We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply Ecstatic”
other travelers have booked this property
The Front of the Villa to admire the sunsets
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Front of the Villa to admire the sunsets
The Living Room/ Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
74 reviews
The Front of the Villa to admire the sunsets
The Living Room/ Dining area
Master Bedroom
View from the window
Another bedroom
Luxurious Full Bathroom
The All wooden staircase
Eastern view from cottage in March
Frontal view from windows
Sunset view from Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Shimla, Shimla District, Himachal Pradesh

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Outlandis...
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Simply Ecstatic”
Reviewed November 10, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Went on a large family holiday including 4 families and kids of various ages. The family also included aged people in the midst. And to sum it up from all - The experience was beautiful. From the kids to the elders, everyone could find their own medium to find peace in the lap of nature. The helpers are amazing and organize meals suiting your palette, if you ask in advance, they even organize a barbeque for you.

The place comes with 4 bedrooms each equipped with their own bath, a large parking space outfront, a porch with ample seating space and loads of greens around. The villa sits on top of a hill and hence offers you a 270 degree uninhibited view of the ranges and the valley.

Overall, this place is insane if you love quiet and peace. Only inhibitor if you have the elders is that there are about a 70 odd steps that you have to climb to get to the porch which might limit your movement once they are in the villa. But having said that, there is no reason for you to step out of this place either as it has all that you will need to spend a quiet weekend getaway!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace, presence of a kitchen and the helpers
Liked least: The staircase to heaven
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2016
Thanks so much for your visit, and look forward to seeing you again someday.
Just a small clarification though........As I had mentioned to you earlier, before you booked, there are just 45 shallow steps to climb, with a strong railing alongside, not 70!!!!
Thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
727pranav...
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Beautiful, well kept, and serene.”
Reviewed October 25, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

I go to the hills often but this place deserves special mention.
Great staff with a cheerful attitude. Beautiful home with all possible amenities.
Definitely recommended. Owners are very informative and enthusiastic about making the trip as enjoyable as possible.
Wherever you're driving from, make sure you plan to reach the property before sunset. This is not a particular issue with this property but rather a tip for whenever youre driving to offbeat places in the hills.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2016
Thanks so much for your visit, and for being such wonderful guests. Look forward to welcoming you there again next time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit G
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden treasure”
Reviewed October 21, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

TL;DR version - You'd be hard-pressed to find a better spot to chill with a few friends in the Himalayas.

Tranquility is in a very quiet corner in a village called Shilon Bagh, which is roughly an hour's drive from both Kufri and Chail (Shilon Bagh sits in the middle), and around two hours from Shimla. We stayed there for almost a week, and it was one of the best trips I have had in recent times.

The place is perched on the side of a hill with a stunning view of the valley. The sunset was to die for. Because of the distance from more heavily populated areas, the night sky was a sight to behold. We could actually see the Milky Way on a clear night sky. Even spotted Uranus with the naked eye :)

We were a group of five friends on a holiday, and spent most of our time hanging out at Tranquility playing exploding kittens (google it!) because the peace and quiet offered by the place came as quite a luxury to us city-dwellers.

The only thing that rivalled the serenity of the place was the comfort of the stay. The overall quality of the rooms matched what you'd expect in a boutique hotel. But there was a sense of home about the place, which was most evident during the meals.

The staff (amongst the most helpful staff I have had the pleasure of encountering) cooked fantastic meals which was another reason we didn't venture out much. We only had to tell them a day in advance if we wanted chicken or mutton.

If you're a group of 5-6 people, looking for a peaceful time together, this place works out to be super cost-effective, and an experience you wont forget in a long time.

One important thing to point out - if you're an internet junkie, or start getting palpations if your phone loses network, you're out of luck. Slow and erratic internet is one of the perils of remote existence.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 21, 2016
Thanks very much for your visit, you were absolutely fantastic guests. Even the staff members were praising you. We would be glad to welcome you back anytime!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikul75
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Cant believe such a place exists”
Reviewed October 20, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Had read good reviews about the place and out of my nack of looking for off beat places, I found this little gem. Situated in the middle of no where with a breathtaking view. Its hard to believe that you can find a place in India where you can hear the dog bark a mile away. The rooms are insanely cozy and make you wish that you could live at this place forever. You can get a good view of the sunset from here and at a 5 min walk, you can even see the sunrise. The weather was just gorgeous. Let me now get to the best part, which is the way Veena cooks and Arjun looks after you. The food will make you feel like tou are at home. Just leave behind your stress, switch off your phone and enjoy the hospitality.
Will definitely revisit !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 21, 2016
Thanks so much for your visit. You guys were awesome guests, and we look forward to your next visit. Glad you had a memorable stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine6...
1 review
“Fabulous place with great facilities”
Reviewed September 4, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a great time at Tranquility. It is a well equipped 3 bedroom house looking over the mountains. The house keeping staff at this place made our stay very pleasant and memorable. I traveled with my two children and my older parents. The house sits on a hillock and if you are traveling with older guests, please take into account that there two flight of stairs to climb which have about 15-20 stairs.
The home made food was a treat and we thoroughly enjoyed. This place is about 25 km from Shimla and I am very happy that I chose this place as Shimla is very crowded and cramped and does not give the relaxed ambiance that one gets while visiting a hill station. I was looking for some quiet and relaxed time with my family and Tranquility turned out be an excellent choice. For those who live abroad and are wanting to visit this place, this would be an excellent choice as it has all the amenities comparable such as standing showers, western toilets etc. The house is well maintained and is very clean. Thanks to Aarti and the house keeping staff for going above and beyond to make our stay pleasant.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2016
Thanks so much for your visit Mary, it was a pleasure to interact with you. We definitely look forward to your subsequent visit, you guys were a pleasure to host
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zoher100
Bengaluru, India
1 review
“A PLACE WORTH STAYING”
Reviewed August 6, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Honestly we have fallen in love with this place, far beyond our expectation, probably the best place around to unwind, true value for money.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2016
Thanks so much for your visit. Look forward to seeing you all again, you were great guests to have
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SukhmalJ1
2 reviews
“Marvelous place”
Reviewed July 14, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed at Tranquility in 2nd week of Jun, 2016. It is a nice and cozy place for relaxing & holidays. Space in the rooms is amazing. Awesome view from large windows of rooms. The staff and Cook both were very cooperative and gentel. Cooking of our vegitarian food was very delicious & tasty. Views of the hills, valleys, green mountains and good weather all around is fabulous. We would like to come here again.
Sukhmal Jain
Panipat (Haryana)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2016
Thank you very much for your visit. Guests like you are always welcome. Please do come again soon. This time for two weeks instead of one!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing