We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Shimla”
Review of Hotel Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Marina
Ranked #13 of 112 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best in Shimla”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We had stayed 2nts and 3 days.
Excellent Rooms with great service.Good view from the rooms.They have their private parking and is at a comfortable distance from the main mall road.
Prompt and perfect service.Front office managers are very polite and helpful.
Had a great stay.
A bit expensive but worth it.

Room Tip: I had my room on the 1st floor.It was really good and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amit150781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    111
    26
    13
    8
See reviews for
134
67
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed in Shimla for 5 days in January 2014. Initially we were staying at Hotel Rajat (5 minutes down the road), but after 2 nights and some very bad service we decided to look for a different hotel.
Hotel Marina is very new and well serviced. Staff are very professional and well presented. The place is not the cheapest around but I felt the value we received was worth it. Although we were travelling as a group of friends, the rooms are of honeymoon level quality, so there should be no complaints about what you find inside. Absolutely brilliant and soooo very comfortable. The showers were amazing. Big enough for a whole family (if that's how you choose to shower) and equipped with a beautiful rain shower nozzle. Unlike most Indian showers, these ones actually have a glass door that closes so water doesn't get all over the bathroom floor and toilet seat etc.
For honey-mooners, this would be a perfect destination. Bathroom was waiting with a bowl of rose petals (standard for all guests), the shower glass has an interesting surprise, and the hotel provided a plate of chocolates (which my wife and I enjoyed very much).
There is a gaming room downstairs, though you have to pay a small fee to use the facilities. There is also a complimentary gym equipped with decent weights and equipment, and there is also a spa if you want to indulge in a massage or body scrub.
The restaurant was okay but I wouldn't say it was the best food I ever ate in India (or the world). Prices for meals were also a little bit expensive. In my opinion their short-coming is that they offer too many types of dishes (both Eastern and Western) and they don't actually specialise in anything.
Location is great. You can enjoy the mountainside view, and the busy part of Mall road is only 10 minutes walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Marina for 4 nights around Christmas and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The property exceeded our expectations in all areas. It was modern, clean & very well maintained. The Staff was very courteous and took care of all our requirements quite promptly.
Special thanks to the staff and Mr. Chandel for making our stay such a great experience. I would highly recommend this property to anyone visiting Shimla.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1badcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

we had a bad experience at AAmod shoghi and post that we figured out this hotel. Trust our experience was fantastic with them. very friendly staff, nice rooms, fantastic facility , fantastic room service, fantastic dining ... everything was up to the mark!! and perfect value for money

Room Tip: Try to take rooms on 3rd floor for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hemant_pareek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

The hotel is an excellent choice in Shimla. Great rooms, with all the right amenities, friendly service, really tasty food. But most admirable is the location. This is the only property where you can reach by a car and park it too, that is at the start of Mall Road. Though it is at the heart of the town, the view of the hills from the balcony is quite good. Mall road is the happening place in Shimla and an evening stroll up and down the narrow market lane is a must at Shimla.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Somasundaram L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalandhar, Punjab, India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The best thing about this hotel is its location. It is near to the mall (just 5 to 10 minutes walk) and away from hustle and bustle of the market surrounded by trees. It has its owm parking. The rooms are quite awesome and have the latest gadgetry. The property is new(jusy a year old) and a welcome addition to Shimla. Only flaw you could find was the prices of food items available. The rates were very steep. Overall a nice hotel to stay and to relax....

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gurpreet_Bhatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I have not stayed at this hotel but was contemplating doing the same for April 2014. I sent an initial email asking for rates and was looking at booking 2 rooms for a stay of 2N/3D. They promptly responded within a day mentioning the same rates as was written on the website. Considering I was booking 3 months in advance and was looking at 2 rooms, I dared to ask them if they can get me some better rates (something every traveler does I guess with stay) and they did not respond. The next day I called their office in Shimla and told them that I was waiting to hear back from them before I could make a final call on where to stay. They mentioned they would soon respond but to my surprise, even after 4 days, they did not care to get back to me. Clearly a case of success going on top of their heads where they dont care about the customers since the property is new and maybe sought after for its facilities. I sent them a final reminder but I think its falling on deaf ears. My whole idea of writing this feedback was for the fellow travelers to know how these guys take customer emails and maybe its better to call them if you are keen to spend time in their resort. Its no Hyatt, Cecil, Wildflower, or Taj to be throwing this attitude and those hotels are much more communicative in what they can and cannot accomodate.

Room Tip: Talk to them on phone and do not wait for email responses. They would not come.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kollol1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shimla hotels
1.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#11 of 112 in Shimla
1,074 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
0.2 mi away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#16 of 112 in Shimla
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#2 of 112 in Shimla
500 reviews
1.8 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
0.3 mi away
Hotel Combermere
Hotel Combermere
#27 of 112 in Shimla
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina

Property: Hotel Marina
Address: The Mall Shimla, Shimla 171001, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 112 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL MARINA, a luxury boutique hotel located amidst the lush green landscape of Shimla, is a unique property with a rich history. This hundred year old property was considered one of the most prestigious hotels during the British regime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing