We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its value for money”
Review of Hotel Surya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Surya
Ranked #46 of 112 Hotels in Shimla
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Its value for money”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Its a value for money hotel. Rooms were good but the bathroom was not good. Bathroom was small and as there is no ventilation in the bathroom so it does not give a fresh feeling. Food is good and the service is also very good.
Its situated very near to Bus stand so the location is also very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AkshayaDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Surya, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Akshya
Greetings form Hotel Surya Shimla.....

Thanks for visiting us. We also very much thankful for your review. Now renovation has been completed. Next time when ever you and your family will visit us you will find all things in proper manner. As you appreciated our food quality, room and services we thankful to you for this.

Visit us again.

Thanks
Team
Hotel Surya Shimla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    69
    57
    26
    43
See reviews for
99
73
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2014

HIGHLY UNRELIABLE.
If you are looking for a stress free stay in shimla (and have a family with you), DO NOT BOOK this hotel. They are extremely unreliable. Or probably their collaboration with Expedia is fatal.

I booked this hotel through Expedia for New Year (12/30, 12/31), received confirmation SMS and email as well. When I reached hotel on 30th night, they denied my reservation and instead gave me an option for almost double the price and that too for 12/30 only. Only at that point I realized I should have called hotel as well to confirm my booking. (Though I've never done this when ever I've booked through Expedia in at least 4 different countries and it has always worked very well)

I had to speak to expedia for at the least 2 hours only to listen to their apologies. They could not get me an accommodation even when I told them about Hotel's offer to me. Expedia kept on telling me that they are not able to talk to hotel. More over I was told that if I go with Hotel's offer on my own, they do not ensure refund of my money.

My family had to suffer the very cold 4-5 hours (they were sitting in lobby which is right at the main entrance, doors to which are never properly shut) and I was just looking for an accommodation which was very hard to find as it was a great rush time of new year in Shimla.
Some how, by11:00 PM, I managed to get an accommodation with the help of a taxi driver for that night.

Worst experience ever. It scares me what would have happened if I could not get the taxi driver who helped us. We were stranded without accommodation in Shimla at 23rd hour because of their way of business.

Room Tip: "DO NOT BOOK THIS ONE ONLINE (if happen to book at all)"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alchemist321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Surya, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Sir
Thanks for selecting Hotel Surya Shimla for your vacation. As you are saying that you have booked Hotel through our travel partner. They are trusted travel partner with us since a very long time. Your booking was in season dates (New Year Celebration). There may be any kind of miss communication. There is process of booking confirmation. Till the time we don't receive confirmation mail and confirmation no from Travel Partner we can not allow guest to check in. As we are Hotelier and we are here to offer you our services. There is no question of refuse. As you have mentioned that you have to wait for some Hrs we apologies for that.

Your feedback is very valuable for us. We will try to make reservation process more accurate.

Thanks for writing us.
Give us chance to apologies. Visit us .

Thanks
Team
Hotel Surya Shimla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shimla hotels

Shimla, India
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2014

It's the worst hotel ever I have gone to . 3rd class service, 3rd class staff, food and rest everything is also so bad that u will curse yourself that why u booked this hotel. I request u to please choose another hotel

Room Tip: Choose hotel next to it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manav1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Surya, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Sir
Thanks for selecting Hotel Surya Shimla for your vacation. As you are saying that you have booked Hotel through our travel partner. They are trusted travel partner with us since a very long time. Your booking was in season dates (New Year Celebration). There may be any kind of miss communication. There is process of booking confirmation. Till the time we don't receive confirmation mail and confirmation no from Travel Partner we can not allow guest to check in. As we are Hotelier and we are here to offer you our services. There is no question of refuse. As you have mentioned that you have to wait for some Hrs we apologies for that.

Your feedback is very valuable for us. We will try to make reservation process more accurate.

Thanks

Team
Hotel Surya Shimla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Had an amazing time at hotel surya. We booked 2 luxury rooms for 3 nights and truly enjoyed our stay here.On arrival we were greeted very well by the owner Mr karan.lobby was decent.
Rooms were very good and the food was awesome and not that expensive overall we had a great time will definatly visit again.

Room Tip: Take room in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhi1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Surya, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Mr Abhi
Greetings of the day.......................

Thanks for writing us. Your feedback is valuable for us. It will help traveller to select comfort stay for their families and friends.

We welcome you in advance for your next visit.

Thanks
Team
Hotel Surya Shimla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We checked in on 2nd week of December,2013. It is a new property clean and good rooms. breakfast was good. Hotel is quite close to the mall road.we did not experience any stinky smell in the rooms. I don't know what was wrong with staff but they were very arrogant and stupid.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayank1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Surya, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Mr. Mayank
Greetings of the day..........................

Thanks for your valuable feedback. Your feedback will help us more to improve our services. As you have mentioned about behaviour of staff we will take care of this things. Our staff is friendly and willing to serve from bottom of the heart. If you faced any problem then on the behalf of Surya Family i apologies.

Thanks for your stay with us and valuable feedback.

Team
Hotel Surya Shimla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We have booked 1 room in December 2011. Cleanliness was average,I found that All the rooms in the hotel's has a permanent stinking problem which is due to old sewage pipes. Hotel restaurant was average. Staff was not very friendly and Hospitality was average. Staff even do not hesitate to ask the tip directly.
Only good thing is the hotel lift which opens up at the Ridge area.

While doing the internet booking due to some technical problem i have paid the booking amount twice but after confirming from the bank and payment gateway I have asked the owner to refund my amount but the behavior and response of Hotel owner/caretaker was very rude and he refused to acknowledge the extra payment. I have forgotten the payment but those bitter memories are still clear.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajayshukla1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Surya, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Ajay
Greetings form Hotel Surya Shimla.........

Thanks for your visit. We are much thankful to you for you feedback.
1) Thanks for conveying that Hotel is very much approachable to Mall Road.
2) As you have mentioned that there was issue related to your payment: I would like to say that if payment is being deducted twice then it will be automatically credited in you account. If not then please contact us again.
3)At the time when you visited the hotel , renovation was going on. Now we have completed the renovation. In your next visit you will not find any problem related to room service, its amenities and wi-fi. (For new pictures please visit our website. )
4) For staff behaviour we apologies. We will take care of this thing more. I accept some time it happens.

We again thanks you for writing us.

We make sure that on your next visit you will get best services.

Thanks N Regards
Team
Hotel Surya Shimla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We had booked 2 Rooms for 2 Nights in Hotel Surya.
Hotel Rooms was clean with some facilities.
Near form the Ridge,Mall Road and Railway Station.
The Staff of the hotel was good and firendly.
Overall the hotel was good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Amit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Surya, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Mr. Amit
Greetings from Hotel Surya Shimla..............................


Thanks for writing us.
Your feedback is valuable for us and our guests.

Thanks
Team
Hotel Surya Shimla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shimla hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
#83 of 112 in Shimla
301 reviews
1.1 mi away
Summit Le Royale Hotel
Summit Le Royale Hotel
#32 of 112 in Shimla
66 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Woodpark
Hotel Woodpark
#56 of 112 in Shimla
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Silverine
Hotel Silverine
#8 of 112 in Shimla
614 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 112 in Shimla
864 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel CK International
Hotel CK International
#17 of 112 in Shimla
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Surya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Surya

Property: Hotel Surya
Address: Circular Road, Near Victory Tunnel | Himachal Pradesh, Shimla 171003, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 112 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Surya 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on circular Road, and connected to Mall Road (5-10 minutes walk) by Hotel's own elevators. The hotel has 60 elegantly designed guest rooms including Deluxe Rooms, Luxury Room, Honeymoon suites, Executive Suites and Super Deluxe Family Suites. We offer most modern guest amenities, which include in room Tea / Coffee Maker, Digital Cable , WIFI Internet connectivity, CCTV at reception, Travel desk, In-house laundry service and doctor on call.Delicious dining options at ‘’ 180 Degree Roof Top - a multi cuisine Restaurant’ that will satisfy your taste buds. - From an appetizing breakfast to light snacks and sumptuous dinners. When it comes to planning meetings and events, the hotels experience will ensure your function is flawless. It can cater 15 persons conferencing to 250 persons banqueting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Surya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surya Hotel Shimla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing