We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quaint charm”
Review of Clarkes Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarkes Hotel
Ranked #3 of 112 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
delhi
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“quaint charm”
Reviewed November 17, 2009

EXCELLENT! thats how i will call it. it is an lovely property with old world charm. great personalised service with local lingua being used freely. this is what keeps it free from 5 star hangovers.staff in old worldly attire, great rooms and great service too. what else do want. deluxe room is good but cold. suite was also good with a view of the high court and mountains beyond. the hotel has great location, you basically start from one end of the mall road. food was good but limited variety. overall,small things need to be overlooked (like richety locks, broken tiles at places) to enjoy this heritage. you do need a certain respect for history and heritage for this.

  • Liked — location, food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    193
    41
    13
    8
See reviews for
151
173
23
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2009

Its a LovelY Property!
Old world charm with modern facilities, small, cosy , very stylish & royale!
I loved the rooms they have. Thats the best part. the beds are something you totally dont want to get out of.There is a huge window by the bedise, so you can catch a glimpse of a sleepy simla as well as a woken up good morning Simla!
The hotel is right in the middl e of Mall road. There are beautiful benches right outside the hotel where you can soak the sun!
Overall... i think its great . if you can afford it, its a greta place to stay!

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Disliked — There was no pool
  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Landed up expecting fog and cold weather. It was very warm but the nights were pleasant. I stayed at a suite at Hotel Clarke ( with a reception room, living room, big bed room, changing room and seperate bath ). The food was amazingly good esp the north indian cuisine. Excellent staff ( most of them hv been with the place for >10 yrs ). Step out of the hotel and you are in the hottest tourist spot in Shimla - The mall road. Since vehicles are not allowed in that road, the place is kind of quite.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkes-Shimla, General Manager at Clarkes Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your experiences describing each property features and facilities.It was a pleasure looking after you and everyone sends their best wishes and hope to have the chance of welcoming you back!

This review will certainly be helpful for all our team members and positive feedback such as yours is always a strong motivation to all of us to continuously provide a high level of services to our guests especially when coming from a very well travelled guest as you it means a lot to us.

We look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2009

It was our family trip to Shimla wth my parents and siblings..we had a nice time in this hotel with greenery all around.
The service was prompt and efficient. Hot water was available 24 hours and its very close to the Mall.

Its also very near to the shopping streets and the railway station. Therefore, we had no problems accessing these.
All in all, it was a nice experience and provided good value for money!!!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Nothing as such
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2009

I hve stayed at the Clark's and i liked their service and hospitalit very much. we are goin back end of this year and definitely will be staying at the Clarks... thanks

  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2009

Clarkes hotel Shimla is one of the most delightful old world colonial hotel that lives perfectly on the mall and gives excellent views of the city and the church. The lounge, bar, staff, food, restaurant are all above comparison for this wonderful small hotel.

I would like to stay here anytime of the year whenever I would visit Shimla.

  • Liked — Comfortable beds & mattresses, nicely done rooms & public rooms.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2009

We didn't stay here, but went their for lunch.

The hotel is just off Mall road and is near to the hot spots of Shimla yet in a quiet corner with a relatively good view.

The hotel is OLD! but that's were the charm is. Ofcause its maintained but they haven't taken the colonial feel to it. A small reception and insignificant entrance, followed by a huge dinning mall, masive lounge, etc.

Its an experience. If you would like to feel the old charm of Shimla I was recommend this place.

I didn't see the rooms, but I'm judging them to be huge colonial type rooms with huge bathrooms (but hey, its just an assumption).

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shimla hotels
1.3 mi away
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
0.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#10 of 112 in Shimla
1,071 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#17 of 112 in Shimla
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
0.2 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 112 in Shimla
799 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#11 of 112 in Shimla
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Clarkes Hotel

Property: Clarkes Hotel
Address: The Mall, Shimla 171001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Shimla
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shimla
#8 Romantic Hotel in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Clarkes Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Shimla Mall Road, Clarkes Hotel is an oasis of calm on the bustling promenade. This Heritage hotel has recently been upgraded to Grand Heritage category and is one of the oldest hotels in Shimla. Clarkes is known for its architecture dating from the colonial era. The hotel is within walking distance of Shimla attractions - Gaiety Theatre, Groton Castle, Museum, Rothney Castle, Viceregal Lodge, Churches and other Colonial era buildings. Clarkes Hotel embodies the elegance and charm of yesteryear, with modern conveniences of today. The hotel maintains the highest levels of service and has all the amenities, facilities and levels of comfort you would expect from a hotel of this class. Clarkes Hotel is just 10 minutes from Shimla Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Clarkes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shimla Clarkes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing