We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely old heritage hotel in Shimla”
Review of Clarkes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarkes Hotel
Ranked #2 of 112 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
new delhi
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“lovely old heritage hotel in Shimla”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The warm welcome by Dolly Tanwar was a wonderful start to our holiday in Shimla. We were a group of 8 --all senior or 'near senior'..We were upgraded to the Premier suites. Super comfortable...since the hotel is old the furnishings are not luxurious but they are very comfortable and clean. The superb service more than made up for any shortcomings!!!!! The Ala carte options in the meal options were enough and the chef came to take our choices into consideration.

Room Tip: all rooms on the first level
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madhuNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkes-Shimla, General Manager at Clarkes Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
The entire team at Clarkes would like to thank you for taking out valuable time to write about your experience in the hotel. We appreciate the feedback and we hope to receive another chance to serve you !

Looking forward to personally welcome you and making your visit a memorable one !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    196
    41
    13
    8
See reviews for
159
175
23
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Nuilt in 1898 this hotel has all the Raj ambience you want. Mall is traffic free and there is much within an easy walk. Our room was good and the view of the sunset splendid.We enjoyed two breakfasts and one dinner there. Its uphill to anywhere on Mall from the hotel but the slope is gentle, easier going home ! Lower cost restaurants nearby if thats your preference. A good base.

Room Tip: Ours OK---- but a couple found the room next door not so good. The building dates from 1898 and is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beaver5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkes-Shimla, General Manager at Clarkes Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
The entire team at Clarkes would like to thank you for taking out valuable time to write about your experience in the hotel. We appreciate the feedback and we hope to receive another chance to serve you !

Looking forward to personally welcome you and making your visit a memorable one !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2013

we stayed at clarkes on 11th march,the hotel is present in the mall road which is quiet a busy place but very convinient to travel to nearby places..the hotel takes you back to olden days with wooden floors,furniture...well suits the heritage tag..we stayed in one of the premier rooms..the rooms were clean,comfortable.the staff there are extermely generous and helpful..you get good scenic view of the hills from room...the food was delicious,you get awesome chicken biryani there..probably one of the best i ever had....it was a very pleasant stay..thanks to the staff

Room Tip: rooms on the 2nd floor open to the corridors..avoid them
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjaymalh0tra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkes-Shimla, General Manager at Clarkes Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
The entire team at Clarkes would like to thank you for taking out valuable time to write about your experience in the hotel. We appreciate the feedback and we hope to receive another chance to serve you !

Looking forward to personally welcome you and making your visit a memorable one !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2013

A single word sums it up - WOW! This is not actually a hotel; it's like a spa in heart of Shimla, which features luxurious and spacious suits and rooms.
The site of the hotel is beyond lovely—nestled on a hill with a scenic view of the entire valley, words alone can't speak to the area around it, because it's so beautiful that honestly, you don't feel the desire to venture out. You got all you need right there!!!

“A great home away from home above and beyond”
“Amazing, beautiful, worth it!!!!”

Room Tip: Just enjoy!!! U ll love this place ,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vishal_lal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkes-Shimla, General Manager at Clarkes Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
The entire team at Clarkes would like to thank you for taking out valuable time to write about your experience in the hotel. We appreciate the feedback and we hope to receive another chance to serve you !

Looking forward to personally welcome you and making your visit a memorable one !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandigarh
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

me and my wife stayed at clarks oberoi on our anniversary 11 th march 2013. in dinner we ordered dal makhni and one mushroom dish. dal makhni was sour stale , straight away brought from the garbageand i wish not even my enemy to taste in. on reporting it to be so, the waiter replaced it with another filthy dish without even asking. the next morning breakfast we were cautious and to avoid any other trouble we requested for upma but to our misfortune the same result.
late mr mohan singh oberoi must be ashamed of his first oberoi property...and he should be..courtesy the careless chef and his team.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kapilas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkes-Shimla, General Manager at Clarkes Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and I can assure you that you will have no further cause for any complaint in relation to our product or services.We regret any inconvenience you have experienced, and we assure you that we are anxious to retain you as a satisfied customer. I apologise once again for the annoyance that this may have caused . Looking forward to personally welcome you again and making this visit a memorable one !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

After a drive of spectacular views one reaches the Mall by a 'lift'.A short walk later one arrives at this hotel redolent with old world charm.The staff are courteous and extremely helpful -travel arrangements were made easily and without a fuss.We visited Kufri nearby to see the remnants of a late snowfall.Within, the decor was well preserved befitting a 'heritage' tag.The room was comfortable with a great view of terraced hills-cliched postcard view but pleasurable.The bathroom was well appointed and clean. Room service was prompt and effective . The wooden floors, stairs and roofing echoed a distant past -I almost expected Kipling to saunter past.The one fly in the ointment was the restaurant- the menu was staid the cooking inefficient had to make do with cold refrigerated tomato in my sandwich.Grilled sandwiches were not heard of.But for this one negative point I enjoyed most of my stay .A special mention of Neha at the reception she was very helpful.

Room Tip: One did not explore all the rooms but the ones facing the valley were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krish98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkes-Shimla, General Manager at Clarkes Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
The entire team at Clarkes would like to thank you for taking out valuable time to write about your experience in the hotel. We appreciate the feedback and we hope to receive another chance to serve you !

Looking forward to personally welcome you and making your visit a memorable one !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-Upon-Avon
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

British colonial mentality at its best. One of the few remaining vestige of British rule in India. Antique silverware, ceremonial headress for waiters and service staff, colonial decor, and pompous service are only few of the things that will remind you of how privileged the imperialists were then. Great experience for a non colonists like me.
Shimla is a beautiful town with friendly people. Make sure your tour guide discuss everything about entrance fees and what's included in your package. We had a local tour operator who tried to make us pay for entrance fees which were supposed to be included with the package.

Room Tip: Don't book here if you have a problem with heights.We had to take 2 lifts to get up to the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marichu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkes-Shimla, General Manager at Clarkes Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
The entire team at Clarkes would like to thank you for taking out valuable time to write about your experience in the hotel. We appreciate the feedback and we hope to receive another chance to serve you !

Looking forward to personally welcome you and making your visit a memorable one !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shimla hotels
1.3 mi away
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
0.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#12 of 112 in Shimla
1,074 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#17 of 112 in Shimla
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#4 of 112 in Shimla
802 reviews
1.8 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#11 of 112 in Shimla
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarkes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarkes Hotel

Property: Clarkes Hotel
Address: The Mall, Shimla 171001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shimla
#2 Business Hotel in Shimla
#8 Romantic Hotel in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Clarkes Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Shimla Mall Road, Clarkes Hotel is an oasis of calm on the bustling promenade. This Heritage hotel has recently been upgraded to Grand Heritage category and is one of the oldest hotels in Shimla. Clarkes is known for its architecture dating from the colonial era. The hotel is within walking distance of Shimla attractions - Gaiety Theatre, Groton Castle, Museum, Rothney Castle, Viceregal Lodge, Churches and other Colonial era buildings. Clarkes Hotel embodies the elegance and charm of yesteryear, with modern conveniences of today. The hotel maintains the highest levels of service and has all the amenities, facilities and levels of comfort you would expect from a hotel of this class. Clarkes Hotel is just 10 minutes from Shimla Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Clarkes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shimla Clarkes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing