We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good Hotel......great view !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toshali Royal View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Toshali Royal View
Ranked #25 of 112 Hotels in Shimla
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Hotel......great view !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in first week of May 2014. It took for a while to reach here as it is about 20-25 Kms beyond Shimla. As road was comparatively in bad shape that distance occurred double !
However once we reached hotel everybody felt refreshed as the location of the hotel and views from it are fabulous . We were a group of 8, 6 adults and 2 kids. Everybody loved this hotel. Rooms are spacious. Service is excellent. Restaurant is not great but I can say its good. Hotel management should add few more dishes/menu's. Food is tasty. If you are staying for more than two days, menu seems repetitive. improvement to bathroom especially taps is must.
Overall good stay!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Strongbhuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    103
    50
    21
    17
See reviews for
143
80
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Panjim, India
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

A few Things To be cleared.
1) The Resort is not in Shimla but Kufri. About an 1,5 hrs drive from Shimla.
2) Very near to Kufri Sightseeings and Naldhera.

A few points to consider:

1) A breath Taking View from Every of the rooms.
2) Exceptionally courteous and prompt hotel team. These people are really genuine.
3) Many of the things in the hotel are almost antique, but working and well maintained.
4) Rooms are quite large, with a balcony , and the french windows make them very bright.
5) You have the gaming area, billiards table, karaoke.
6) Recomended 3 nights so that you can spend a good time doing the sightseeing and enjoy the hotel as well. Both of which is a must.

I thank Toshali for a great time that my family had and all the courtesy extended. All the very best to this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gautam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

Stayed at Toshali Royal View for two nights, end of May 2014, on a staff outing. It's a newly built place, hence the furniture, walls , bathrooms i.e. the infrastructure is quite good. i don't know till when they shall be able to maintain that..... it's a simple place, nothing fancy, just like any other three star Indian property. The strongest point of the place is the mesmerising view of dense pine trees from almost every room, as it has all the rooms facing one direction, so view should not be a problem from any room.
Now, for cleanliness, as I already mentioned that it's a new place, the furnishings and the linen were sparkling clean. The bathroom, though small (not to forget, it's a 3* prop.) were very clean and had ample supply of hot water.
There is small game room with a carrom board, chess, a TV, basic colouring facilities for kids. Good enough to keep the kids busy for some time.
I found the food delicious, but that's subjective. It was quintessentially DESI with a lavish dosage of oil and apt for a spicy palate. variety was good enough for a 3* prop.
A great bonfire was organised for us and we had a blast, that's the advantage of going in a mammoth group (we were 50 in no.). a DJ night had also been arranged and to my great surprise he played very good latest numbers, quite contrary to my expectations.
To sum it all, it was a good at Toshali. It faired quite well, ditching the ill reputation of three star properties in India. The star ratings given by me are high as they are in comparision to the reputation of THREE STAR props. in our country. If you are a snooty 5 star traveller, looking for pampering and luxury, it's not the place for you (after all IT IS A THREE STAR property.....)rest all was great!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: * G01 is a huge room with separate dining area, a sofa-bed and a good sitting space. Go for it if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sushmitadiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

First the plus points. The view from the balcony of our room was fabulous. The greenery was mesmerising.
Next not so good. The food was aversge and choice wss very limited. The service was ok.
finally what spoilt the visit. In the Google maps, the hotel is shown as walking distance from Mall Road in Shimla. Actually it is 24 kms from the Shimla city on the way to Chail from Kufri. we were misled by this info. infact I spoke to some staff at the hotel, and was informed that they have received lot of complaints regarding this issue.
Other points. BEWARE OF MONKEYS.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kripakar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

"Toshali Royal View", the name says it all. This hotel has a Fantastic view of the dense pine trees around. We stayed in a royal duplex room , room no.316 and had a lovely view from our balcony. The staff in this hotel is very courteous and made our stay very comfortable. My kids enjoyed playing pool with Deep who is in charge of the pool table and also enjoyed the karaoke sessions. The restaurant serves delicious food. Will definitely come here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smitila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Courteous staff, Good view of the valley, do not expect the experience of a lush city hotel. beware of monkeys, they enter the room through the balcony and eat anything and everything eatable kept in the room and mess around with your luggage for more food. Telephone network not available in rooms except for Airtel. Connected rooms with a locked door in between lets voices carry through to other rooms on both sides. Basement rooms very cramped and stinking.Good food.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amrita2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

we checked in the hotel on1 may 2014 it was far away from main shimla it was near kufri we checked in at night and were welcomed with cake and than after dinner there was karoke set in which we could sing than it had games room and our room was good the staff was good at service they were very nice to us and we had no problem in the stay

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kunjal76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shimla hotels
4.9 mi away
Fairmount Shimla Forest Greens
5.5 mi away
Hotel Silverine
Hotel Silverine
#9 of 112 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
5.6 mi away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 112 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
7.0 mi away
Hotel CK International
Hotel CK International
#15 of 112 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.0 mi away
Krish Rauni
Krish Rauni
#7 of 112 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toshali Royal View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toshali Royal View

Property: Toshali Royal View
Address: Kufri Chail Road | Via Kanda Ghat, Shilon Bagh, Shimla 171012, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Shimla
#8 Best Value Hotel in Shimla
#10 Spa Hotel in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Toshali Royal View 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Toshali Royal View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toshali Royal View Hotel Shimla
Toshali Royal View Shimla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing