We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Surya(Shimla)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,806)
Filter reviews
1,806 results
Traveler rating
1,490
250
45
11
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,490
250
45
11
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor poolchef rajgreat rail journeyscentral atriumgolden trianglesteam roomwildflower halltoy trainfabulous hotelnorthern indiadressing roomviceregal lodgeold world charmthe general managerrestaurant staffactivity roomheritage property
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,254 - 1,259 of 1,806 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Super hotel. Service almost overwhelming. Excellent food and public space - except no outside space ( I believe the monkeys make that difficult). Easy walk to or from the Mall. Close to station for toy train.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having stayed at The Oberoi Cecil during your visit to Shimla. The team feels delighted that we could make your trip memorable.

Regards
Arpit Pant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Shimla is a tourist delight. The happiness is multiplied manifold if the play of stay is comfortable.
OBEROI CECIL was just the ideal place for a perfect family holiday. The hotel is centrally located and provides all the amenities that one needs, particularly with young kids.
The staff is extremely courteous and made us feel at home. The cusine offered was excellent along with super service.
The heated pool and the children's play room just about completed a perfect holiday.

Room Tip: take a room facing the valley.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cr0cky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Shimla is indeed a special place that offer's nature at its best all year round. We at the hotel have worked hard towards understanding the needs of young families and trying to customize our product and services towards catering the same. I am glad to read that you felt at home and the family enjoyed the stay.

Regards
Arpit Pant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Outstanding hospitality coupled with extreme luxury makes this the most enjoyable place in Shimla.Excellent food, courteous staff & good facilities for guests to enjoy.Close to the Mall.Excellent view from some rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amreeshkher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your stay experience. The team and I look forward to you next visit.

Regards
Arpit Pant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Definitely the best hotel to stay in Shimla which is a magical place and a must to visit by 'Toy train' from Kalka.The only drawback to the hotel in my opinion is its lack of outside area---no gardens or anything ---but after all it is built on a hillside! Beware of the monkeys around the outside at the front---it is their territory and woe betide you if you are in their way.The rooms are very spacious and the cleanliness is superb and the swimming pool is a must to either start or end the day.The staff are courteous and helpful and breakfast was very good with good service.Take a step back in time and stay at this majestic hotel.

Room Tip: A room at the rear of the hotel to get the splendid views.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneL682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for endorsing The Oberoi Cecil. I am glad that you were able to enjoy the hotel and its facilities and that the team took good care of you. Your words of encouragement mean a lot to us.

Regards
Arpit Pant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I cannot recommend this hotel too highly. We arrived as part of a tour group, tired after a very grueling journey. Reception was quick and efficient and we were soon in our room. Room service was also quick and efficient and provided just what we wanted (including food from the kids menu). For the duration of our stay we were made to feel like royalty. The food was good and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel is also very conveniently located for exploring Simla.

Room Tip: Probably better not on the ground floor.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilNichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was an absolute pleasure to have you with us and I thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to continued visits from you.

Regards
Arpit Pant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews