We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Location, location, location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Combermere

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Combermere
Ranked #18 of 112 Hotels in Shimla
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

A charming hotel right by the side of the tourism lift. The top floor opens on the Mall Road itself, so arduous climbs over dirty stairs or sharing a public lift can be easily avoided.
The rooms are well appointed with small balconies attached to each. The staff are well-trained, responsive and cooperative.
The in-house dining options are varied and all dishes are well-prepared.
The hotel also has a health club and spa.

Overall, Combermere is a well-run establishment with vestiges of a colonial past..

Room Tip: Request rooms towards the top floors, they have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pathin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    205
    52
    14
    19
See reviews for
185
105
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Excellent place to stay in Shimla... superb location situated at the mall road and the hotel has personnel lift to drop at the mall road. Very nice and supporting staff. Rooms where very neat and clean. Food was awesome. The best hotel to stay in Shimla.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pratiek786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Hmm good things first

1. Private lift access to mall road,saves hassles of paying and standin in long queue at tourism lift
2. Room service is efficient and rooms are clean
3. Food quality is good

Things i didnt like
1. No private parking, one has to park in municipal parking with exorbiant rate and no multiple entry
2. No room service from the cake shop on terrace, dey just dont entertain at all.Should be dere for hotel guests atleast
3.rooms and food prices are overpriced as that of a 5-star property.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GauravKhurana679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

The Hotel is in a very good location. The advantage is the hotel's private lift to Mall road. The rooms are good & comfortable but could be more better according to the price. As per the room tariff; its bit costly.The Fooding is good. The Hotel has its own spa; children's play room. Wi-fi available. Had a comfortable stay for two days. Enjoyed the balcony views. Beware of monkey as they are all around and if the balcony doors are open could be in trouble. The cafe on top of the hotel is awasome; good quality. Parking may be a bit problem. Staffs are helpful and co-operative. We enjoyed the stay and had fun. Its worth staying in this hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank johurendu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

I stay here for 2 nights after bad incident with other hotel. The room,etc it was okey n standard just the price is too high for the standard room they give. Just onething tht is good is the location..

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SherNhix84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

It was an amazing experience to stay in this Hotel. We were a group of 10 people, 5 guys and 5 girls and we booked a 2 bedroom suite. It was super good in terms of services, also the food was excellent. The view from balcony was beautiful. Each room and hall had a separate balcony.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Must visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1990_pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Just on the mall. saves you time more than money, as they have their own lifts. Excellent pastry shop on top. However no room service from pastry shop and hotel room service initially refused for some plates and spoon to celebrate my wife birthday. Later kindly relented. House keeping will pick the phone 50-70% time. Laundry service is good and fast & Cost is also reasonable. Breakfast is good. if not very good. However space is very small and lots of huge guests from nearby states makes it a loud and market like affair.

Very poor parking area which is very costly (Add parking costs to taxes along with room rent). No place for driver. Afternoon male staff at reception seems to be harassed by customers running away without paying the bill. Hotel has two exits which u can realize later that some miscreants can take advantage of but no point shouting at family persons from behind and asking females & Todlers not to go out without paying the bill. Service is lazy at times, not bad. Gave me 30 min more for packing and check out.
Wi-Fi is fast and good. But as you move out of room it disconnects. Cannot connect more than one device at a time.
I have stayed before in this hotel twice, this 3rd time the experience was poorer. May be the expectation was more. The suite had no view. one had to look at the drain. again if you book through agents they tend to give u bad rooms. (This is general feeling I have for all hotels).
All bell boys (Incoming and outgoing) wait for tips looking at your face, will stand for few seconds like that. (Reminds me of the Home alone II film). Room service and house keeping dont wait for tips.
Location of hotel is excellent.

Room Tip: Never book a Suite. Ask for higher floors which are cleaner and have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTraveller752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shimla hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#12 of 112 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#4 of 112 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#10 of 112 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#5 of 112 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
1.9 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
0.4 mi away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 112 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Combermere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Combermere

Property: Hotel Combermere
Address: Opposite Tourism Lift, Shimla 171001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Combermere 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Combermere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Combermere Hotel Shimla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing