We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Masterpiece - Created and managed by Oberoi Group”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Ranked #1 of 112 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The Masterpiece - Created and managed by Oberoi Group”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed there for our honeymoon. Along with Wildflower Hall (An Oberoi Resort) in Mashobra, Simla, we stayed in Cecil for 4 nights.

Wonderful is not the word. Large rooms for a hill resort, awesome wooden atrium, Grand Piano, Friendly Saree Clad Oberoi Infectious smile Staff, Indoor Pool, Overlooking the beautiful Valley and the Toy Train Narrow Gauge line passing just below the hotel.

We loved each and every part of our stay there..


Once an Oberoi Fan , as always an Oberoi Fan....

Love and Prayers

Sandra and Me


P.S - Did not have an option to fill in an earlier date of travel hence filled in the earliest available date as per the site... We visited in the month of April....

Room Tip: Higher Rooms, Valley Facing...Awesomeness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RohitRajBeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as guests and celebrating such a wonderful occasion with us. Thank you for your words of appreciation. We look forward to having you at The Oberoi Cecil again in the near future.

Warm Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,272
    237
    42
    10
    9
See reviews for
487
633
58
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thrissur, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I actually wrote a review for The Wildflower hotel, Oberoi under the Oberoi Cecil review by mistake earlier.
If you're looking for a good hotel around the city then The Cecil is the place to stay. With reliable Oberoi brand you can't go wrong. I stayed here three years back and found the place to be good for exploring the town. It's at the end of the mall road where vehicular traffic isn't allowed just past the hotel. Rooms are fairly large and well appointed with good sized, clean rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yasir74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is wonderful to read that you have experienced both our hotels in Shimla, The Oberoi Cecil and Wildflower Hall in Mashobra. Our location is indeed very central and is in the heart of Colonial Shimla. Taking a walk either side of the hotel is like having a glimpse into the past and into the rich history of this town. I thank you for your patronage.

Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

This is the best hotel I have ever stayed in! Room, service, food and facilities - all perfect! The staff were all so polite and attentive. The spa was extremely well appointed and the treatment first class. Stayed three nights, but wish it had been longer.

Room Tip: A room at the front, although next to the road, would give you a view of the Himalyas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myfi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I am happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Oberoi Cecil. I have shared your feedback with our spa team, for whom it has been a great source of motivation.

Warm regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

An amazing hotel,it was very cold so to be greeted with mugs of hot chocolate and very friendly staff were shown to our suite at the front of the Hotel, advised not to open windows as the monkeys would cause utter havoc . Housekeeping staff were so kind as when our cases were brought to our room discovered some clothing had got wet on the roof rack during the journey, their prompt action dealing with this enabled the laundry staff to return the clothing clean and dry promptly. The views took your breath away the dining room staff were wonderful I have a disability they were discreet but supportive. Food plenty of choice Indian English if unsure what to have Chef would advise. Spa Staff excellent Would Highly Recommend to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muriel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Front Office Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Our team here at The Oberoi Cecil strives hard every day to ensure that they are well looked after. We thank you for taking out time and experiencing the hotel facilities and services. Your words of gratitude towards the team specially the laundry staff will motivate them to endeavor in maintaining high standards. We look forward for an opportunity to welcome you back to this Grand Heritage Hotel

Warm Regards,
Kee Woon Lee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Superb. Luxury standards on all levels without feeling stuffy. Excellent staff throughout and food of a very high standard. We upgraded at the last minute and the hotel gave us a fabulous deal for a huge suite with a terrace and view of the valley and Himalayas. It had everything you could want and more. This hotel does everything in style but has the balance right between luxury, privacy and warmth. Shimla is a delight with the friendliest locals, Wake and Bake café is a gem but whether on the Mall or in the lower bazaars you’ll find welcoming gentle people pleased to see you. If staying in Shimla we would recommend staying at The Cecil and you won’t regret it, you’ll be a welcome guest and will remember your stay for years to come. Don't miss the opportunity to take the 'toy train' to Shimla it's spectacular.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tartanp00dle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Front Office Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Taking a toy train and reaching Shimla is indeed an experience. Being a small town, it gives guests opportunity to explore as well as relax. It is a delight to hear that you liked the room overlooking the splendid views of the valley from the balcony. The team and I are delighted that we were able to make your stay comfortable and memorable. We look forward to welcome you back to this lovely town and The Oberoi Cecil.

Warm Regards,
Kee Woon Lee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

When you walk into the Oberoi Cecil you know that the visit will be memorable.

The rooms are on several floors around an atrium. You look down to the bar and lounge. The rooms are large and well appointed.

The restaurant serves both buffet style and a la carte meals. The service is impeccable.

The onlt problem we found was that our room was quite cold in the evening - the transition from winter heating to summer cooling. However when under the bedclothes all was warm.

The hotel does have some sort of problem with the electricity supply - but this is only a small matter.

Can recommend the Cecil unhesitatingly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 558JohnP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Front Office Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Guests,

We thank you for your recommendation and are pleased to note that we were able to make your stay both enjoyable and memorable. Rooms are built around a beautiful atrium and offer splendid views of the valleys and mountains. Temperature in the room can be controlled through individual thermostat placed in each room. I am also glad to note that you were happy with the food and service at the restaurant.

Warm Regards,
Kee Woon Lee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

This hotel has a huge amount of character, renovated to it's former grandeur and in a great location within the great location of Shimla itself. Other hotels in the world have great locations, other hotels are as nicely built, but the outstanding feature of the Cecil is the staff. You felt that nothing would be too much trouble, they were completely attentive to your needs from the minute you entered to the minute you left without being intrusive or obsequious in any way. I have never stayed anywhere where I felt that the staff looked after you as well as they did here. The food was excellent as well!

Room Tip: Stay at this hotel, you will not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisLee1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Front Office Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us at The Oberoi Cecil and we thank you for sharing your feedback at Trip Advisor. Built in the year 1884, the hotel was reopened in 1997 and restored to its original grandeur with wood floors, period furniture, crackling fires and an inviting ambience. I am glad to note that you liked the food and your words of appreciation for the team will inspire them to strive for excellence to exceed guest’s expectations.

Warm Regards,
Kee Woon Lee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shimla
1.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#10 of 112 in Shimla
1,059 reviews
1.3 mi away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#4 of 112 in Shimla
484 reviews
5.6 mi away
Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 112 in Shimla
794 reviews
0.5 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
1.3 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#11 of 112 in Shimla
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla

Property: The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Address: Advanced Study Road, Shimla 171004, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Shimla
#1 Family Hotel in Shimla
#1 Spa Hotel in Shimla
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shimla
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in Shimla, the gateway to the majestic Himalayas. Downtown Hotel with Colonial styling, 1 km from Shimla Station & 22 km from Jubalhatti-Shimla Airport. The Hotel is situated at the quite end of the famous Mall and is an ideal base from which to discover the unique beauty of the spectacular Himalayan ranges, Cedar forests and ancient monasteries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Cecil - Shimla Hotel Shimla
Oberoi Shimla
Shimla Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing