We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Marina(Shimla)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$136
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$99
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$66
$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$95
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
$62
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapil Hotel(Shimla)(Great Value!)
$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,827)
Filter reviews
1,827 results
Traveler rating
1,510
251
45
11
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,510
251
45
11
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor poolchef rajgreat rail journeyscentral atriumgolden trianglesteam roomwildflower halltoy trainfabulous hotelnorthern indiadressing roomviceregal lodgeold world charmthe general managerrestaurant staffactivity roomheritage property
Filter
Updating list...
1,204 - 1,209 of 1,827 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

The Oberoi Cecil is a 130 year old property which takes u back in the colonial times . It's rich Burma teak flooring and overall grandeur is very inviting . The staff is ever so courteous and pampers one to the hilt!! They went our of their way arranging a bath tub for my baby and preparing special meals for her. All the meals in the hotel were a delightful experience.
Spa was better than Udaivilas . The pool and jacuzzi are great.Evenings were good fun with beautiful piano playing in the lobby. Bathrooms need an upgrade.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank guptaratika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience. It does take a lot to maintain the grand heritage of this beautiful hotel and the team and I are lucky to be a part of this process. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests. I am happy to read that the team could help you enjoy your stay with us.

Warm Regards
Arpit Pant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed here for three nights, but wish it could have been longer. There is nothing we could fault. The service was second to none, our room was spacious and well appointed, and the food was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble for the well trained, helpful and professional staff. We also enjoyed using the indoor swimming pool and the Spa. The "Hot Stone" and "Oberoi" massages were wonderful. Three nights was definitely not long enough!

Room Tip: Do not open your windows - the monkeys may pay you a visit!!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meg055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you with us and I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your three days in Shimla and at The Oberoi Cecil. We certainly look forward to an opportunity of having you with us again in the near future.

Regards
Arpit Pant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Stayed at this hotel as part of our trip with Great Rail Journeys and what a beautiful hotel, we had lovely rooms with tea and coffee facilities, flat screen TV, DVD Player, in room safe and a minibar, (chargeable), there is a shower and bath, a newspaper and bottled water supplied daily, they have a lovely indoor heated pool and a fitness centre with spa and gym facilities, the food was superb and the service was second to none, the staff were always busy cleaning and making sure everything was tidy. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

It was wonderful to play host's to you and the Great Rail Journey's group at The Oberoi Cecil. Thank you for your kind comments and praise for the hotel.

Warm Regards
Arpit Pant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The Oberoi Group has two properties , one the OBEROI GRAND in KOLKATTA and THE OBEROI CECIL SHIMLA , both in my considered opinion should be declared as heritage properties. The only other city you get to see such interiors are the super deluxe old world charm hotels in London. Superb location , well stocked bar , excellent food but above all very good service and top quality senior management.
The hotel staff goes out of its way to personalise your stay.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRAMODKRISHNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have met you during your stay at The Oberoi Cecil. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel product and our services. The Obero Cecil is indeed a Grand Heritage hotel and it is a matter of great pride for all of us working at the hotel to be part of such legacy. We look forward to more visits from you in the near future.

Regards
Arpit Pant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The hotel was really nice and well placed to do whatever you wished in Shimla by foot or by taxi. The exterior woodwork could do with a spot of paint however. The staff were fantastic and eager to help and please the guests. An example is that when we arrived there was a cake in our room as it was my 60th birthday. There was a slight mix up as the cake was mixed up with another couple who were celebrating their Golden Wedding - but it tasted nice anyway. Staff often helped the less able guests by carrying their food back to the table. The food was exceptional - it might seem a simple thing but the naan bread was consistently head and shoulders above anywhere else we stayed in India. The gym was small but adequate. It had a reasonably sized pool but the water was too was too hot for, although other guests seemed to like it. The hotel is a bit of a maze so are you up for a challenge?

If you are planning a trip to Shimla and looking for a great hotel, you need look no further.

Room Tip: This hotel is pretty much at the top of a hill, so most rooms will provide a good view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripperLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you with us on your visit to Shimla. Thank you for your kind comments. I am happy to note that the food and service at the hotel impressed you and you were able to enjoy the facilities. We woulddefinitely work on your constructive feedback. Your reccomendation means a lot to us.

Regards
Arpit Pant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews