We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mood spoiler”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moon International Hotel
Ranked #107 of 115 Hotels in Shimla
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Its printed on the pamphlet tht set menu brkfast is included in the tarrif. Very first morning they refused it by saying that these were old pamphlet. The receptionist was rude and basic things like tv remote towel etc were not provided...its my advise dn stay in this hotel even for free

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vishwajeet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 19 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

I was on trip of 11 days 10 nights to Himachal with Amritsar and my first stay was in Shimla. I reached at hotel at around 8 pm through heavy rains. There was no one at reception. I called with shivering voice but no on came for 5 mins. Then one guy arrived he completed all formalities. When we entered rooms, we were shocked, rooms were not clean, bathroom were not clean. No bathroom accessories were present. There was not enough light in the rooms. No sockets for mobile charging. Door lock was broken. No one comes to clean table after dinner. And they say it was 3 star hotel in Shimla.
Except food nothing was good about hotel
I can not give single star to this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nitin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Hotel moon internatonal is located on a great place . Malls road is just 10 minutes walking distence from hotel . Food of the hotel is nice. you can park your car easily in the hotel . Hotel reminds the old days of Royality of Shimla .

I would like to thank Mr Jamawal for wonderful hospitality

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
3  Thank AmitDhanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Had revisited and was again very comfortable, clean, and a nice stay. The staff was curteous, saw some renovations had been done since my last visit. Felt great coming back as the staff remembered by likes and served the way I wanted without me asking for.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robin-sharma30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The hotel is located just at the stone throw away distance from the secretariate. Rooms are of average size. Mall road, the famous church, CM house is at a walking distance from the hotel.

Room service is expensive and terrible not worth trying. Overall ambience of the hotel especially lobby is very good but not the same for Rooms. They are not well maintained, bed sheets are scratchy.

Negative - Poor and arrogant management, room service and cleanliness of rooms

Positive - Location and view from the rooms, view is awesome.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank deepaksaxena88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

It was 3 day consecutive holiday on the eve of independence day 15th aug 2011, and so at the spur of the moment we decided to go to shimla..I first asked make my trip to check avalaibility of hotels as we were expecting delhites to rush to shimla...she said rooms are avaialble in hotel moon international ..which was not my choice..the price quoted was 3000rs per room and we booked 2 rooms for 2 days..i checked the travel sites to read about the hotel reviews and was clearly disaapointed..they all said bad words about the hotel ! i talked again to make my trip reprsentative who assured me that all is well..
so 13th august early morning 6am we were off the shimla by our modest maruti Zen car from Delhi...the roads till panipat are very good and we were cruising at 90kms/h..our first stop was at panipat ..a road side , good looking but costly hotel...
from panipat to karnal the roads are still being built and is not a good track ...we were getting late ..we reached the outskirts of chandigarh arta around 1 pm and took the second stop at MacDonalds...from chandigarh we got many traffic problems in between and especially near Kalka and a few more towns uphill..as the roads passes through the city areas and creates congestions..
Finally we were in Shinla at 5PM...
Locating hotel Moon international was not problem..as the traffcic police give us clear directions...in nxt 15 mins we were at the gates of the hotel...To reach the hotel one needs to go down the road and car parking is on the slopes...Our booking was confirmed and we had no hassles ...the hotel looked good from outside and has some goos interiors (thanks to Chinese goods) . we our alloted 2 rooms overlooking the valley and on the second floor. the passage to the rooms has mats which were smelling bad due to wet conditions..The room interiors are Ok but poor maintenance of the hotel is taking its tall...bathrooms are good but they hav water problems...u wont get hot water until u are bend upon the get it..same for other things...the package came with breakfast facilities but the breakfast was served at 10 am..while we were waiting from 8am...the reason was that the staff didnt had the money to get grocery from the market and cook ..the kitchen was dirty as i went into it to see the reason for the delay..the receptionist was the best thing to happen for the hotel..a young lady who kept her cool and tried her best to take all the complaints of the guests very politely and instructing the kitchen guys to hurry up...other staff was indifferent but polite..on inquiry i was told that they have not been getting their salaries or in time...
to sum up the hotel is good and if u are on a budget there is good scope for negotiation esp if u r willing for some compromises... the location of the hotel is good and is on one side of the city just adjacent to he secretariat and opposite to the CM house..its also close to the Mall road if u are walking from the other end of the city...Dont go for breakfast and lunch in the hotel else u will be wasting time...I just wanted to talk to the management of the hotel and want to request them to invest some money in the hotel...Its the reputation that counts and if the travellers keep writing bad about the hotel soon they will have to sell it off..to avoid that they need a good manager and management..else the hotel is perfect..as i got a good sleep ...(u dont hav to wake long as the TV set may just not be working)

Room Tip: all are almost same ..with some good and some bad points...just watch the rooms b4 occupying and mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asheesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

we stayed in this hotel for 4 days, this booking was our biggest mistake, dont even think of staying here.

Hotel is short of staff, they dont clean your room, until you remind them, bedcovers are changed after 2 days, pathetic room service .

Bedsheet were torn.... dont even think of staying in this hotel, its overpriced & wastage of money.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shuchi d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shimla hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Southgate Shimla
Hotel Southgate Shimla
#52 of 115 in Shimla
36 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Woodpark
Hotel Woodpark
#56 of 115 in Shimla
59 reviews
7.1 mi away
Snow King Retreat
Snow King Retreat
#96 of 115 in Shimla
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Sunshine Courtyard Resort
Sunshine Courtyard Resort
#15 of 115 in Shimla
54 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Cedar Grand Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Fairmount Shimla Forest Greens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon International Hotel

Address: Near H P Secretariat, Shimla 171002, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 115 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range: $46 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moon International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Moon International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing