We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a stay again!”
Review of Hotel Combermere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Combermere
Ranked #25 of 115 Hotels in Shimla
Reviewed November 9, 2012

An impulsive decision to stay near the Mall was my sole reason to opt for The Combermere. Frankly I was so impressed by Café Sol on a previous visit that I decided to schedule my next stay at the same hotel! I was charmed no doubt.

I believe four major reasons behind choosing a hotel are a fantastic location, pleasing rooms, excellent service and appetizing food. I am willing to give a massive 4.8 out of 5 to the whole lot at this hotel!

Hotel Combermere is located right on the Mall, Shimla, just about 150 meters below the Christ Church. It is an impressive portico, cleverly positioned with the finest Café in town. Constructed in such a way that the top most floors touches the main road of the city, you will have to go 8 floors down to reach the Reception if you enter from the Mall Road, but an escalator takes care of illusory aches of racing down!

The main entrance of the hotel is from Cart Road, located near the revered state-managed lift of Shimla that takes visitors from the nearest vehicular road to the all-vehicles-prohibited Mall.
The rooms at the hotel are well maintained and attractively decorated, though the view outside is the same filth and grime Shimla is lately being altered into. I suggest taking a room at the higher floors to keep this panorama obscured.

My experience with guest services in hotels in Shimla had been pretty pedestrian. I had started to believe all-most of them- hotels only hired locals to wait on guests, thus compromising on price they pay and service they deliver. Gratefully, this was undone with a whopping thump! Either they have hired qualified professionals or they have trained them well. Beyond the motives, the service is comparable with any 4 star properties anywhere in India.

Coming to food. The hotel has a brilliant restaurant and an exceptional café, and the whole enchilada is available for room service too. Like majority of travelers do, I tried breakfast and dinner on both days of my stay. A pleasant experience, breakfast at the restaurant was complimentary with my stay, and the dinner was surprisingly low on prices, but wonderful on taste! Yet again, I would love to reprise - Both, restaurant service and room service was extraordinarily proficient.

Every hotel has a personality. Combermere is a striking young bloke, eager to charm so you stay with him and remember him in good times! So you return.

Room Tip: If not short on your travel budget, go for the Suite at the top floor. It takes you the Mall in a fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManishPahuja03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 455 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

We always stay at the Combermere, and even though they have built a newer model we still like the Combermere. the location is the best and so is the view from the rooms. Room service is excellent and ambience is great.
Staff are always willing to help and are very friendly.

Room Tip: We always stay in 503
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giger3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was my second visit to the hotel. The location is the best in shimla as once you step out of the hotel you are on the mall. The rooms are a bit small but quite well maintained. The food was good as I remembered. The staff is nice and try their best to accomodate all your requirements.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanjana41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I visited Hotel Combermere in the end of last year with my family and had very amazing experience. I enjoyed a lot with my family. It's a nice and lovely place. The food was very good and also the rooms are large and lovely. I really had a very good time with my family there and also planning to visit again there.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoolPraveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Reasonably nice hotel with own entrance onto the mall near the church. Bit of a confusing layout, with the need to change lifts and different numbering of floors disorienting on arrival. Room was spacious, clean, well equipped and comfortable. Staff generally friendly and unobtrusive, with a decent restaurant at the top offering a good stab at a range of non-Indian food and decadent cakes.

Probably over-priced for what it is, but not a bad option for Shimla.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adventurerette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

visited very long ago & cant really forget the stay ! Good rooms , very good service & not to forget the food was delicious too ! Would love to come back ! Only problem PARKING which has nothing to do with the hotel as its a common problem in shimla.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank behlmohit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Hello Friends Its one of the nice hotel to stay with all rooms having a very nice view. Staff is also well behaved . Good food quality. My first choice is Shimla (combermere) b’coz shimla is the best place to go out for holidays. The hotel staff was very cooprative & courtious & such a nice property There were many food options inside the hotel itself like continental, indian and there was a bakery shop also with very good pastry options. Hotel Combermere located in real centre of Shimla, I liked rooftop restaurant so much.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank munish520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shimla hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#17 of 115 in Shimla
500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#2 of 115 in Shimla
525 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#14 of 115 in Shimla
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#13 of 115 in Shimla
1,081 reviews
0.3 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#4 of 115 in Shimla
811 reviews
1.8 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Combermere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Combermere

Address: Opposite Tourism Lift, Shimla 171001, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Shimla
Price Range: $100 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Combermere 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Combermere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Combermere Hotel Shimla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing