We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Ranked #1 of 123 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2010

An excellent hotel with all that you require to spend a good holiday. We felt at home and the type of service extended was so warming. Nice way to end 2010 for a better 2011. I thank all the staff of Oberoi Cecil for making our holiday a great one. Wish you all a happy new year 2011.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nShyamSundar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Cecil, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your New Year wishes and sparing time to provide your review on Trip Advisor.

Your appreciation of the facilities, services and the team is very motivating. I am pleased that we contributed towards a memorable New Year cecebration.

My team joins me in wishing your families, your dear ones and you the very best for the New Year 2011. We look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Shimla.

Thanks and regards,

Srikant Peri
General Manager
The Oberoi Cecil
E-mail: srikant.peri@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,709)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,556 - 1,562 of 1,709 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2010

Beautiful hotel, friendly efficient staff ,great location.Must try is The Oberoi special spa treatment.The buffet is excellent though they could do with a little more variety.It is such a pleasure to eat in the restaurant because of their excellent service. The swimming pool is beautiful.Will go back again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indian11NewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Cecil, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing time to provide your review on Trip Advisor.

Your appreciation of the facilities, services and the team is very motivating. I am pleased that we contributed towards a memorable holiday. The Restaurant and Spa team are particularly delighted by your appreciation.

I take this opportunity to wish your families, your dear ones and you the very best for the New Year 2011. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Shimla.

Thanks and regards,

Srikant Peri
General Manager
The Oberoi Cecil
E-mail: srikant.peri@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2010

It was our first visit to India and the Oberoi made it extra special. We were a party of 4 and lucky enough to be upgraded to 2 suites with wonderful views and superb service.

The rooms were exceptionally comfortable.
All the staff were attentive yet not over bearing. Their training is obviously of a high standard.
We loved it.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bournemouth186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Cecil, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing time to provide your review on Trip Advisor.

Your appreciation of the facilities, services and the team is very motivating. I am pleased that we contributed towards a memorable holiday.

I take this opportunity to wish your families, your dear ones and you the very best for the festive season and the New Year 2011. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Shimla.

Thanks and regards,

Srikant Peri
General Manager
The Oberoi Cecil
E-mail: srikant.peri@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2010

Oberoi Cecil is one of best 5 star hotels I have stayed in. The hotel is centrally located in Shimla. The reception staff were extremely warm and polite. The check in process took time but it was very well organized. The rooms were the best I have stayed in a long time. They were almost like 2 rooms. Recommended is the spa massage and also the jacuzzi near the swimming pool. The food quality needs some improvement. It was typical 5 star food quality. We had an enjoyable 3 days stay in the Cecil.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saeesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Cecil, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing time to post review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

Your appreciation of our facilities, services and team members is kind and motivating. I thank you for it.

I have made note of your comment regarding the time taken in completing the check in procedure. I will work with the team on making it swifter and less intrusive.

We endeavor to provide a mix of international and local delicacies along with home style items on our menu. I will have the Chefs relook at the menu to make it more interesting and less typical.

I look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Shimla and take this opportunity to wish you the very best for the festive season and the New Year 2011.

Thanks and regards,

Srikant Peri
General Manager
The Oberoi Cecil
E-mail: srikant.peri@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

We recently stayed at the Cecil Oberoi on our first trip to India. On arrival we were up-graded to a suite with fantastic views over the valley.The hotel staff went over and beyond to make our stay special and nothing was too much trouble for them. Although a little pricey this hotel was worth every penny and we wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nettytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Cecil, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you sparing time to provide your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

Your appreciation of the team is motivating and we are pleased that we could provide value for the price paid by you.

I look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Shimla.

Thanks and regards,

Srikant Peri
General Manager
The Oberoi Cecil
E-mail: srikant.peri@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

when you walk into the bar area of the cecil you really feel like part of history
it is quite spectacular and makes a great first impression
sadly i wasnt staying in one of the rooms in this area
i had a room in a different block with a lovely view of the back of the swimming pool block with a small sliver of shimla - that said it was a nice large room and very comfortable and clean - when the lady took us to our rooms she explained to not leave the balcony doors open as monkeys and flying foxes come into the rooms!
the staff are all very friendly and attentive and the service they provide is good
the food was all what you would expect
the pool/spa area was nice but a bit of a trek - hot tub was very hot
i do have a couple of bad points about this hotel...
1 - it seems to have 2 separate parts - the old bit and new bit and they arent built on the same levels - they are half a floor apart and serviced by separate lifts so to get from our bit we had a fiddly journey down some stairs round the corner to a lift for the new bit
2 - the location of the hotel is strange in relation to shimla - there is a bottom road with a lift at one end of shimla going up to the main part that is all pedistrianised
the hotel is the opposite end to the lift half way between the two levels so you either have a half hour uphill walk to get to the centre, a much longer down hill walk to the lift or to get one of the hotel cars at 232rps to drop you off at the lift - the hotel is in an area that cant be accessed by normal cars so our driver had to leave the car we had arranged in the hotel garage that was a 20 minute walk away
its a great hotel to stay in to see shimla and this shouldnt put you off as 232rps isnt much but it is worth knowing before you go

i had stayed at the oberoi wildflower hall just before coming here and i think it seemed like the poor relation in comparison - but the wildflower isnt in a great location to see shimla

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iceland_poppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Cecil, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing time and providing a most descriptive review of our hotel.

The Oberoi Cecil is indeed a celebration of the elegance and grace of the Colonial era in the Queen of Hill Stations. Built in 1884 and located in the majestic Himalayan ranges, The Oberoi Cecil is very much a part of Shimla’s colonial history. The hotel has been restored to its original grandeur with wood floors, period furniture, and an inviting ambience.

Your appreciation of the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff, the food and the pool/ spa area is a source of motivation.

The hotel comprises of two blocks connected to each other. Elevator access to rooms of the two blocks is indeed independent as observed by you. The block in which accommodation was provided to you was once the residence of the famed author Rudyard Kipling. Rooms in this block are larger and most rooms provide views of Shimla across the Himalayan valley.

Being a heritage properties there have been restrictions and challenges with respect to the alterations permitted in the structure. Seamless elevator access is one of the main challenges as experienced by you whilst accessing your room and the pool/ spa area.

The Oberoi Cecil, as noted by you, is on the quieter end of The Mall. Vehicular access is restricted to the Mall and prohibited on the main promenade itself. Hence, the options are to take a 25 minute walk or approach the Mall or take a car to the public elevator. The charges and the experience have been outlined by you.

The Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas is a spa and adventure resort operated and managed by the Oberoi Group. The Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas and The Oberoi Cecil, each offer unique experiences to its guests. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas.

Feedback from guest is most valuable to us and I once again thank you for your detailed review. I look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Shimla.

Thanks and regards,

Srikant Peri
General Manager
The Oberoi Cecil
E-mail: srikant.peri@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Well this was one of the best holidays I had with my wife and Children. The view was awsome. The Toy train can be seen through passing through trees from the Room Window. The antique wood work inside the hotel and it's room gives it a top class look, also the hospitality offered by the hotel staff its top class

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vinish1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Cecil, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2010

Dear Guest,

I thank you for sparing time and posting a revew of your stay at The Oberoi Cecil on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased that my team and I could create memorable experiences on your family holiday. Your appreciation motivates us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Shimla.

Thanks and regards,

Srikant Peri
General Manager
The Oberoi Cecil
E-mail: srikant.peri@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shimla
1.3 mi away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#2 of 123 in Shimla
559 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#14 of 123 in Shimla
1,107 reviews
5.6 mi away
Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
1.4 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 123 in Shimla
829 reviews
4.9 mi away
Marigold Sarovar Portico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla

Address: Advanced Study Road, Shimla 171004, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Shimla
#1 Spa Hotel in Shimla
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shimla
#1 Business Hotel in Shimla
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shimla
Price Range: $190 - $592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in Shimla, the gateway to the majestic Himalayas. Downtown Hotel with Colonial styling, 1 km from Shimla Station & 22 km from Jubalhatti-Shimla Airport. The Hotel is situated at the quite end of the famous Mall and is an ideal base from which to discover the unique beauty of the spectacular Himalayan ranges, Cedar forests and ancient monasteries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Cecil - Shimla Hotel Shimla
Oberoi Shimla
Shimla Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing