We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury with a smile”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Ranked #1 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury with a smile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Staying at Cecil was a delightful experience- delicious food, great service,(with a smile), large rooms, good location and , finally an unbelievable attention to small details for each individual guest. This last attribute impressed us the most and was omnipresent in housekeeping, restaurant service, chef's attitude, reception staff, car rentals and chauffeur (We have never earlier had such a pleasant and "unsickly" mountain road journey).

Thank you Cecil... you have inspired us to try other Oberoi properties.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you with us at The Oberoi Cecil. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and the team right accross was able to delight you with the small touches that we try and do for our guests. Thank you for your positive comments. We look forward to more vistis from you with us.

Warm Regards

Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,216
    234
    40
    10
    8
See reviews for
457
615
54
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jalandhar, India
Level Contributor
196 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed with family for three nights. Stayed here a number of times earlier and always found the Oberoi hospitality as always..... the best. Food is excellent and not very expensive. Staff is very responsive and very well groomed. On reaching hotel one feels as if you are away from the hustle and bustle of city yet it is 10 minutes beautiful walk to The Mall. One feels like coming here again and again.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better ...for a good view, less noise and hopefully less within the reach of notor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssamra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Our regular and loyal guests of The Oberoi Cecil are our most prized possession. The team always feels great when we have guests coming back. I am happy to note that as always you went back with happy memories. We look forward to many more visits from you.

Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Excellent Hotel with well trained staff who genuinely seem to care. Great facilities, lovely walks and just the right distance from the busy and noisy Mall road..which is still close enough to walk to.
Beware of monkeys who would happily enter your room, open the mini bar and enjoy the liquor(not kidding).

The professional staff add significantly to the experience and do everything to ensure that each request is met with a smile and responded to.

The only slip up was that we were initially not given a room on a higher floor as we had requested when we made the booking and an alternate room took almost 1.5 hours to get ready after we had seen it...other than this hiccup we had a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the hill facing room to really enjoy he Hotel. Its worth the extra bucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gautam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for rating us the best. It is a previlige for the hotel to have an ambassador in you. Your kind and genuine appreciation for the team is a big source of encouragement. I do regret the delay in geeting you the room of your choice, but I am happy to know that you enjoyed the room and the stay. We do hope to have you with us on your next trip to Shimla.

Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We visited Shimla after a fairly hectic trip to Manali. So the main intention was to chill out and the hotel was perfect for that. Lot of kid activities kept the kids entertained. The temperature controlled swimming pool was great. We took a stroll to Mall road from the hotel and the hotel car picked us up on the way back. We also used the hotel transport to go to the Glen - which is a great forest walk. Food and the lounge was good and they packed us a huge breakfast since we had to catch a morning flight from Chandigarh. The spa head massage and thai massage was good. The foot massage was not upto the mark and I really hope they improve that since there will be many folks like me - tired after the long adventures in shimla and manali.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay at The Oberoi Cecil post a hectic drive from Manali. I am happy that the family was able to enjoy all facilities indoor as well as outdoors and that the kids were engaged in the various fun activities that the hotel organizes. I have noted your feedback on the foot massage and I would like to know your feedback in detail. Do write to me at arpit.pant@oberoihotels.com, it would help us improve. We look forward to having you with us again in the near future..

Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Loved our recent stay at The Cecil in Shimla. The hotel transports you back 60-70 years. Beautifully done up- very charming :) the staff was very well trained and professional. The best part of the hotel was the atrium-lounge- great for afternoon tea or cocktails. The buffet breakfast was fantastic and our servers did their best to make our meal a wonderful one whether it was getting freshly baked croissants for us or specially having fresh orange juice made, which was not on the buffet. The Eggs Benedict was delightful. The in-dining fare was reasonably priced, if a little uninspiring. The Cecil is beautifully located- away from the madness of the Mall Road, yet close enough to walk there. The surrounding areas offer lovely walks and views...really Shimla at its very best.

Room Tip: Not all the rooms are accessible by the elevator- be sure to check if your have trouble climbing a f...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Oberoi Cecil. It is of immense motivation for me and to the team to read such positive and encouraging feedback. I am happy to know that you loved the stay and we do look forward to having you again soon.

Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We checked in the hotel on 16 th may 2013 for 3 nights we were given the room with no view no 220 specifically as we had two kids with us so the play area was near by and so was the dining area .
PROS: food quality served at the hotel was appreciated and so was the service .the housekeeping was excellent and the staff was very helpful very old charm wooden structure is a distinct identity of the interiors ,play area for kids was spacious and full o activities for kids .the mall road is very much walkable from the hotel
CONS:The pick up and drop facility to the parking area is pathetic ,they have only two vehicles for such a crowded hotel where in the guest have to wait up to 20 mins for a drop as tourist vehicles can't enter the army restricted area of the hotel
The air conditioner unit cools the room but the blower is not positioned on the bed so it causes suffocation even at 20 deg C
Monkeys do cause a few problems but they are part of hill stations . Overall an above average experience .These problems were adressed to the manger and were promptly replied via telephone,Email.and was assured of being takin care of

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Khushalkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. As we discussed we would most certainly look at the constructive comments shared by you. I am happy to note that the hotel's housekeeping, the food, the play area and the team left a positive impression on you.
The team and I look forward to having you again with us.

Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

I have chosen the Oberoi as it was the only 5-star and we all wanted to relax for a day. A well reserved victorian style hotel. Even you dont need to go for any point to enjoy nature if you took a valley view room with varendah. But food was not that much tasty. It was an average quality but staffs were good. Rooms were spacious as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dipanyta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is great to read that you liked the hotel and that you enjoyed the views from your room. I have noted your feedback on food and would share the same with our culinary team. We hope to have you again at The Oberoi Cecil on your next trip to Shimla.

Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shimla
5.6 mi away
Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas
1.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#9 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
1.3 mi away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#4 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#11 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla

Property: The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Address: Advanced Study Road, Shimla 171004, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Shimla
#1 Spa Hotel in Shimla
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shimla
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shimla
#1 Business Hotel in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in Shimla, the gateway to the majestic Himalayas. Downtown Hotel with Colonial styling, 1 km from Shimla Station & 22 km from Jubalhatti-Shimla Airport. The Hotel is situated at the quite end of the famous Mall and is an ideal base from which to discover the unique beauty of the spectacular Himalayan ranges, Cedar forests and ancient monasteries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Cecil - Shimla Hotel Shimla
Oberoi Shimla
Shimla Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing