We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst hotel to choose and stay..”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Himdev Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Himdev Hotel
Ranked #87 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The worst hotel to choose and stay..”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

Please don't ever choose or recommend to any one.any bad word is less for the pathetic hotel. The manager is rude , GM is idiot I would say they don't know how to treat customer and behave. Worst staff. No control on them they do what ever they wanted to do.... Please. Contact me if you wanted to more on below number --------

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j_chetan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    31
    41
    19
    50
See reviews for
56
40
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
194 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in Shimla. It is outside the caity - in fact quite far away (must be about 5 kms). The hotel is old, the rooms smell, the bathrooms even more so. The food is very, very average. You do not have a choice of food in the restaurant - you have to eat what they serve you as a buffet. I was cursing my admin guys for booking me here. There is nothing around the hotel, if you venture out to take a walk. I have stayed at other Quality Inn properties, but this seems to be the worst. Avoid this at all costs.

Room Tip: No idea - possibly you need to ask for a good room, it is also pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debabrata19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shimla hotels

Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

This is a hotel which should be avoided at any cost. We arrived tired after a 4 hour traffic jam only to be greeted by dirty linen in our rooms. We had it changed thrice before we got something to respectable.There was no hot water in the wash basin, TV remote doesnt work, leaking bathroom, no fridge, tea/coffee maker in the room. In our friend's room, the curtain could not be drawn as there were no hooks. Food was most ordinary. And to make matters worse there was a huge noise of stuff being unloaded early in the morning, making it impossible to sleep. It is high time Quality Inn Chain of Hotels does a quality check and strikes this hotel off their list. It was because of the "Quality Inn" tag that we chose this Hotel. Never again will we get fooled!

Room Tip: Choose the highest category of room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sumita0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

The hotel is located 15 mins from the main city. Hotel rooms are decent in size. Unfortunately they are not too well maintained but for the price you pay it is diffcult to expect more.

Restaurant is limited in choice of food. There is ample parking. Staff was friendly and helpful. Access to the hotel is a bit tricky and one needs to be careful and experienced when driving up the lane.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeenzM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

We stayed in this hotel from 3-Jun-2011 to 4-Jun-2011 and found the hotel to be ok to live in with quite good spacious rooms. However the location of the hotel is right in the midst of a very busy highway and given that vehicles cannot climb the steep incline of the hotel, we (me, my wife & 5yr old daughter) found it a bit too difficult to climb to the entrance everytime. Besides this the toilet was not very clean and this is a big big put-off for all 3 of us when we choose a hotel.
All in all, i guess this might suffice an average budget traveller but if you are particularly interested in a hygiene hotel then you might want to check this out yourself before getting into it.

Room Tip: Carry your own cloth hangers no matter which room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank talk_to_msp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2011

Very bad experience will never advice anyone to go for it the rooms stink the restaurant roof was dripping as if they had natural made clouds inside the hotel and raining
even some of the rooms roof were dripping
they do not provide any transport to mall road
the services are very poor the food is like a dhaba food i dont know why they call there cook as a chef(he dosent deserve to be called one)
so if you are planning for quality inn i would recommend you to please carry a sleeping bag and a rain coat and dont forget to take ample of tinned food
goodluck

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karan1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2010

Very good hotel for middle class families. 3star rated hotel with well infra structured. But the dining hall is looking like very old one. We stayed in Deluxe room. It was ok for our budget.
All I want to inform is it is the best hotel for middle class families.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2ravikanth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shimla hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
#83 of 111 in Shimla
3.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel CK International
Hotel CK International
#15 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fairmount Shimla Forest Greens
0.5 mi away
Hotel Silverine
Hotel Silverine
#8 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Surya
Hotel Surya
#38 of 111 in Shimla
3.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Himdev Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Himdev Hotel

Property: Himdev Hotel
Address: Kachi Ghati, Shimla 171010, India (Formerly Quality Inn Himdev)
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Himdev Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Himdev Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Himdev Hotel Shimla
Quality Inn Shimla
Shimla Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing