We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort little away from usual Shimla”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shimla Havens Resort
Ranked #18 of 112 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
Chandigarh, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great resort little away from usual Shimla”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

It is an amazing resort with a great view. It is at a very quiet location away from the usually crowded Shimla.

The main positives of this resort are:
1. Great location as it is not to near to mall and not far as well. You can easily reach mall road in 15 mins.
2. Beautiful location, as it is in a valley.
3. Courteous and smiling staff always ready to help.
4. Well decorated and clean rooms.
5. Excellent and tasty food.

There are some negatives as well, though they are difficult to find:
1. In our package there was a fruit basket but we never got and when asked on leaving the hotel, they said that they forgot. This should not happen and they should give what is promised. Customer should not be required to ask for the same.
2. Though we stayed in deluxe room, but what we feel is that there should be proper grass in front of garden rooms and children’s play area.
3. The approach road to hotel is very narrow and steep. You cannot reach hotel without their help. On coming back road tests the engine power of your car.
4. Though food was excellent, but one day food served was cold.

But it was overall very good experience. They need to keep up the standard and improve on some of the areas.

Room Tip: Better to take the Deluxe room as though the granden view room has an open area but it is not mainta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EnthusiastTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShimlaHavensresort, General Manager at Shimla Havens Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thanks for sparing your valuable time to review us on tripadvisor and sharing your experience about your stay at Shimla Havens Resort. We are pleased to hear that your stay at Shimla Havens was pleasant and thanks for appreciating the Location, Services, Interiors and Staff at Shimla Havens. It is really very motivating for us when guests appreciates our services and efforts to deliver more to the guest so that they enjoy their time.

Apart from your appreciating your suggestions are well taken into the account and we are sorry to know that our team missed to deliver Fruit basket in your room , sincere apologies for the same and I agree with your whatever is promised should be deliver to the guest, shall surely look into the matter and assure you that it will not be repeated in the future. Regarding the Lawn development , your suggestion has been well taken along with few more of our guest who advised us to maintain the same , which we were not in a positing to maintain because of the excessive rains , but I am happy to share with you that the lawns have been maintain along with the kids play area and experior landscapes as well.
Please do visit us again , I am sure you will find lots of refinements would have been done by then and you will pleased to see it.

Regards,
Jyoti Guleria-( General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    87
    24
    11
    9
See reviews for
136
58
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
delhi
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I rely on tripadvisor for my travel and bookings and thus thought of giving it back to the community.

Most of the reviews of this resort were good and thus booked it for a weekend destination. Booked a deluxe room and stayed in the month of August (writing it from the hotel).

First the pros:
- Beautiful view. Your window opens to greenery with clouds touching your windows.
- Staff is extremely pleasing (and smiling) and that's what makes your stay good.
- Peaceful, away from city.
- Good Food, specially the dinner.
- Overall we enjoyed our stay and I would recommend the place.
- Good interiors of rooms.

However the Cons. (being the difference between being good and being wow. Must say, the place was good but lacked wow moments summarized below:
- When opting for wilderness, you expect the property to be big with options to explore. Sadly the location is good but property is constrained (must say that we visited in monsoon thus could not explore outdoor activities).
- The place has potential but is under-developed. For example, the kids play area should have been more kids friendly (should have clean and well maintained grass instead of pits). Green patches should be maintained for an morning or evening stroll.
- Would suggest the management to increase places to explore within the resort (perhaps a small open air outdoor cafe / possibly a small badminton court). These things will make it a resort rather than a hotel.
- Although the interiors of the room were good but lacked finesse.

Certainly the place has the potential and hopefully it is able to give wow moments to its future guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fultoobakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShimlaHavensresort, General Manager at Shimla Havens Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you with us and to know that you enjoyed your time at Shimla Havens.Thanks for sharing such a valuable feedback about our resort, It is very helpful when our guests shares their experience about their stay as it helps the travel community and Service providers like us to know what exactly our guest looks for the wow factors and where we needs to improve on to come up to the expectations of our loving guests.

Thanks for writing such a wonderful feedback, since most of the good things at the resort has already been explained by you and we are obliged to hear that most of the services at Shimla havens were pleasant and thanks for recommending us to the travel community.Through you I am pleased to share that your feedback has been incorporated and I thank you for your feedback.

Let me assure you on the following points you have mentioned in your feedback regarding wilderness and activities at the resort, we have around 8 to 10 soft adventure activities at the resort along with the nature and forest walk but because of the monsoon the terrains becomes slippery and ropes and rocks too are slippery hence these activities were closed for time being but shall be operational from august 20 onwards, we are sorry to hear that you could not enjoy all of them because of the rains . But let me assure you by the next time when you visit us we will not let you go without experiencing all of them.

Regarding the Kids area is concerned your suggestion has been forwarded to the concerned department to look into the prospects of adding some more activities along with the well developed grass lawns

Open air cafe is being developed along with small gazebo and we do have badminton court at the resort. Hope by your next visit all these suggestions will have been incorporated and we shall try our level best to make your experience at Shimla Havens... Wow experience....

Regards,

Jyoti Guleria- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Resort location is so good with an amazing view. Plenty of outdoor activities available. This is one of the most wonderful site I have ever been. I stayed this resort for 2 nights with my friends and we really had a very good time. The rooms were so beautiful and nice. The staff was very helpful and provided us a very good and quick service. The food quality was also very good. I definitely recommend this Hotel for everyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoolHimachal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShimlaHavensresort, General Manager at Shimla Havens Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you with us and to know that you enjoyed your time at Shimla Havens . Thanks for writing such a wonderful feedback. Your words of appreciation really acts as catalysts to us in providing the better services to our guests.

Please do visit us again, shall be happy to see you once again at Shimla Havens.

Regards,

Jyoti Guleria- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Location of the hotel is very good is away from chaos from Mall Road. The soft tracking activities like zip line, river crossing are very good and just near to hotel. Complimentary walking/soft trekking near to hotel is very pleasant. The breakfast and food was also good. Whole staff was courteous and polite.

Rooms with the attached gardens may have insects in monsoon season. WiFi connectivity is also not there on lower floors.

Room Tip: Rooms with the attached gardens may have insects in monsoon season, better to take the area around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FromCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurukshetra, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This resort is one of the best properties of Shimla which is very close to nature. My family thoroughly enjoyed there. This resort is beautiful and is a delight for any nature lover. Plenty of outdoor activities available .... Jungle tracking is one of best of them. In fact I will recommend this hotel to everybody who is searching for a resort for its sheer calmness and serene surroundings. Far from the maddening crowd, in actual lap of nature. In fact not very far from the city. I had my kids along with me and they enjoyed the kids zone very much.Great value for money. Most recommended. The hotel is located at a nice location and the view form the rooms was very nice. The room had the best of equipment and the staff was very helpful. We had breakfast & Dinner included in our package and it was the best i ever have. Hotel staff was excellent and provide a very good service. Food quality and taste was excellent and it was among the BEST. The good thing, the resort has a cafe where you can sit and view the hills and have a quite time if you like.
Its a great to stay here and I must recommend this to everybody. Best resort in Shimla. If you are going to Shimla then Shimla Havens is a perfect place for you & ur family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank satyakamladwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShimlaHavensresort, General Manager at Shimla Havens Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for Taking time to review us on tripadvisor and sharing your experience about Shimla Havens Resort. We are pleased to know that your stay at Shimla Havens was pleasant and services provided were up to the level of your satisfaction.

We are happy to now that you enjoyed the Outdoor activities at the resort along with the Nature walk and your kids enjoyed at Kids zone.Thanks for appreciating our food quality, Room interiors, and the services, this sort of appreciation is the true reward we get from our valued guest and all satisfied guests are our true ambassadors.

Please do visit us again

With warm Regards,

Jyoti Guleria- general Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is one of the most wonderful site I have ever been. The site is little far from Shimla but the route to this place is very adventerous. Once you are there you really feel that you are at such a place which you were in search of from years together. Resort surrounded by pine trees. The morning sun-rise seen is one of the most charming and soothing to the soul. The outdoor amenities (sports) are really worth enjoying & experiencing. The food quality was very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sisodia_786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShimlaHavensresort, General Manager at Shimla Havens Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Mr. Sisodia,

Thanks for Taking time to review us on tripadvisor and sharing your experience about Shimla Havens Resort. We are pleased to know that your stay at Shimla Havens was pleasant and services provided were up to the level of your satisfaction.

Thanks for appreciating the services at Shimla Havens Resort. Please do visit us again we shall be happy to serve you again.

With warm Regards,

Jyoti Guleria- general Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaziabad, Uttar Pradesh, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is an excellent resort with breathtaking surroundings and views. Reaching this hotel is a bit tedious and tricky, especially when you are reaching there by your own vehicle. Sign boards are very few, and we took a lot of wrong turns while reaching to our destination. But once we were there, all our anger disappeared by looking at the reception itself, and once we got into our room, we were more than happy. In fact all the trouble we took to reach the hotel was worth it.
Services and food is good. In fact I will recommend this hotel to everybody who is searching for a resort for its sheer calmness and serene surroundings. Far from the maddening crowd, in actual lap of nature. In fact not very from the city. I had my kids along with me and they enjoyed the kids zone very much.Great value for money. Most recommended

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aashima_Garg_Kaushik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shimla hotels
0.9 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
2.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#10 of 112 in Shimla
1,071 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#16 of 112 in Shimla
485 reviews
2.7 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 112 in Shimla
799 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#2 of 112 in Shimla
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shimla Havens Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shimla Havens Resort

Property: Shimla Havens Resort
Address: Gahan, Summerhill, Shimla 171005, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 112 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shimla Havens Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort has 21 rooms, out of which 4 are garden rooms with personal garden, 8 deluxe rooms with big bay window and valley view, 6 deluxe suites with traditional wooden interiors and 3 presidential suites offering one living room and one master bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shimla Havens Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing