We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hill resort stay i ever had...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Ranked #1 of 115 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My friend suggested me to visit this heritage hotel as she is already in with shimla. I stayed for 4 night and i was amazed that every single staff interacted with me knows my last name & they already had my preferences from my previous hotel. Hotel manager (Vivek) is so nice & his team is so humble... I will come with my family in Jan to enjoy snowfall till the time remember me..

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freeroamlance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Guest

It is wonderful to know that the recommendation of your friend to stay at The Oberoi Cecil matched your expectations and that we have an ambassador in you. We look forward to your visit in January.

Regards
Arpit Pant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,633)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,119 - 1,125 of 1,633 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed at the Oberoi in Shimla this summer when me and my family went there for a vacation for 4 days. The hotel has a dedicated parking right below the hotel which is an advantage because parking can be a nightmare in Shimla. The hotel is one of the 5 star properties in Shimla and lives up to the Oberois reputation. The rooms are big, cleanliness is maintained and staff is very helpful. Once you check in they approach you enquiring if you already have a go around plan else they will create plans based on your need. Their plans include adventure camping trips, river rafting, etc. Separate space for kids recreation if you have small kids who are well taken care of. Beds are comfortable. The hotel is within close distance to the Mall Road. A very decent and recommended hotel for people visiting Shimla who have big pockets to afford 5 star stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DelhiGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your stay experience at The Oberoi Cecil. I am glad that the hotel and its facilities were to your liking and that the entire family enjoyed the stay.

Warm Regards
Arpit Pant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights in September. It was our second visit as we stayed there in 2008. It is an absolutely fabulous hotel with superb service and exceptionally attentive, friendly staff. It was my husbands birthday and we returned to our room to find a birthday card from the housekeeping staff along with a towelling monkey made up on the bed. They even left bookmarks in my reading books. Nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff including the hotel car and driver who took us to visit Bishop Cotton School where my husband had once been a pupil. We were very sorry to leave the comfort of the hotel and hope to return at some future date. A superb civilised experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms in this hotel are extremely comfortable Rooms at the back have a better view perhaps b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacqueline89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is always special to welcome our guests back. I am delighted to know that you and your husband enjoyed your stay and the special touches the team did to ensure you felt at home. We eagerly look forward to your next visit.

Thank you
Arpit Pant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed at the Oberoi Cecil during one of my recent trips to Shimla and this place lives up to the Oberoi hospitality. My every need was taken care of, from my food choices to room requirements. The staff is warm and courteous and makes you feel at home. I always love my stay any Oberoi property for their hospitality is par excellence and Cecil was no different.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wandererforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your stay experience. I am happy that the team at the hotel ensured that your stay was comfortable. We look forward to more visits from you.

Regards
Arpit Pant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a night on 28th Sept, 2013 and when I made the booking by calling them directly, they knew my previous history of my stays at Wildflower Hall and they offered a room in spite of the hotel website showing full on that specified date. I reached there by 11:30 AM and was greeted by all the front office staff and the General Manager himself to the extent of me feeling squirmy and shy.... I was offered a room, the corner room ( 208?) which did not have much view outside other than a road and cars coming up. This hotel is a heritage property and maintained very well and the rooms are bigger and comfortable than Wildflower. Ok, this review is not " compare and contrast " of Wildflower and Cecil. The room service was quite fast and efficient but, I cannot say the same about the taste of the food. It was very ordinary. I always find the Indian Food at Oberoi, a little hybrid to suit the palate of foreigners and not authentic to an Indian taste. But the breakfast disproved my findings.... It was quite delicious and the Masala Dosa was almost prefect, compared to a one coming out of Saravana Bhawan kitchen in Chennai.

I still have some observations... one has to jump in to the bath tub for taking a shower, a concept most of the luxury hotels have done away with, almost some 10 -15 years back! I also found the exhaust fan at the lavatory not very effective... do you have one? I could not see...
Apart from these bigger, structural issues, which cannot be fixed immediately, I found the towles very, very used ones. I also found the housekeeping sloppy... while removing the used plates from my room by myself, coke and and other liquids spilled on the floor and I called housekeeping to clean it up around 10:30 pm. The plates were removed, but the liquid stains were not cleaned till I left the room next day at 12 noon! Coke stained, sticky, wooden flooring at the entrance of the room was quite a sight to cross over 2/3 times during the morning activities of spa, breakfast and check out!

In spite of all these, a stay at Oberoi is always refreshing and very fulfilling!

Room Tip: the higher floor rooms with a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qwelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It is wonderful to know that you have experienced both our properties in Shimla. I am happy to read that your stay was comfortable and that you enjoyed your time at The Cecil. I have also made note of your constructive comments and would surely work upon to improve the errors. I would surely pass on you appreciation about the breakfast quality with our Chefs. I look forward to meeting you again on your next visit.

Regards
Arpit Pant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Exceptional Royal treatment"
We booked this hotel for our weekend stay in Shimla mainly based on its #1 rating on TripAdvisor. And it is a unique little gem, really.
We have stayed at many hotels over the years, often luxury ones with impeccable details and fantastic designs. Price-wise Cecil is on par with other 5 star hotels. But there is no comparison in terms of its services. Cecil is a luxury place or a Masterpeice. Yet, in ten years from now, I’m sure we will still fondly remember the vacation we had there.
It is the perceptive and friendly service that makes it worthwhile staying in this hotel. The Brand and staff are social at just the right level and they go to great length to make you feel at home. Chef Raj Kumar Bhatia and his team have gone leaps and bounds to spoil us and trust me it took us 2 days to forget that royal treatment.
The room we had was spacious and pretty, the breakfast is good and not to miss Royal treatment thanks to chef Bhatia.
And as many people have written before. Cecil is a place you would definitely come back to and recommend to your friends. Thank you very much for making our stay so memorable....

Room Tip: No tip required they are par excellence
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akshaygrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is great to know that you decided to stay with us on your trip to Shimla. Thank you for your kind words of appreciation. The team at the hotel strives hard to ensure our guests have a wonderful time with us. I would be happy to share your positive comments with Chef Rajkumar and the team.

Warm Regards
Arpit Pant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

What a fantastic Hotel ! Location is superb, within walking distance of Old Town Shimla. The facilities are luxurious from the restaurant to the spa! Everyone did the utmost to make us feel special, well taken care of, ensuring our stay was a memorable one.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GREEV0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Guest

It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay at The Oberoi Cecil. The team looks forward to having you with us again.

Regards
Arpit Pant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shimla
1.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#14 of 115 in Shimla
1,081 reviews
1.3 mi away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#2 of 115 in Shimla
524 reviews
5.6 mi away
Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#4 of 115 in Shimla
811 reviews
0.5 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
1.3 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#15 of 115 in Shimla
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla

Address: Advanced Study Road, Shimla 171004, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shimla
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shimla
#1 Business Hotel in Shimla
#1 Spa Hotel in Shimla
#1 Family Hotel in Shimla
Price Range: $212 - $985 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in Shimla, the gateway to the majestic Himalayas. Downtown Hotel with Colonial styling, 1 km from Shimla Station & 22 km from Jubalhatti-Shimla Airport. The Hotel is situated at the quite end of the famous Mall and is an ideal base from which to discover the unique beauty of the spectacular Himalayan ranges, Cedar forests and ancient monasteries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Cecil - Shimla Hotel Shimla
Oberoi Shimla
Shimla Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing