We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel Ever Visited”
Review of Himdev Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Himdev Hotel
Ranked #94 of 113 Hotels in Shimla
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Bad Room Quality, Worst Room Services, Worst Food, Very Poor Menu for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner, Wasted Time and Money. Only big infrastructure, nothing else. Will never suggest anyone to stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Room Should Give Good Feel
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank vineetjain_rke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
There are newer reviews for Himdev Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 162 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2012

This hotel was depressing and dingy. We were supposed to stay 3 nights but spent our first evening in Shimla looking for another hotel. The hotel was cold (but to be fair they all were! In fact if you got to HP in winter, take a hot water bottle!) and the bathroom was horrible; the bath was cracked and chipped, the toilet seat although not actually dirty was covered with black stains. The 'head waiter' was very nice and went out of his way to give us what we wanted but the food was nothing to write home about and the atmosphere - it was like staying in a haunted house. It was dead.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JilEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

The hotel looks good from outside but rooms are shabby. We went in winter it was booked through make my trip worst experience, whole day it was chilling still they dont provide room heater and hot water they maintain their own stupid timings. When we went some schools/college had come excursion worst thing was we had buffet breakfast/dinner arranged with them so nothing was left to have. Nobody even cared to look if everybody had food or not. Worst service.
I would prefer honeymoon Inn. The best hotel in Manali, Shimla and massouri.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snsowmya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

hotel was in good condition but room are not up to the mark, quality of food is very bad. location is also quite far away from the mall road if you dont have your own vehicle,dont book this hotel. hotel staff is helpful. view from hotel is great.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welcome1111111111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

We have stayed in suit room. The room are very big air conditioned, they provide heater on winter session but it was very small. The hotel located at shimla enterance. They have complementry breakfast and dinner tariff. Food taste ok but no more veraities. The hotel have no accomodation for drivers they need to sleep on car so drivers feel uncomfortable on next day driving. The room rates are ok compare with other hotels.

Room Tip: The room tariffs are depending with View point.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dtselvam97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

This hotel looks quite grand from the outside. However the rooms are terrible. Dirty and smelly. Bathroom had mould on the ceiling, and ceiling was falling down. The room was unheated, heat provided by a one bar electric fire from the 1970s, that sparked in a most dangerous manner. The breakfast was the worst food i have eaten in India. Avoid!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FraserCool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

The Quality Inn Himadev is not a four star hotel by anyone’s standards, it is best classed as a budget hotel. It is not in Shimla but a 10 minute taxi ride from the railway station. On the plus side,though, we were made very welcome by the extremely courteous staff, in fact, nothing was too much trouble even to the point of finding us an electric fire ( ancient but effective) as it was rather chilly in the rooms in the evenings and early mornings. Our room was huge with a sofa and armchairs as well as everything else you would expect.Unfortunately there is only hot water early mornings and late evenings
The restaurant is particularly good with a good choice of excellent local dishes and a more limited choice of non-indian food. The breakfast was good, the restaurant manager was very helpful and arranged for us to have anything we wanted such as omelettes,scrambled egg and hot buttered toast
In general the hotel was care-worn and rather shabby but had a great atmosphere and the staff went out of their way to look after us, even allowing me to use their own business computer to access the internet as the wifi was not working. I would happily recommend this place to any travellers who do not want to stay in one of the higher priced places in the town. .

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marmaliser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shimla hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
#84 of 113 in Shimla
303 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Woodpark
Hotel Woodpark
#58 of 113 in Shimla
59 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fairmount Shimla Forest Greens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Silverine
Hotel Silverine
#7 of 113 in Shimla
618 reviews
1.8 mi away
Asia The Dawn
Asia The Dawn
#37 of 113 in Shimla
55 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel CK International
Hotel CK International
#16 of 113 in Shimla
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Himdev Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Himdev Hotel

Address: Kachi Ghati, Shimla 171010, India (Formerly Quality Inn Himdev)
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 113 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range: $28 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Himdev Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Himdev Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Himdev Hotel Shimla
Quality Inn Shimla
Shimla Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing