We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Location, Food & Rooms”
Review of Hotel Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Marina
Ranked #15 of 123 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Don't hesitate to ask for deals of you find the place a tad pricey. They have lovely rooms with a fantastic view of the valley. The terrace on the 4th floor is a superb place to hang out over coffee, wine or a meal. The staff is well informed and very well behaved. Usually service and food are the hardest to crack for anyone in the hospitality industry. Marina seems to have been able to do both.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Smriti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 289 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014

I recently traveled to SHIMLA with my family. Stayed at MARINA. Perfect hospitality, nice ambiance, good staff, prompt service and very delicious food. Everything that i ordered was simply wow. The staff was very helping and supportive. Tried different items and different cuisines and was never let down.

WORTH EVERY PENNY SPENT

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rdsingh52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Could not sleep the whole night due to constant noise. Reception service was terrible as internet code was never delivered even after 2 reminders and had to go personally to front desk to collect it. Breakfast service was terrible as tea was not served hot, lack of attention to customers even though the restaurant had just 2 other customers. No umbrella available which from a star rating should have been there. When spoke to the manager he just mentioned that he would look into it. Staff service overall leaves a lot to be desired. Certainly not going back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DannyMumbai1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

i stayed last year around same time . this is a beautiful hotel in shimla its a boutique hotel actually
the food hospitality is the best part of the hotel also the rooms are very nice and the terrace is excelent

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mehtapiyush44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

A very nice experience good ambiance, comfort, and luxurious though a little over budget but if you are in a mood to spend your vacation being pampered then it can be overlooked. The staff is very courteous and ready to serve you. I was apprehensive about the staff as i had read some review about their behavior but i found it baseless. The most enjoyable time of my stay was the restaurant time as their food is lip smacking , and the credit goes to their ex. chef Mr.vashista , his preparation are just too good be it oriental continental indian . I personally complimented him on my last day and again would like to extend my thanks for making my stay memorable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qirahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We had stayed 2nts and 3 days.
Excellent Rooms with great service.Good view from the rooms.They have their private parking and is at a comfortable distance from the main mall road.
Prompt and perfect service.Front office managers are very polite and helpful.
Had a great stay.
A bit expensive but worth it.

Room Tip: I had my room on the 1st floor.It was really good and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amit150781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed in Shimla for 5 days in January 2014. Initially we were staying at Hotel Rajat (5 minutes down the road), but after 2 nights and some very bad service we decided to look for a different hotel.
Hotel Marina is very new and well serviced. Staff are very professional and well presented. The place is not the cheapest around but I felt the value we received was worth it. Although we were travelling as a group of friends, the rooms are of honeymoon level quality, so there should be no complaints about what you find inside. Absolutely brilliant and soooo very comfortable. The showers were amazing. Big enough for a whole family (if that's how you choose to shower) and equipped with a beautiful rain shower nozzle. Unlike most Indian showers, these ones actually have a glass door that closes so water doesn't get all over the bathroom floor and toilet seat etc.
For honey-mooners, this would be a perfect destination. Bathroom was waiting with a bowl of rose petals (standard for all guests), the shower glass has an interesting surprise, and the hotel provided a plate of chocolates (which my wife and I enjoyed very much).
There is a gaming room downstairs, though you have to pay a small fee to use the facilities. There is also a complimentary gym equipped with decent weights and equipment, and there is also a spa if you want to indulge in a massage or body scrub.
The restaurant was okay but I wouldn't say it was the best food I ever ate in India (or the world). Prices for meals were also a little bit expensive. In my opinion their short-coming is that they offer too many types of dishes (both Eastern and Western) and they don't actually specialise in anything.
Location is great. You can enjoy the mountainside view, and the busy part of Mall road is only 10 minutes walking distance.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Malcolm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shimla hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#2 of 123 in Shimla
561 reviews
1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#14 of 123 in Shimla
1,108 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#17 of 123 in Shimla
510 reviews
0.1 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 123 in Shimla
831 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Combermere
Hotel Combermere
#30 of 123 in Shimla
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina

Address: The Mall Shimla, Shimla 171001, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 123 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range: $168 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL MARINA, a luxury boutique hotel located amidst the lush green landscape of Shimla, is a unique property with a rich history. This hundred year old property was considered one of the most prestigious hotels during the British regime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing