We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good location and better priced compared to others”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Surya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Surya
Ranked #38 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good location and better priced compared to others”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Very good location and better priced compared to others. 3 star rating describes it aptly. you can walk down to mall road. carry your own toiletries and towel. insist on a valley view room as other rooms are not so well maintained.

Room Tip: choose the valley view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShamikJoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Surya, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Mr.Joshi,

Thanks for your valuable feedback. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed our good location and our close connectivity to the Mall road. Regarding the toiletries and the towels we are working on the same and shall definitely improve the same.

We welcome you again in the near future,

Thanks n regards
Team Hotel Surya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    69
    54
    24
    42
See reviews for
98
72
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Noida, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Its a good experience both by the ambience of the hotel & timimg of our visit.
Food, especially kadai paneer is really amazing.
roof top 180deg restaurant is itself is a view point,
Hotel is walkable from volvo stand.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank khajashaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Surya, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Sir
Greetings from Hotel Surya Shimla........

Thanks for visiting us and writing us. Your feedback will help other traveler to find a suitable and best Hotel in Shimla. Also thanks for your feedback to Surya Uday Holidays.

Visit Us again.

Thanks
Team
Hotel Surya Shimla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

I went back to Hotel surya again after a few years and it was a treat as usual .
Rooms are available for various budgets , but the best are the newly renovated deluxe rooms.
To state the positives :
- Great location , close to victory tunnel and walking to the mall
- Wifi in all rooms
- 24 hrs hot running water
- Tea / Coffee makers in all rooms
- Excellent restaurant and bar with awesome views
- Car parking
- Great staff
- Comfortable and spacious rooms

Really enjoyed our stay and hope to be back again and again !

Room Tip: Choose the deluxe rooms ! They are the best in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SiddharthBhandari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Surya, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Mr. Siddharth
Greetings from Hotel Surya Shimla.........

Thanks for your visit. We are really thankful to you for writing valuable feedback for us. This will help traveller more to know about our Hotel and our services.

We insure you better services always. We welcome you in advance for your next visit.

Thanks n Regards
Team
Hotel Surya Shimla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Its a value for money hotel. Rooms were good but the bathroom was not good. Bathroom was small and as there is no ventilation in the bathroom so it does not give a fresh feeling. Food is good and the service is also very good.
Its situated very near to Bus stand so the location is also very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AkshayaDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Surya, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Akshya
Greetings form Hotel Surya Shimla.....

Thanks for visiting us. We also very much thankful for your review. Now renovation has been completed. Next time when ever you and your family will visit us you will find all things in proper manner. As you appreciated our food quality, room and services we thankful to you for this.

Visit us again.

Thanks
Team
Hotel Surya Shimla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

HIGHLY UNRELIABLE.
If you are looking for a stress free stay in shimla (and have a family with you), DO NOT BOOK this hotel. They are extremely unreliable. Or probably their collaboration with Expedia is fatal.

I booked this hotel through Expedia for New Year (12/30, 12/31), received confirmation SMS and email as well. When I reached hotel on 30th night, they denied my reservation and instead gave me an option for almost double the price and that too for 12/30 only. Only at that point I realized I should have called hotel as well to confirm my booking. (Though I've never done this when ever I've booked through Expedia in at least 4 different countries and it has always worked very well)

I had to speak to expedia for at the least 2 hours only to listen to their apologies. They could not get me an accommodation even when I told them about Hotel's offer to me. Expedia kept on telling me that they are not able to talk to hotel. More over I was told that if I go with Hotel's offer on my own, they do not ensure refund of my money.

My family had to suffer the very cold 4-5 hours (they were sitting in lobby which is right at the main entrance, doors to which are never properly shut) and I was just looking for an accommodation which was very hard to find as it was a great rush time of new year in Shimla.
Some how, by11:00 PM, I managed to get an accommodation with the help of a taxi driver for that night.

Worst experience ever. It scares me what would have happened if I could not get the taxi driver who helped us. We were stranded without accommodation in Shimla at 23rd hour because of their way of business.

Room Tip: "DO NOT BOOK THIS ONE ONLINE (if happen to book at all)"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alchemist321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Surya, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Sir
Thanks for selecting Hotel Surya Shimla for your vacation. As you are saying that you have booked Hotel through our travel partner. They are trusted travel partner with us since a very long time. Your booking was in season dates (New Year Celebration). There may be any kind of miss communication. There is process of booking confirmation. Till the time we don't receive confirmation mail and confirmation no from Travel Partner we can not allow guest to check in. As we are Hotelier and we are here to offer you our services. There is no question of refuse. As you have mentioned that you have to wait for some Hrs we apologies for that.

Your feedback is very valuable for us. We will try to make reservation process more accurate.

Thanks for writing us.
Give us chance to apologies. Visit us .

Thanks
Team
Hotel Surya Shimla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shimla hotels

Shimla, India
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

It's the worst hotel ever I have gone to . 3rd class service, 3rd class staff, food and rest everything is also so bad that u will curse yourself that why u booked this hotel. I request u to please choose another hotel

Room Tip: Choose hotel next to it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manav1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Surya, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Sir
Thanks for selecting Hotel Surya Shimla for your vacation. As you are saying that you have booked Hotel through our travel partner. They are trusted travel partner with us since a very long time. Your booking was in season dates (New Year Celebration). There may be any kind of miss communication. There is process of booking confirmation. Till the time we don't receive confirmation mail and confirmation no from Travel Partner we can not allow guest to check in. As we are Hotelier and we are here to offer you our services. There is no question of refuse. As you have mentioned that you have to wait for some Hrs we apologies for that.

Your feedback is very valuable for us. We will try to make reservation process more accurate.

Thanks

Team
Hotel Surya Shimla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Had an amazing time at hotel surya. We booked 2 luxury rooms for 3 nights and truly enjoyed our stay here.On arrival we were greeted very well by the owner Mr karan.lobby was decent.
Rooms were very good and the food was awesome and not that expensive overall we had a great time will definatly visit again.

Room Tip: Take room in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhi1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Surya, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Mr Abhi
Greetings of the day.......................

Thanks for writing us. Your feedback is valuable for us. It will help traveller to select comfort stay for their families and friends.

We welcome you in advance for your next visit.

Thanks
Team
Hotel Surya Shimla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shimla hotels
0.8 mi away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
#83 of 111 in Shimla
3.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Silverine
Hotel Silverine
#8 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel CK International
Hotel CK International
#15 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Woodpark
Hotel Woodpark
#52 of 111 in Shimla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.1 mi away
Summit Le Royale Hotel
Summit Le Royale Hotel
#31 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Surya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Surya

Property: Hotel Surya
Address: Circular Road, Near Victory Tunnel | Himachal Pradesh, Shimla 171003, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Surya 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on circular Road, and connected to Mall Road (5-10 minutes walk) by Hotel's own elevators. The hotel has 60 elegantly designed guest rooms including Deluxe Rooms, Luxury Room, Honeymoon suites, Executive Suites and Super Deluxe Family Suites. We offer most modern guest amenities, which include in room Tea / Coffee Maker, Digital Cable , WIFI Internet connectivity, CCTV at reception, Travel desk, In-house laundry service and doctor on call.Delicious dining options at ‘’ 180 Degree Roof Top - a multi cuisine Restaurant’ that will satisfy your taste buds. - From an appetizing breakfast to light snacks and sumptuous dinners. When it comes to planning meetings and events, the hotels experience will ensure your function is flawless. It can cater 15 persons conferencing to 250 persons banqueting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Surya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surya Hotel Shimla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing