We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Ranked #1 of 112 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“An oasis of luxury”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I love this hotel. This was my second visit and it did not disappoint. Visitors are greeted by impeccably trained staff who do not seem to see how sweaty, crumpled, dirty and tired the guests are as they arrive. The check-in (accompanied by a cool white towel and cold drink) is done with a minimum delay and without fuss. After just 30 minutes in my immaculately clean, bright and well-appointed room I was a new woman. I do love travelling in India - but I do find it tiring. Oberoi hotels never let you down and the Cecil is one of the best. I don't care about the lack of a view - although the one from my room was pretty good, there is enough to do in `Shimla that all you need to do in your room is relax and recoup. The spa treatments are excellent and well-priced. My meals were delicious, although some of the group complained their meal was cold - these were replaced immediately - and with a smile. One of the group was not well and the hotel could not have done more to make them comfortable and ensure they had everything they needed. I would love to criticise them but I can't.

Room Tip: No need to worry - all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geebee9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Front Office Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was indeed a great pleasure to have you stay with us at your home in Shimla. The Oberoi Cecil is an ideal base to travel around Shimla and act as a getaway place for guest to relax and invigorate. We thank you for taking out time and using the facilities of the hotel. We look forward for your continued patronage to your abode in future.

Warm Regards,
Kee Woon Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,272
    237
    42
    10
    9
See reviews for
487
633
58
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for two nights in February as part of a tour of India with Great Railway Journeys. A pleasant surprise when we checked in was to be upgraded to a suite. The room was fabulous, a large sitting room, bedroom and amazing bathroom. Plus a large balcony with truly amazing views, I would be very surprised if there was a better room in this wonderful hotel.
The food was very good, plenty of choice of Indian specialities. The hotel is well placed for the centre of Shimla being a short walk from the Main Street.
The staff were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble, I would recommend the hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Room facing the views of the valley below
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cloughie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Front Office Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is indeed a great experience to arrive reach Shimla in a toy train passing through narrow gauge and numerous tunnels. I am glad to hear that you liked the suite and view from the balcony. Thank you so much for your positive comments about the food and variety. Your encouraging word for the team and recommendation is much appreciated.

Warm Regards,
Kee Woon Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

It seems rather mean to say anything bad about this hotel and its first rate staff. They were all impeccably trained and also encourgaed to express their own personalities - charming, kind and delightful. However, despite all the good comments it fully deserves we were rather disappointed to find that it is not, in fact, a restored heritage building but actually a modern pastiche. It has a vast atrium lounge but no views and no garden outside. The restaurant has a few tables with views and the south side of the building looks out over the beautiful valley, but some rooms - luxurious though they are - had very limited or no views at all.

Room Tip: South side for good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parrot_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Front Office Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time and sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are grateful for your appreciation of the services provided by the team. Your words of appreciation will go a long way to motivate them to continue to deliver high level of service to all our guests.

The Oberoi Cecil is indeed a Grand Heritage hotel and a part of Shimla’s rich colonial history. Built in the year 1884 as a Himalayan hill station, the hotel has been extensively renovated and reopened in 1997. The rooms are built around a beautiful atrium and offers splendid views of mountains and valleys. The hotel is situated on Chaura Maidan and has been restored in its original grandeur with wood floors, periodic furniture and inviting ambience.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and hope to have you with us again in near prospect.

Warm Regards,
Kee Woon Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We loved our 3 night stay here. The room was excellent, just a little noise from the road below otherwise 5 star all the way.
The buffet evening meal was a great choice especially if you asked for the optional menu which offered different regional dishes.
Rooms were big, well furnished with desk & 30mins wifi daily, power cuts were annoying but brief.
Bar service & snacks very good, newspaper to room & other services were faultless.
thoroughly recommended

graham gifford

Room Tip: third floor upwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g4pfk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Front Office Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to host you and the Riviera group as our guests. It is our endeavor is to offer excellent accommodation, food and prompt service to all our guests. We are pleased to hear that you liked the facilities and services provided by us.

I have noted your feedback with regards to the noise from the road below and brief power cuts during your stay. Our engineering team will certainly work upon sound proofing of windows to minimize noise. We do receive erratic power supply at times and the diesel generator is programmed to start automatically after 10 seconds of power failure.

We look forward for an opportunity to welcome you back to The Oberoi Cecil and Shimla.

Warm Regards,
Kee Woon Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel
Level Contributor
310 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was fabulous. The hotel was amazing, our room was beautiful, the food was fantastic but he best part where the staff who were so friendly and attentive.
The position is about a 10 minute walk from the main shopping centre but it was very peaceful and relaxing.
The only (very minor) complaint is that the bar shut at 11pm but other than that this is a superb place to stay and highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hardwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Front Office Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time and sharing your feedback. I am glad that The Oberoi Cecil served as an ideal base for you to travel around Shimla. We are pleased to hear that you liked the room, food and services provided by our team which is our core strength.

As a hotel we do not have license to serve liquor beyond 10.45 pm hence we close down the bar area after 11 pm. We do hope to have you with us in near future.

Warm Regards,
Kee Woon Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2014

we stayed in this lovely hotel for 3 days and were very sad to leave. the friendly staff made my birthday celebrations one of the most memorable. the rooms were large and very well equipped. the food was exquisite. Shimla itself is a beautiful place, well worth exploring as it is relatively clean with no pestering hawkers. all the staff team made us feel welcome in a genuine fashion. it is one of my most favourite hotels ever.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank adrian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Front Office Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Shimla is an ideal holiday destination and I am glad to note that we were able to make your stay a memorable one. Thank you for listing The Oberoi Cecil as one of your favorite hotels.

Warm Regards,
Kee Woon Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

As the conclusion of Riviera Travel’s ‘Shimla extension’ tour of northern India my wife and I stayed at the Oberoi Cecil for three days in early April 2014. Shimla – and this hotel – were the highlight of this fabulous tour for us, and if I were to compare the Cecil to any other hotel in our experience it would be London’s Savoy of the early 1990’s (before the Savoy was ‘modernised’, or – some would say – ‘mucked up’). That is not to say that the Cecil is not modern, for it is, perfectly, but as a former hill-station of the Raj it retains that style, that elegance and the attention to period detail which make it special and extraordinary, a jewel set in the breath-taking scenery of the Himalayan foothills.

You can read about the Cecil’s facilities elsewhere, but you won’t find them lacking. Our room – though not one of those with a mountain view (you can always step outside for that) – was a large and comfortable suite. Polished dark-wood floors; magnificent bed; a desk; a separate dressing room; ample bathroom, and above all a separate sitting room with balcony; these all contributed to our feeling of luxury and space at the end of a tour which had been physically challenging as we dashed pell-mell around northern India taking in as much as was humanly possible of this colourful region.

The Cecil’s food - wide choice at breakfast, and we went for the buffet at dinner - cannot be faulted. (I am not a fan of Indian Merlot, but that is no fault of the hotel). The staff, always attentive though never intrusive, seemed to have been transported from a previous period in time when the customer came first: any of them could be immediately slotted into any of the most demanding hotels of the world. And of course this is Shimla, reachable in five hours from Kalka via the narrow-gauge railway (unmissable), with the climate that seduced generations of officials, soldiers and hangers-on escaping from the heat of the plains. Some say the walk from the Cecil into town takes 30 minutes: we would say it’s more like 25, and there’s plenty en route to entertain you. (Be careful of the monkeys: though they usually like to sit and watch the passers-by they are skilled pickpockets, and anyone who leaves a window open is asking to have their camera or spectacles nicked).

So we would like to give all at the Cecil a Thank You for giving us so wonderful and memorable a stay. This is a top-notch hotel in a top-notch place. Namaste to you all.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Front Office Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

The Oberoi Cecil is 130 years old grand heritage building and is an integral part of Shimla’s tradition. Toy train ride to Shimla is quite an experience in itself with breath taking scenic beauty which was originally built to connect Shimla once the summer capital of British Raj.

Our team here make certain that all our guests are well looked after and endeavors to make guest’s stay both enjoyable and memorable. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and I am glad to note that you have enjoyed your meals with us. It was indeed a pleasure to play as a host to you and the Riviera Group. Your kind words and praise for the hotel and team is much appreciated.

Warm Regards,
Kee Woon Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shimla
1.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#10 of 112 in Shimla
1,059 reviews
1.3 mi away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#4 of 112 in Shimla
484 reviews
5.6 mi away
Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 112 in Shimla
794 reviews
0.5 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
1.3 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#11 of 112 in Shimla
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla

Property: The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Address: Advanced Study Road, Shimla 171004, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Shimla
#1 Family Hotel in Shimla
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shimla
#1 Business Hotel in Shimla
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in Shimla, the gateway to the majestic Himalayas. Downtown Hotel with Colonial styling, 1 km from Shimla Station & 22 km from Jubalhatti-Shimla Airport. The Hotel is situated at the quite end of the famous Mall and is an ideal base from which to discover the unique beauty of the spectacular Himalayan ranges, Cedar forests and ancient monasteries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Cecil - Shimla Hotel Shimla
Oberoi Shimla
Shimla Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing