We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Ranked #1 of 112 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
kerala
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Splendid Hotel!”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I have taken this trip inspired by a Biography on M S Oberoi, the legendary Hotelier. I must have read it at least 6 months back and I have set my eyes on Shimla since then. Staying at Cecil was a good experience and I loved every minute of it. Spa was brilliant and the restaurant was with great service - though i had opted for In Room dining for my meals except breakfast. The rooms were of no great view as its facing the road below. They also have rooms facing the valley which will be great. A very hands on General Manager of the Hotel has provided with a book on the walking trails in Shimla and it was a source of great help for my Walk through the Mall area on the following day. Walking trip is brilliant and with all the chaos one see on the lower Shimla, you are suddenly taken by surprise by the way they have kept it clean in the Mall area. It's a beautiful area and the shopping is excellent.

All in all, it was all worth a visit to Shimla and to the excellent Cecil Hotel.

Room Tip: Room with a valley view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinvid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Shimla is a historic town and more so for us. I am glad that you enjoyed your time at The Oberoi Cecil. Walking around is a great way to see and feel the colonial history of this place. Short walks to different corners of the town enables one to get a real taste of the culture of this melting pot. We do hope to have you again with us.

Warm regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,298
    238
    42
    11
    9
See reviews for
506
640
58
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

The reputation of the cecil precedes it. It is thought by many to be the best hotel in Shimla. Well I can say by personal experience that this is not the case. For a hotel which set us back Rs.27000 for a two night stay, most things could have been a lot better. To begin with the most important thing in any hotel - the rooms. They are small, really small but the bathrooms are smaller. An average sleeping experience with great but again overpriced food. However, it also has some plus points. The hotel is beautifully built and furnished with tasteful furniture and artwork. The food, as mentioned earlier, especially the breakfast is exceptional and the breakfast includes a plethora of cuisines. The pool and gym are also good. All in all, though I think you would be better off choosing a different hotel, as the prices and the corresponding services will always leave you somewhat unsatisfied.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank muditgoel304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I regret that the room at the hotel was not to your liking. I wrote to you to seek some information on your date of visit and the kind of room or the room number you stayed in. I am eager to get more information as it would help us work on improvements. As the hotel is a heritage building some of our rooms differ from others in nature. Your inputs on the room and other aspects of your stay would be helpful. You may also write to me at arpit.pant@oberoihotels.com

I am happy to read that you enjoyed the decor of the hotel, the food and the facilities. I request you to let me know when you are traveling to Shimla next as we would like to have you stay with us again and give us the opportunity to restore your faith.

Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

One of the very best run and managed hotels I have ever visited. The staff are very well dressed and uniforms are provided by this hotel. Every one specks excellent English and your wish is their command. Guest comfort is their motto and they have staff meeting every day. Staff work in shifts and before new shift takes over they are explained of any changes that have taken place.
Food is excellent and well presented. Rooms are spacious and very modern.I loved thee days We spent in this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pratibha46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback. Our team at the hotel is our strength and we strive hard to ensure our guests go back with pleasant memories. I am glad that the hotel, food and services were to your liking. We do hope to have you with us again in the near future.

Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Without a doubt a very good hotel. Service and food are excellent. It is ideally located to do powerful walks. The SPA, Gym and pool are very good too.I really like the hotel policy that you do not have to tip every time to everybody and you can handle that at the end of the stay, with this, you can really evaluate the service.

Room Tip: Top rooms with view to the valley must be the best ones, we got one ample corner room with view to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is great to know that you enjoyed your trip to Shimla and your stay at The Oberoi Cecil. Thank you so much for a wonderful feedback.

Warm Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This was our second stay at the Cecil, and once again we were amazed by the consistently high level of service demonstrated by the employees. From the top-notch group at the front desk to the attentive and friendly restaurant staff, from the pleasant and responsive housekeeping crew to the soothing ministrations of the spa masseuse, everything was as it should be in a world-class hotel. The attention to detail here is extraordinary, beginning with the welcoming hot chocolate at check-in and ending with the charming curbside farewell upon departure. In between, we received almost constant monitoring to make sure that all our needs were met. My husband and I are frequent travelers, at home in the US and abroad, and have stayed in more hotels than I care to remember. The Oberoi Cecil, in our opinion, sets the standard for excellence in hotel service.

We chose to stay at the Cecil during our first trip to Shimla because of its location. It's about a 15- minute walk to where the Mall Road shopping area begins at the Himachal Emporium (fair trade, state handicrafts). In the opposite direction, the Viceregal Lodge is approximately 10 minutes away; for 65 rupees you can get a tour of an interesting historical site plus access to the grounds. Neither walk is particularly strenuous, but you'll get a nice little bit of cardio workout going uphill and downhill at that altitude.

Room Tip: Make (or try asking for) the room upgrade. A premier valley view room on one of the upper floors is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marfitann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is always a pleasure to have our patron's coming back. Thank you for such a wonderful feedback and it is great to know that The Oberoi Cecil is one of your favorite hotels. We hope to have continued visits from you.

Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Our experience at the Oberoi Cecil was fantastic right from the start. They picked us up at the train station and provided a baby seat for our 3 month old child. Our room was big and spacious and they also provided a crib and moved it where we wanted it. We were traveling with my father-in-law and we would have liked adjoining rooms which were not provided but our rooms were next to each other. The service was excellent and the food/room service was fantastic. The pool was the highlight though. So beautiful! The only other thing I would have changed was the view from our room, we got the street view and of course the mountainview would have been spectacular.

Room Tip: We had a very spacious corner room but it was quite noisy as the windows were not sound proof and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aichaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am happy to read that the hotel, facilities and the team were able to make your stay with us at The Oberoi Cecil comfortable and relaxing. The Premier room category at the hotel all have a valley view and on your next visit to us we would be happy to book you on those. Thank you for staying with us.

Warm regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This was not really a five star property. You have a combination of stairs and lift all over the building. You can not reach your room by a single lift, take stairs then lift it is confusing.

The rooms are OK and the view just about satisfactory. It is away from the mall road for all practical purposes and they drop you to the lift again on paid charges. We stayed in their valley view room. The room service is good and food ordered in room is good. The food at the restaurant (buffet) is pathetic with hardly any variety or taste. If you have an option do not take package with breakfast included, it is not worth it.

Overall reasonable but would not definitely rate it excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sg200271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I have read your message and am disappointed that the hotel did not match up to your expectations. The hotel is a heritage building, over a 100 years old and structurally we cannot do many changes. The rooms possibly that you got may have been in the Tudor block, the access to which is through a grand staircase. The block though has an elevator in the section.

I am happy to know that you enjoyed the room service and food.

I would like to get more feedback from you on your stay and food as it would help us work towards improvement. I have sent you a personal note. My email is arpit.pant@oberoihotels.com


Regards
Arpit Pant
Hotel Manager
The Oberoi Cecil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shimla
1.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#11 of 112 in Shimla
1,074 reviews
5.6 mi away
Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas
1.3 mi away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#2 of 112 in Shimla
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
1.4 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#4 of 112 in Shimla
802 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#13 of 112 in Shimla
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla

Property: The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Address: Advanced Study Road, Shimla 171004, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Shimla
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shimla
#1 Business Hotel in Shimla
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shimla
#1 Family Hotel in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in Shimla, the gateway to the majestic Himalayas. Downtown Hotel with Colonial styling, 1 km from Shimla Station & 22 km from Jubalhatti-Shimla Airport. The Hotel is situated at the quite end of the famous Mall and is an ideal base from which to discover the unique beauty of the spectacular Himalayan ranges, Cedar forests and ancient monasteries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Cecil - Shimla Hotel Shimla
Oberoi Shimla
Shimla Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing