We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Truly Tranquil absolutely mesmerizing”
other travelers have booked this property
The Front of the Villa to admire the sunsets
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Front of the Villa to admire the sunsets
The Living Room/ Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
74 reviews
The Front of the Villa to admire the sunsets
The Living Room/ Dining area
Master Bedroom
View from the window
Another bedroom
Luxurious Full Bathroom
The All wooden staircase
Eastern view from cottage in March
Frontal view from windows
Sunset view from Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Shimla, Shimla District, Himachal Pradesh

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
p1136
Pune, India
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Truly Tranquil absolutely mesmerizing”
Reviewed November 13, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Let me start right from beginning-

Booking- hassle free with trip advisor
Host- Raja Sharma, the best host I have ever seen, he made sure right from delhi till the midnight we reached his place that we are on right track and all our needs will be met. As we checked- in late due to unforeseen circumstances Mr. Sharma extended his hospitality by offering us stay for one day extra without any charges, it was truly a great gesture by him.
Attendants- Naushad what a character he is always smiling, ever running, making sure that each and every need of the guest is taken care of. Aunty ji the best cook I have came across truly wonderful food I think the best in HP.
Stay- Comfortable bedrooms with neat and clean, equipped with everything which one might require, old world style decor, inviting bed, and most of all truly breathtaking view from all three rooms.
we either had bon fire or bar-b-que every night we stayed there.
it was so much fun for children as well as they had lot of board games to play, and were getting food as per their liking.
We are so happy that we chose this place, 100% going to return.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 11, 2015
Thank you for your visit, it was wonderful to have you at the cottage,we look forward to your return
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sujith86
Kottayam, India
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“shimla manali”
Reviewed September 30, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were 2 couples and planned to stay only one night in shimla towards our journey to manali,but this place was awesome,its about 25km from shimla.its one of the best places i ever stayed in my whole life, awesome climate cool privacy , scenin beauty and much more.raja was very helpful in all matters getting there and booking was so easy, i booked through trip advisor.Dhanshad and noushad and the ladyji who made tasty paranthas in the morning were excellent in their service. after having heavy breakfast and heavy dinner with homely taste and feeling we were surprised with the homely cheap bill for the food.oh i never eat tat much for less price from anywhere,must visit again and if u plan then plan for atleast 4 days. thanks raja , dhanshad, noushad and madamji and also trip advisor. the only thing to be noted thats nothing to do with the cottage but the local taxi union, i had hired taxi from delhi and the local union people stopped us and they asked for money as per their union rules. we were so pissed off with that experience and watch out for that.since we were hurry and we didnt had time the driver paid 700 rs to the local taxi union and they let us go.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2014
Hi Sujith, Thank you so much for your kind words about our cottage and its staff. We are sorry about the incident with the local taxi union. On reading your review we took up the matter with the Secretary of the Union, who apologized, as he was away and some boys played mischief in his absence. He asked me to convey his apologies for any inconvenience to the guests and gas made arrangements to refund the full amount directly to the guests - Sujith.
We hope such an occurrence will not happen again!
Warm regards, Raja
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RohitSh45...
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
2 reviews
“One of the best places to relax”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I have been to hills many many times over the years and can vouch for the fact that this is one of the best places I have stayed in. Infact it has now happened to me 2 years in a row that I have stayed in fantastic properties and have cut short my trips because after staying in properties like Tranquility in Himalaya you really dont feel like spending time anywhere else. The property is small, well located, easily accessible, good staff (2 care takers to tend to every need) and has a fantastic view. Lastly it is very very economical. The rooms were good although the upkeep could have been slightly better but overall no complaints. I wish I could have stayed longer but time did not permit. The owner Mr. Raja is a damn nice person and will add even more joy to your stay if you happen to meet him. Can simply say one thing, I am going to visit back many times over the course of next few years. One suggestion for all, the route via kufri is better than Chail especially if you are travelling with young kids. It will take approximately the same time but the roads are much better via Shimla & Kufri.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Value for money deal
Liked least: The upkeep of furniture and cutlery. Could be better.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2014
Thank you and we look forward to your next visit. Raja
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoaTripCh...
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tranquility, indeed!”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed in this beautiful house perched on the edge of a mountain in June 2013. What a lovely experience! Away from the madding crowds of Shimla, it was a true vacation. We have already recommended this to our friends in Delhi. Raja and Aarti deserve all the business they can get but we hope it doesn't get overbooked because we plan to come back.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2014
Thank you so much and we look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rakesh2
Mohali, India
1 review
“Home away from home”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Raja Sharma is a extremely good host so is the team deployed to look after your comfort. Veena, the magic cook and Naushad, the wonder boy will produce anything you wish and delight to eat. They arranged a wonderful barbeques for us during the evenings and not to mention endless cups of tea and coffees. The surroundings are beautiful and calm, so are people in neighborhood. After being so well feed, you are forced to walk and during our morning and evening walks, people love to talk and kind to offer help. One such taxi operator arranged a taxi, for our return journey uphill after a five KM downhill walk. There was so much to engage people of all age groups, games for kids, good collection of books for literary hungry, and clean and calm environment for mid age to walk around. Would certainly come back once again. Overall experience is like a home away from home.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2014
Thank you ever so much and we look forward to your next visit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aditya K
Jersey City, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best places to stay in Himachal”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at this place twice: In 2012 and June 2014.

Many places claim to be "Tranquil", but this place really is.

It has unspeakably beautiful views of the valley. The staff and the chef are really friendly and great folks to chat up with. Moreover it is situated around quaint villages giving one a old-world feel.

I'd definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2014
Thank you very much Aditya, we look forward to your next visit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kmaheshwa...
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Calm, peaceful and splendid stay !”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Been tired of your daily home-office-home routine ? Getting up early and sleeping in late till your client calls are over. Wanting to take a break but don't know where to head off to for a relaxful and peaceful stay. Well, this place could be the answer you have been looking for.

"Tranquility in the Himalyas" as the name says is one of those destinations where I found the answer to probably a lot of things. Its a peaceful property owner by Raja and Arati. The house, nested between the pine trees and forest offers great sceneric views and a great stay. With a maid ready to cook whatever you like to have for meals and caretaker(Naushad) available at your disposal there is everything which makes you feel at home. A home away from home.

3 huge rooms, a drawing dining, a lovely balcony and a patio where you can sit back, soak in the peace or gossip.

We were a group of 7 people (3 couples and a kid). the kid really enjyed himself with the games - carrom and ludo available. One of us is an avid book reader and the book options available were something that made her happy. The maid made tasty chicken curry and mutton and chicken seekh kebabs. We picked up some fruits on the way, and were treated with freshly cut ! During the evening and night, Naushad set up a good bonfire for us with some masala peanuts and kebabs.

The ladies had a good spa session at the neighbouring resort and the guys had good time gulping the drinks. The journey from delhi takes about 350-380 kms but the moment you get there, its all worth what you have been on the road for !

If I am to some it up, the place has all the basic necessities added with a lot of comfort.

Raja, Arati and the entire staff are extremely helpful. They will make sure you have the directions in place and if there is anything in particular you need to carry with you for the trip/ stay. Ask them or give them directions how you would like your stay or food as, and they will probably try their best to accomodate everything.

We so much wanted to extend our stay, however the place wasn't available due to bookings. We are sure to visit this place atlest once a year and for an extended stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homeliness of the place
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2014
Thank you so much, we look forward to your next visit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing