairs to reach the hotel room, but I really appreciate the cooperation shown by hotel staff and mangers. The location and view from Le Talbiot Hotel was good but services and customer handling is something that hotel management need to learn about.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ravi7Bhardwaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2012

Le Talbot Hotel is a hotel with a difference. It is warm and welcoming and the staff are friendly too. The rooms are clean and spacious and the rates are reasonable too. I really enjoyed the view of Shimla I had from my room as you can really appreciate Shimla for it's divine beauty.

The management go that extra mile for you if you require anything outside of their service.

If you want reasonable prices with a touch of home then I would highly recommend Le Talbot Hotel on the The Mall in Shimla.

Room Tip: Let the staff know about your requirements as they will make special requirements for you as a custo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesh1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I stayed in this hotel last Diwali.

Its right on the mall close to core tourist hub of shimla.

Nice & clean room with good view of valleys, if you have booked a valley facing rooms.

Looking forward to staying there again.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank shahzadyusuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Location is good but worst hotel. no cleaniness , water is a big problem, room are horrible .

Room Tip: adviced not stay in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank indira s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

hi we have been to shimla and stayed in this hotel called le talbot only the hotel location is good otherwise its not good. Rooms are o.k. but they dont have any other facility like restaurant, doctor on call etc.
As we have two small children with us when we reached their they fall ill due to cold weather and even both of us are not well. staff was not at all cooperative when we asked them to call a doctor for us they said its not possible you have to go yourself.
one of the waitor was rude enough to say are you suffering from swine flu. when we tell them to provide warm water to drink they can not even provide that i think they dont have sufficient utensils, jug etc.
we paid extra for heater and all. as it was a peak season time they were taking full advantage of that .
i will never recommend this hotel to anyone at all i think its best if you go out on a package deal to some good hotel whether on the mall road or not hardly mattersas no vechile is allowed on the mall and you have to walk .

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank tinujain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

The hotel's location is good but else everything is average and below average. The rooms are not as they look in photos.They are just okay ,you feel a strange coldness in the rooms.In the family suite ,the second room is quite small it is around 5ft wide though it has its own TV but still its irrelevant.The service is poor ,our room phone was not working we had to go out of the room to give order. It did not feel like a hotel,but felt like a dorm where we have to shout and call for every service. Although the staff is helpful and courteous. But the overall experience was quite bad.We shinfted to Shingar Hotel later on.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daisies_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2007

We just returned from our shimla-manali tour. This hotel was suggested and booked by our friend in delhi. when i heard about this hotel name, i searched in google to find some reviews. But could not find any. so, i was not expecting much.

When we entered the hotel, we were happy to see the friendly staff in the reception. We were greeted by the hotel owner in the reception. They suggested good south indian hotels nearby, all good site seeing places in shimla. They also booked taxi for the tours.

The room was very good and neat. We had booked a family suite. It had 1 room with a double cot, a separate small room with 2 beds. Both room had separate TV. This was more than enough for us as we were going to stay only 1 night there. During nights, when you pull the curtains, the view of the Shimla town with lights was wonderful.

We requested for a heater in the room as we went with kids. They immediately arranged for one. I would definitely go to this hotel every time i visit Shimla.

They arranged for a taxi to drop us in the bus stand to catch the manali bus. After we boarded the bus, the hotel owner called us to confirm if we had boarded the bus. we were delighted by their hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UniverseTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shimla hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
#84 of 114 in Shimla
304 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Surya
Hotel Surya
#44 of 114 in Shimla
231 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 114 in Shimla
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Doegar
Hotel Doegar
#86 of 114 in Shimla
68 reviews
0.6 mi away
Summit Le Royale Hotel
Summit Le Royale Hotel
#24 of 114 in Shimla
78 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Silverine
Hotel Silverine
#8 of 114 in Shimla
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le' Talbot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le' Talbot Hotel

Address: 52, Mall Rd | Opp Clarkes Hotel, Shimla 171001, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 114 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range: $27 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le'Talbot Hotel is a perfect abode centrally located in Queen of Hills - Shimla, complementing the splendor of the environs that surround it. The location is on the main shopping & tourist centre "The Mall" and only a two-minute walk from the Lift (towards Chotta Shimla). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing