We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old but good property”
Review of Hotel Willow Banks

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Willow Banks
Ranked #17 of 117 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2014

we read about it on trip-advisor. It is a good hotel but without A/c. As we have visited in first week of june,2014 it was hot in Shimla and yes a/c is needed. We have booked premium room which was good. Although it is little on expensive side still we will prefer this hotel. specially the location and the complimentary break-fast was good.

Room Tip: always book premium rooms only preferably 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajesh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 504 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2014

We visited Shimla during June 1st week. Check in at Hotel Willow banks was smooth. The hotel is located at the Mall Road and very near to the Tourism Lift. But soon one realizes that location is the only thing which is perfect for this hotel. Not that it is bad in its services but I expected more from a hotel rated 4 stars. We stayed in a Premium Room. The rooms are very good, spacious and very airy. You don't miss an AC. The balcony opens to the city view and you can see the Ridge as well. Bathrooms are big and clean. We opted for the CPA plan. Buffet breakfast was good but they could have added more options. I found variety lacking. Although staying on the mall road, you can explore so many other eating joints as well. All other services like Gym, Sauna, Jacuzzi and stuff are payable and not complimentary for the resident guests. I didn't quite like it. At least Gym should be made free for resident guests. They do have a bar but it was so sad and dull looking I never wanted to visit it once even. Their restaurant Cafe Willow is good, very English setting. But I cannot say the same about food quality. I felt it was highly compromised. Chef needs some serious shaping up or shipping out. They don't have children's activity room/ kids club kind of a thing as well. And my son missed it. All in all it is an extremely good hotel and given its location if they do something about their pricing and food, it can become one of the best hotels of Shimla. Though staying in Shimla is expensive, I don't think it is value for money . You can get better options in the price that you pay here. But I will give them ten on ten for hospitality and amiability.

Room Tip: Go for Premium Rooms on higher floor, they are sunny and spacious. make sure they dont give you room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EktaLallDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We visited Shimla in early June, the last month of the season and we soon realized why it was so. The weather was hot in the day but pleasant in evenings. We arrived at Willow Banks late afternoon, check-in was smooth and as per the expectation our Premium room was nice too BUT our excitement soon came to an end when we found there was "NO A.C" in the room.This was a huge disappointment considering the hot weather and something which is expected from a 4 star accommodation. There was only a fan attched to the wall,far from the bed to make the matters worse. Anyhow, the day got better as it approached to the evening. We got a good MAP package deal online with so we took it and we didnt regret it.The food was good and we were given a choice to order anything from the menu when dinner buffet was not available,though buffet was lacking the variety. The complementary WiFi never worked inside the room which should be fixed.Overall the stay was good but the services offered could be better.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Aditya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Friends this hotel deserves all praise in terms of food, Location n hospitality... Though its on a expensive side but with its all traits it won't pinch you..I stayed there in year 2013...Simply enjoyed to Max...Service is prompt and Buffet Spread is lavish and a truly delight... Must Must Stay in this Hotel to have the memorable stay with Max enjoyment.....(Y)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank NitinCha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We booked hotel willow banks after going through reviews on Trip Advisor. And after entering the property, we knew we made a right decision. The property is well maintained with beautiful gardens, tastefully decorated rooms and the entire building painted in bright yellow. We were in for a pleasant surprise. i read the review from himtravel shimla they give us all the advise .

Room Tip: "Rooms on the south side are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovely024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

I don't know the reason for such good ratings on trip advisor. The good - location and size of rooms. Centrally located and that sure helps.
Beyond that it's a big letdown. Horrible food in the room service . Really bad breakfast. The horrible attitude of the hotel staff takes the cake. They actually refuse to serve you coffee on the breakfast table. The booking process was also not pleasant. Had to talk to the GM of the hotel makes you feel like he is doing a favor by taking the booking. They refused to give a bill of the final settlement as well. Don't know what fishy business they are up to there. More so were greeted by dirty bed sheet and blanket every day.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rohanshar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

The hotel is right on the mall road. It is great if you are traveling with family and want to avoid long walks to reach the mall. The only disappointment was the food of the hotel. They charge exorbitantly (1400 per room) for meals and the food is below average. The breakfast spread was too small. There is no live counter for eggs etc which is usually there in most good hotels. The staff is courteous, they do everything that's told but there are things which need to be fixed. For eg. More than once the electricity went off for the entire hotel and we had to wait for elevators for almost half an hour. Overall, I would say the place is great for its location but don't expect too much for the price you'd be paying.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shimla hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#2 of 117 in Shimla
551 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#14 of 117 in Shimla
1,098 reviews
0.2 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 117 in Shimla
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Combermere
Hotel Combermere
#28 of 117 in Shimla
457 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#13 of 117 in Shimla
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Willow Banks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Willow Banks

Address: Opp Tourism Lift, Shimla 171001, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Shimla
#7 Spa Hotel in Shimla
#8 Family Hotel in Shimla
Price Range: $83 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Willow Banks 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Willow Banks was established in the year 1871, a landmark estate which spells history and exemplifies an era of gracious living. Originally owned by Arthur James Craddok, "Architect and Builder of Shimla," in a fitting tribute to his memory the building has been redesigned into a hotel, endowed with all modern amenities and comforts, effortlessly blending into the surrounding pine trees, landscapes and enhancing its beauty. The hotel is located on The Heritage Mall Road, a pleasant walking distance from the famous Ridge, Scandal point, Lakkar Bazaar, Gaiety Theater, Ancient Kali Bari & Jakhoo Temple, High Court, Secretariat, C.M. Residence and Raj Bhavan. Amidst the age old Deodar and Pine trees, Willow Banks Estate on the Mall Road overlooks the lush green valley, the majestic mountains and the complete well lit town of Shimla. The hotel is easily accessible from the High Court Parking and the Tourism Lift, making staying a convenient proposition for one and all. The charming walking trails of Shimla are a pleasant stone's throw away from the hotel. Whatever the purpose of your visit, relaxation away from the busy city life, exploring natural beauties that the town has to offer or pumping adventure trips, Hotel Willow Banks at Shimla guarantees to make your vacation worth remembering. The blend of extremes, modern facilities in a heritage estate and picturesque views at the Mall Road level, make Willow Banks arguably the best hotel in Shimla. Also rated by TripAdvisor as amongst the top 10 Jewel Hotels of India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Willow Banks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willow Banks Hotel
Willow Banks Shimla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing