We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the original heritage” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Ranked #1 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
Ludhiana, India
Level Contributor
173 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“the original heritage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

this is high class luxury property for those who love high standard & heritage of INDIA the hotel is at nice location in shimla wooden work in the lobby & restaurant is so nice & with brilliant shine after so many years the rr is too long in size without width but thea class waiters & atmosphere with gr8 food give you a romantic mood swimming pool is too good rooms are spacious with well service & smiling staff. almost hotel keeps it name itself OBEROI'S

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paramjitsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is wonderful to read you comments and appreciation about preserving the heritage buildings and your warmth towards The Oberoi Cecil in this regard. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the atmoshphere, service and the team at the hotel and we look forward to having you back with us.

Thank you
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,188
    229
    39
    10
    8
See reviews for
447
600
53
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

The moment you enter the hotel you have a feeling of 'wow factor' engulfing you. The heritage interiors of the hotel to the courteous smiles with folded hands staff, right from Mr. Manager's personal warm welcome to being transported in your room with bag and baggage in a matter of few minutes - a highly effective welcome.

Excellent staff, with faultless service. They make sure that your stay is purely comfortable. I loved the small details they take care of without your telling them to do so !

Dinning : Breakfast quality and presentation was better than the Dinner.

We enjoyed our drinks in the beautiful Atrium/lobby while my 9 year old had her own fun time in the Kids activity room getting all the attention from the staff. Loved the fact that the pool was two levels below in the hotel and while it was raining outside we were blissfully enjoying in the heated pool and Jacuzzi!

The rooms are well done up and clean. My only grudge point would remain the rooms on the ground floor with no view :( Wish we were pre-informed about this.
Next time :)
A memorable holiday !

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors, if you love to catch the glimpse of the scenic beauty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PreetiDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am happy to read that the overall stay experience with us at The Cecil has created some wonderful memories for you during your holidays. It is great to know that all members of your family were able to enjoy the host of facilities that are on offer. I have noted your preference of rooms on higher floor and on your next visit we would try and allocate the same.

Warm Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Staying at Cecil was a delightful experience- delicious food, great service,(with a smile), large rooms, good location and , finally an unbelievable attention to small details for each individual guest. This last attribute impressed us the most and was omnipresent in housekeeping, restaurant service, chef's attitude, reception staff, car rentals and chauffeur (We have never earlier had such a pleasant and "unsickly" mountain road journey).

Thank you Cecil... you have inspired us to try other Oberoi properties.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you with us at The Oberoi Cecil. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and the team right accross was able to delight you with the small touches that we try and do for our guests. Thank you for your positive comments. We look forward to more vistis from you with us.

Warm Regards

Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalandhar, India
Level Contributor
196 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed with family for three nights. Stayed here a number of times earlier and always found the Oberoi hospitality as always..... the best. Food is excellent and not very expensive. Staff is very responsive and very well groomed. On reaching hotel one feels as if you are away from the hustle and bustle of city yet it is 10 minutes beautiful walk to The Mall. One feels like coming here again and again.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better ...for a good view, less noise and hopefully less within the reach of notor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ssamra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Our regular and loyal guests of The Oberoi Cecil are our most prized possession. The team always feels great when we have guests coming back. I am happy to note that as always you went back with happy memories. We look forward to many more visits from you.

Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Excellent Hotel with well trained staff who genuinely seem to care. Great facilities, lovely walks and just the right distance from the busy and noisy Mall road..which is still close enough to walk to.
Beware of monkeys who would happily enter your room, open the mini bar and enjoy the liquor(not kidding).

The professional staff add significantly to the experience and do everything to ensure that each request is met with a smile and responded to.

The only slip up was that we were initially not given a room on a higher floor as we had requested when we made the booking and an alternate room took almost 1.5 hours to get ready after we had seen it...other than this hiccup we had a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the hill facing room to really enjoy he Hotel. Its worth the extra bucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gautam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for rating us the best. It is a previlige for the hotel to have an ambassador in you. Your kind and genuine appreciation for the team is a big source of encouragement. I do regret the delay in geeting you the room of your choice, but I am happy to know that you enjoyed the room and the stay. We do hope to have you with us on your next trip to Shimla.

Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We visited Shimla after a fairly hectic trip to Manali. So the main intention was to chill out and the hotel was perfect for that. Lot of kid activities kept the kids entertained. The temperature controlled swimming pool was great. We took a stroll to Mall road from the hotel and the hotel car picked us up on the way back. We also used the hotel transport to go to the Glen - which is a great forest walk. Food and the lounge was good and they packed us a huge breakfast since we had to catch a morning flight from Chandigarh. The spa head massage and thai massage was good. The foot massage was not upto the mark and I really hope they improve that since there will be many folks like me - tired after the long adventures in shimla and manali.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay at The Oberoi Cecil post a hectic drive from Manali. I am happy that the family was able to enjoy all facilities indoor as well as outdoors and that the kids were engaged in the various fun activities that the hotel organizes. I have noted your feedback on the foot massage and I would like to know your feedback in detail. Do write to me at arpit.pant@oberoihotels.com, it would help us improve. We look forward to having you with us again in the near future..

Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Loved our recent stay at The Cecil in Shimla. The hotel transports you back 60-70 years. Beautifully done up- very charming :) the staff was very well trained and professional. The best part of the hotel was the atrium-lounge- great for afternoon tea or cocktails. The buffet breakfast was fantastic and our servers did their best to make our meal a wonderful one whether it was getting freshly baked croissants for us or specially having fresh orange juice made, which was not on the buffet. The Eggs Benedict was delightful. The in-dining fare was reasonably priced, if a little uninspiring. The Cecil is beautifully located- away from the madness of the Mall Road, yet close enough to walk there. The surrounding areas offer lovely walks and views...really Shimla at its very best.

Room Tip: Not all the rooms are accessible by the elevator- be sure to check if your have trouble climbing a f...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Oberoi Cecil. It is of immense motivation for me and to the team to read such positive and encouraging feedback. I am happy to know that you loved the stay and we do look forward to having you again soon.

Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shimla
1.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#8 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
5.6 mi away
Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas
1.2 mi away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#4 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#14 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla

Property: The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Address: Advanced Study Road, Shimla 171004, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Shimla
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shimla
#1 Business Hotel in Shimla
#1 Spa Hotel in Shimla
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in Shimla, the gateway to the majestic Himalayas. Downtown Hotel with Colonial styling, 1 km from Shimla Station & 22 km from Jubalhatti-Shimla Airport. The Hotel is situated at the quite end of the famous Mall and is an ideal base from which to discover the unique beauty of the spectacular Himalayan ranges, Cedar forests and ancient monasteries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Cecil - Shimla Hotel Shimla
Oberoi Shimla
Shimla Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing