We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Ranked #1 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful service”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

If you go to Shimla, stay at this hotel. The rooms are large, tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The indoor swimming pool is exceptionally clean and warm. The buffet food in the restaurant fresh and very good. Service is exceptional.
Whilst in Shimla do have a tour of the Gaiety Theatre, Viceregal Lodge, and the Sanket Monchat Temple, (Monkey Temple) but make sure you remove your glasses, the monkeys will take them, honestly.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Essexexplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your time in Shimla and your stay at The Oberoi Cecil. We are most grateful for your recommendation.

Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,247
    237
    41
    10
    8
See reviews for
471
628
56
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We had a wonderful 3 days here. The staff were kind and extremely attentive. The food was delicious, the swimming pool and general spa area beautiful.
The views from our room were amazing and our room luxurious and every need catered for.We would recommend anyone to stay here again and again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindsey61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review and recommendation. We at the hotel are delighted to read that we could make your stay memorable.

Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

From the moment one arrives to a welcome mug of hot chocolate, to one's farewell, 'See you again', nothing is too much trouble.
Most of the rooms are around a central atrium where there is seating and a bar. The rooms are very well appointed, traditional style, with the Oberoi's divine pillows. (There is a supplement for the valley view.) The restaurant has a good value buffet dinner and à la carte.
All staff are well trained, charming and almost over helpful. On my recent visit, a big Bollywood star was in house but the staff were discrete and professional. It is always a pleasure to stay here
.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlyingTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

The team and I thank you for such a wonderful review. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests.

Warm Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My husband and I stayed for a night with our 2 kids (aged 8 and 3) in January 2014. The kids enjoyed the activity centre thoroughly (they have lots of stuff to do for kids of all ages) and all of us enjoyed the warm pool and Jacuzzi in the cold weather!! The room faced the valley and was beautiful and tastefully decorated.. the hotel has a nice old world british feel to it with all the wooden interiors and dark green carpeting etc.
The only area of improvement in the hotel would be the dinner - there wasn't enough variety in the buffet and the food was just average. Considering so many kids were staying in the hotel at the time, there should have been more kid friendly food in the buffet, and tastewise also the hotel could do better considering it is one of the best hotels in Shimla..
Overall it was a nice experience and would love to visit again with my family!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psachdev10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was great to have you and the family stay with us at The Oberoi Cecil. I am happy to learn that the young ones thoroughly enjoyed the activity center and the swimming pool area and that this enabled you to have some time and relax. I have also taken a note on your feedback on the buffet variety. Please be rest assured that we are already working on the same and have introduced daily specials. I am confident that on your next visit you would find the change.

Warm regards

Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Travelled to Shimla in Sept 2013 and stayed for 2 nights at Oberoi cecil. We truly loved this Oberoi Property. Location is extremely convenient. The staff was really friendly and helpful just like one expects Oberoi staff to be! The rooms are spacious and comfortable.

The view from our room was lovely and the day we reached it rained and so we were happy to see the clouds entering our room ! We really enjoyed the beauty of Shimla from the resturant since it had some spectactular views while ofcourse having a lavish breakfast!

Sure to visit the hotel when next in Shimla.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Yatrika09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a great review. The town pre and post rains is indeed at its best giving a real feel of being the Queen of Hills. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed the hotel and facilities available and that the team made you feel comfortable. We look forward to more visits from you.

Regards
Arpit pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

I truly loved this hotel. I visited it as part of a Great Train Journey tour in January 2014 and I couldn't have asked for better. I couldn't fault anything, the service was superb, the furnishings were excellent and the setting brilliant. I stayed in several ITC hotels after this one and nothing compared.

Room Tip: Double rooms have a walk in wardrobe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nannaanne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was an absolute pleasure having you and the other members of the group as our guests. I am happy to read that your stay was comfortable.

Warm Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

My first visit to The Oberoi Cecil was in summer 2011 with my family and we've been here twice after that, and there's something about this hotel that keeps us coming back over and over again.

Going from Delhi to Shimla, this hotel is superbly located - it comes right at the entrance of Shimla and you don't have to go through the craziness of the town's traffic to get there. They also have a spacious parking at a lower level than the hotel, where we parked for the entire duration of our, and the hotel's car came to fetch us from there to take us to Cecil.

The rooms are cosy and comfortable. The suite is really spacious, and has a tiny balcony as well. The bathrooms are well appointed with Forest Essentials toiletries, and are nice overall, except for the lack of two essentials in an Indian bathroom - a health faucet and an exhaust fan!

I'd like to point out that mattresses are rather soft, and being used to hard mattresses, I don't usually get as restful a sleep as I would like. I don't know if they have an option for a harder mattress.

The swimming pool is a big one, and being indoors, is even acessible on the coldest of days. There aren't any changing rooms however, just a small area with a wooden partition.

The spa here can be better considering it's an Oberoi hotel. I've had better spa experiences elsewhere.

The ambience of the hotel is very pleasing all over - be it the entrance, the lobby, the restaurant or the swimming pool and spa areas. It's full of light, beautiful furniture, a lot of old world, Victorian charm.

Breakfast is a large buffet spread with a multitude of dishes of various cuisines. Dinner too is a buffet, and an option for a la carte as well.

What I like best about Cecil, however, is their service. The people make the place. They've always made us feel right at home, with an ever friendly smile and willingness to help. The restaurant staff is especially worthy of mention, as they are so warm and gracious in the way they serve, as if we were their own family or friends. One has to just look up from the table and someone is there to listen. This trait follows through in everybody in the hotel staff.

Staying here is a bit on the expensive side, but it always feels well worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Apurva V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your time and the detailed experience of your visit that you have shared. Your continued patronage of The Oberoi Cecil is of immense value to all of us. We do have options of firm mattress and on your next visit we shall be happy to provide you with the same. It is great to read that we have been able to provide you with consistent and friendly service over the years. I look forward to meeting you againg on your next trip.

Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shimla
5.6 mi away
Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas
1.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#10 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
1.3 mi away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#3 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#4 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#12 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla

Property: The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Address: Advanced Study Road, Shimla 171004, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Shimla
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shimla
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shimla
#1 Business Hotel in Shimla
#1 Spa Hotel in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in Shimla, the gateway to the majestic Himalayas. Downtown Hotel with Colonial styling, 1 km from Shimla Station & 22 km from Jubalhatti-Shimla Airport. The Hotel is situated at the quite end of the famous Mall and is an ideal base from which to discover the unique beauty of the spectacular Himalayan ranges, Cedar forests and ancient monasteries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Cecil - Shimla Hotel Shimla
Oberoi Shimla
Shimla Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing