We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dingy hotel reminiscent of grimy English B&Bs”
Review of Clarkes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarkes Hotel
Ranked #2 of 114 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I guess that it's all about your expectations - we'd stayed at reasonable 4 star hotels prior to arriving in snowy Shimla and expected a similar standard to the excellent Country Inn chain elsewhere in India. The location of the hotel is good - it's on the pedestrian Mall and has great views especially from the restaurant. Even though we were upgraded from a superior to a higher-grade room with a view, the rooms were equivalent to those in a two-star hotel in other places that I've visited. Sheets were dirty and stained and there were grimy carpets that clearly hadn't been cleaned in a while. If you're looking for a good night's rest, then the lumpy, sloping, soft mattresses won't deliver. We were also woken up early every morning by the kitchen that was directly above us. The restaurant staff were good though and the food was great though very expensive.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 16 despite the side view of old Shimla - it's really small and we were wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ParkwoodTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkes-Shimla, General Manager at Clarkes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and I can assure you that you will have no further cause for any complaint in relation to our product or services.We regret any inconvenience you have experienced, and we assure you that we are anxious to retain you as a satisfied customer. I apologise once again for the annoyance that this may have caused . Looking forward to personally welcome you again and making this visit a memorable one !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 524 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

I Visited Clarkes Hotel in last week of September 2012. The hotel is quiet and peaceful. It was off season in Shimla. The stay was pleasant and staff was helpful. The mall road is very close to this hotel and hotel arranges city tour as well. I was traveling with 6 month baby. If you are traveling on mall road, you can hire pram for Rs.50/- per hour.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrijeshBopardikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkes-Shimla, General Manager at Clarkes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

The entire team at Clarkes would like to thank you for taking out valuable time to write about your experience in the hotel. We appreciate the feedback and we hope to receive another chance to serve you !

Looking forward to personally welcome you and making your visit a memorable one !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

It was our son’s birthday on 1st Nov so me and my wife decided to celebrate his birthday on some hill station to give him a surprise so we thought of having a trip to shimla. I was making reservations for our stay in shimla and then read about clarke’s hotel. Therefore we booked a Volvo package from Delhi to Shimla from Shimlaroyals.com , who r quite good fr Shimla/Manali tours & offer concessions on Stay/sightseeing etc

The hotel is located at the higher end of mall road. Hotel is easily accessible the only thing is you will need a porter to carry your bags to hotel as the slope is pretty steep. When we reached hotel the receptionist welcomed us and efficiently did the check in process. The hotel staff was very cooperative and attentive in their work. The room had a great view of hill side and was very clean and comfortable.

The heating system in room was okay and we never felt any cold in room as when we reached shimla we got a snowy welcome. The bathrooms were clean and hot water supplies were never a problem to us. The breakfast was served to our room and was delicious in taste. In evening I went to hotel bar the music and lights were a perfect set to mood. The next day was our son’s birthday so we went Kufri in the Noon escorted by travel agent’s guy

In the evening hotel people gave us a surprise by getting a cake for our son and arranged a small private party for our family at terrace. It was a bit cold there so they also arranged a bonfire. The hotel had an old world charm in it. My trip to shimla was a memorable one and this hotel was a major part of it. I do not have any doubt in recommending this hotel to other travellers and will surely visit this hotel again in future.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr Prasad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkes-Shimla, General Manager at Clarkes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

The entire team at Clarkes would like to thank you for taking out valuable time to write about your experience in the hotel. We appreciate the feedback and we are glad that we would soon receive another chance to serve you !

Looking forward to personally welcome you again and making your visit a memorable one !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I stayed at Clarkes for a night & it brought back memories of staying at the hotel a couple of years back on a number of occasions. The staff hasn't changed & the ambience is the same. The rooms & the public areas remind you of Shimla what it use to be in the 60s & 70s. A must stay hotel in case you want to stay close to the Mall. I will certainly stay there during my forthcoming trips to Shimla.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanjay_wadhawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkes-Shimla, General Manager at Clarkes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

The entire team at Clarkes is very grateful to you for taking out valuable time to write about your experience in the hotel. We appreciate the feedback and eagerly await another chance to serve you !

Looking forward to personally welcome you again and making your visit another memorable one !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were staying at another hotel for our first 2 nights in Shimla and then we found Clarkes Hotel. It was so lovely and welcoming that we decided to take a room there instead. We spent 5 nights there in total as it was so warm and relaxing. The location is superb, it being on the lower side of The Mall. Rooms are beautiful with wonderfully comfy beds. Bathrooms perfect with hot water all the time. One of the best things about the hotel were the staff and this goes from the manager (Dolly), through front desk, restaurant and bar service, and general room service also. The buffet breakfast is the best we have had on our trip to India thus far (6 weeks travelling).
My only negative is that WiFi is chargeable and costs Rs150 per 30 minutes - a bit steep if you ask me. Apart from that I cannot fault the place at all.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be great. We stayed in one of the Premier rooms as we got a great deal during the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maximus765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkes-Shimla, General Manager at Clarkes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

The entire team at Clarkes is very grateful to you for taking out valuable time to write about your experience in the hotel. We appreciate the feedback and eagerly await another chance to serve you !

Looking forward to personally welcome you again and making your visit another memorable one !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed there for two nights last week - brought back memories of staying at the same hotel six years ago! Nothing has changed - and that is a good thing - the rooms are just as quaint and charming; the decor is old-world and the staff are charming... Will certainly stay there each time I go to Shimla.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have no windows overlooking the road or the hills - they open on to the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank proftawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkes-Shimla, General Manager at Clarkes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

The entire team at Clarkes would like to thank you for taking out valuable time to write about your experience in the hotel. We appreciate the feedback and we are glad that we would soon receive another chance to serve you !

Looking forward to personally welcome you again and making your visit a memorable one !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel is well located at the end of The Mall, ideal for exploring the local area. We stayed 2 nights, the first in a room with no external window, which was very disappointing, and the second in a large room with great views of the town and valley. This was probably due to Travel Groups being given priority over private travellers despite booking 6 months in advance. The rooms were very comfortable and provided a faded colonial atmosphere.

Room Tip: Don't expect to get what you request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PTL_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkes-Shimla, General Manager at Clarkes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Our entire team would like to thank you for taking out valuable time to write about your experience in the hotel.We appreciate the feedback and we hope you will stay with us on your next Shimla visit.

We regret any inconvenience you have experienced, and assure you that we are anxious to retain you as a satisfied customer. Looking forward to personally welcome you again and making your visit a memorable one !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shimla hotels
1.3 mi away
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
0.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#13 of 114 in Shimla
1,081 reviews
0.2 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 114 in Shimla
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#18 of 114 in Shimla
500 reviews
1.8 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#14 of 114 in Shimla
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarkes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarkes Hotel

Address: The Mall, Shimla 171001, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shimla
#2 Business Hotel in Shimla
#8 Romantic Hotel in Shimla
Price Range: $123 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Clarkes Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Shimla Mall Road, Clarkes Hotel is an oasis of calm on the bustling promenade. This Heritage hotel has recently been upgraded to Grand Heritage category and is one of the oldest hotels in Shimla. Clarkes is known for its architecture dating from the colonial era. The hotel is within walking distance of Shimla attractions - Gaiety Theatre, Groton Castle, Museum, Rothney Castle, Viceregal Lodge, Churches and other Colonial era buildings. Clarkes Hotel embodies the elegance and charm of yesteryear, with modern conveniences of today. The hotel maintains the highest levels of service and has all the amenities, facilities and levels of comfort you would expect from a hotel of this class. Clarkes Hotel is just 10 minutes from Shimla Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Clarkes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shimla Clarkes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing