We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heritage hotel in an excellent location”
Review of Clarkes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarkes Hotel
Ranked #2 of 116 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2014

The location of the hotel is perfect for a walk on the mall road and still very quiet. The building is from 1898 but has gone through major refurbishments, so that all modern amenities are available. Unfortunately, to my taste, some of the character has been lost in the process. The dining room just looks to new... but still much remains, like the steep stairs and the old fashioned windows. The staff is as expected for the rating of the hotel : friendly and attentive.

Room Tip: No rooms are the same, it may be good idea to check a few before settling in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riehen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkes-Shimla, General Manager at Clarkes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We have noted your comments regarding the hotel maintenance will take this into considerations. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay.

I once again thank you for your kind words. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Shimla and every endeavor will be made to ensure that Clarke’s Hotel becomes your home when visiting this city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 540 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is great the service, location and cleanliness is wonderful in such an isolated location.

It has an old world feel about it. The breakfast and the staff were wonderful. It was great having a G&T in the lounge watching
the sun go down.

Can highly recommend this hotel. An evening walk along the boulevard taking in the culture and sights from this hotel is a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErnSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkes-Shimla, General Manager at Clarkes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Guest,


It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Clarkes Hotel, Shimla. We thank you your valuable comments on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to learn from your feedback that your visit to our hotel was pleasant and comfortable and that the facilities provided to you were to your satisfaction.

Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best attention at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Nothing beats the vibrancy of Shimla's mall road and Clarkes tucked away at one corner of the mall road is an amazing place. Unless you want to really run away into absolute quititude, Clarkes is just fine. Rooms are spacious, staff is courteous, breakfast is sumptuous.
We stayed for one night at Clarkes to be able to enjoy the mall road to the fullest and then moved on to another resort in Naldhera hills.
One problem: Do check the rooms well before check-in. The heritage nature of the property might throw some surprises. The bolt of one of the bath-rooms did not close well and almost came off when we tried to push it. The staff was however very courteous in getting it repaired before we came back for the night :)
Another flip-side is that there is no swimming pool or spa.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shipra_Sharma_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkes-Shimla, General Manager at Clarkes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

Your comment have been well noted regarding the room maintenance. We will take this into considerations. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay.

I once again thank you for your kind words. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Shimla and every endeavor will be made to ensure that Clarke’s Hotel becomes your home when visiting this city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Nothing can beat the convenient location of The Clarkes on the Mall Road - which is close to the action and yet away from the hustle bustle at the same time. I have been visiting Shimla for more than two decades now and every time we would walk past The Clarkes, something about the place would keep trying to draw one towards it. It has a charming little entrance and a cosy lobby. The rooms are decent sized and well equipped. What the property lacks in terms of grandeur compared to probably a Cecil, it more than makes up with its convenient location. it is a short walk away from the 'Lift' that takes one up from the drop off area to the Mall Road. The staff is warm and helpful, and the property is well maintained. It is a pity that the authorities have let an ugly building come up right in front of the Clarkes obstructing the view from most of its rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on highest floor facing the valley. You can manage to get some view and these will als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karishma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkes-Shimla, General Manager at Clarkes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Clarke’s Hotel, Shimla. We thank you your valuable comments on Trip Advisor.
I am delighted to note that you have had an enjoyable stay, it was a pleasure to have been of service to you.
I once again thank you for your kind words. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Shimla and every endeavor will be made to ensure that Clarke’s Hotel becomes your home when visiting this city.
We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best attention at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Ayes:

1. Beautifully located at the edge of the Mall Road, keeps you away from the crowds yet near to your fav joints.

2. Great, lovely and very courteous staff, specially the older staff usually in the restaurant.

3. Very well maintained clean rooms and corridors at great costs of retaining the heritage nature of the property.

Noes:

The bathrooms of atleast suit rooms don't have exhausts.

The Indian food served at the restaurant isn't great - restaurant appears to cater to the taste of the white skinned clients.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abhishek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkes-Shimla, General Manager at Clarkes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We have noted your comments regarding exhaust fan in the bathroom and taste of food will take this into considerations. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay.

I once again thank you for your kind words. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Shimla and every endeavor will be made to ensure that Clarke’s Hotel becomes your home when visiting this city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Best part about hotel is it is just above ISBT Shimla and there's SRS Cinemas Multiplex along side the hotel. Celebrated new year' eve in Shimla and loved the hospitality of the staff.
Only drawback is that hotel is bit far from main city and you will need private taxi all the time.

Room Tip: Keep a taxi with you, else getting to Mall road, Shimla is tough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gsimran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkes-Shimla, General Manager at Clarkes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Clarke’s Hotel, Shimla. We thank you your valuable comments on Trip Advisor.
I am delighted to note that you have had an enjoyable stay, it was a pleasure to have been of service to you.
I once again thank you for your kind words. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Shimla and every endeavor will be made to ensure that Clarke’s Hotel becomes your home when visiting this city.
We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best attention at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Visited hotel in dec. interiors are old but not all maintained. Not at all advisable. Poor view. Only positive point is its on MALL ROAD..... Room service is pathetic. Food is good but advisable to have from local market.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Rooms
2  Thank Rajan105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkes-Shimla, General Manager at Clarkes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We have noted your comments regarding the hotel maintenance & view of a room will take this into considerations. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay.

I once again thank you for your kind words. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Shimla and every endeavor will be made to ensure that Clarke’s Hotel becomes your home when visiting this city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shimla hotels
1.3 mi away
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
0.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#13 of 116 in Shimla
1,089 reviews
0.2 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 116 in Shimla
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#16 of 116 in Shimla
503 reviews
1.8 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#14 of 116 in Shimla
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarkes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarkes Hotel

Address: The Mall, Shimla 171001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Shimla
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shimla
#8 Romantic Hotel in Shimla
Price Range: $116 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Clarkes Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Shimla Mall Road, Clarkes Hotel is an oasis of calm on the bustling promenade. This Heritage hotel has recently been upgraded to Grand Heritage category and is one of the oldest hotels in Shimla. Clarkes is known for its architecture dating from the colonial era. The hotel is within walking distance of Shimla attractions - Gaiety Theatre, Groton Castle, Museum, Rothney Castle, Viceregal Lodge, Churches and other Colonial era buildings. Clarkes Hotel embodies the elegance and charm of yesteryear, with modern conveniences of today. The hotel maintains the highest levels of service and has all the amenities, facilities and levels of comfort you would expect from a hotel of this class. Clarkes Hotel is just 10 minutes from Shimla Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Clarkes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shimla Clarkes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing