We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Nearby Hotels
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$76
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
OYO 1448 Hotel Silverine(Shimla)(Great Value!)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$147
$138
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$61
$56
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$136
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,806)
Filter reviews
1,806 results
Traveler rating
1,490
250
45
11
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,490
250
45
11
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor poolchef rajgreat rail journeyscentral atriumgolden trianglesteam roomwildflower halltoy trainfabulous hotelnorthern indiadressing roomviceregal lodgeold world charmthe general managerrestaurant staffactivity roomheritage property
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,387 - 1,392 of 1,806 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed in the Oberoi Cecil Hotel recently and can only praise it as one of the best hotels to stay in. The accomodation was first class and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming. The food was varied and consistently good. The amenities such as the pool and therapies centre were first class and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manxcat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your feedback. It is a delight to learn that your stay with us was memorable and the staff, service's and food were all to you liking. I do hope to see you back in the near future.

Regards
Arpit Pant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on a 5 week trip to India
Hotel is extremely comfortable and well maintained.
Staff are excellent and very well trained.
We have an Ayurvedic massage while we were there that was extremely relaxing and professional.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AvidAviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Shimla. It is a delight to learn that your stay was enjoyable. We look forward to more visits from you in the near future.

Regards
Arpit Pant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at the Cecil as part of Great Rail Journeys trip. On arrival, we were greeted with a warm welcome by staff after a long journey. Rooms were a good standard with lovely views. Breakfasts are cooked to order and a very wide range of foods available from full English to Indian style dishes. Nicely cooked and presented. Evening meal is a well stocked buffet. Try the local Sula wine. Inexpensive and very drinkable! Service was very good, despite hotel being busy during our stay.
As others have commented, the young man in the pool area is excellent and very helpful. He keeps the area spotless and provides fresh towels and bottles of water to swimmers. Some of the ladies in our group enjoyed treatments in the spa. I used the steam room which was very clean and VERY hot! Changing rooms spotless and again, free bottled water available.
Our trips out usually ended up in the town of Shimla and we would walk the approx one mile downhill route back to hotel. As others have said, there are several places of interest and good shopping. Tea in the cafe near the English church is a good option for people watching. Look out for Ajay the fireman with the fire brigade motor bike near scandal point! Very smart and used in the narrow streets.
Warning:do watch out for monkeys and don't leave windows open! Two members of our perty had monkeys enter the room this way. One room was trashed and monkeys made a mess. Hotel staff great at dealing with the situation.
One of our party was unwell during stay. Staff most helpful and concerned. Went out of their way to assist.
We loved Shimla and the Cecil was all part of an excellent overall experience that started from the toy train and ended at the town station for return journey.

Room Tip: Higher floors give better views towards the valley
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MazSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a wondeful feedback. it is great to read that you and the group enjoyed your time whilst in Shimla. It is of immense satisfaction to learn that your stay with us was memorable. I will happily share your kind appreciation with Shammi, our colleague who looks after the swimming pool and all our team.

Regards
Arpit Pant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were part of a Riviera group but, unlike some who paid the same price, were allocated a cold, sub ground level room which had a view of a hedge bordering the car park. We were given a blanket on the second night and a heater on the third. If you are part of a large group it is galling to find that some of the group have been allocated suites, mountain views, 4th and 5th floor rooms in the main block. We drew the short straw and I made my view known to the manager. They ought to send staff to see how the Taj group treat their guests. We also waited for 10 minutes on the first night for wine glasses. One of our party had already finished her main course. The wine bottle was on the table but staff had to go out of the dining room to find glasses! Very odd hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Moc20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review. I do regret that the room allocated during your stay was not upto your liking and owing to cold weather conditions you were not very comfortable .Being a heritage colonial structure rooms are on all sides. Your constructive feedback is of immense help and I assure you that we would take measures to improve upon our service. Should you plan to visit this part of India again do write to me at arpit.pant@oberoihotels.com

Regards
Arpit Pant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

On a Riviera tours holiday we had already met some great service at a variety of hotels but the Cecil outdid them all. It wasn't just the number of attendants, but their unstoppable desire to make everything during our stay perfect. Tashi (hope that's right!) took us to our suite and spent ten minutes befriending us and explaining every gadget/facility to ensure we made the most of our time at the hotel. This approach continued non-stop whether dining, seeking out the billiard room or visiting the pool (where the attendant welcomed us like old friends, took photos etc even though we did not have time to swim). The suite was well-appointed, comfortable and equipped with modern TV, minibar (cheaper than all other hotels visited) and separate luggage room. The windows withstood the best efforts of the local monkeys to break in! The public rooms were tastefully presented with an excellent pianist providing low-key music in the bar area. Service here as everywhere was attentive without being over-pressurising. Reception staff were welcoming and efficient, dealing with minor issues with a minimum of fuss. Access to the city is easy whether on foot (25 minutes to the mall) or by taxi (about 150 rupees). We were fortunate to enjoy wall-to-wall sunshine and made the most of it, shopping until we dropped, then returning to our haven for an excellent evening meal (to complement the full buffet breakfast which rendered lunch unnecessary). Trips out include the Viceroy's Lodge (fascinating), drives into the higher Himalayas (breathtaking) and of course the Mall (scarves, pashminas and shoes particular bargains; don't miss the Gaiety Theatre & the churches); just above the Cecil and easily missed is the Shimla Museum, rich in religious relics, paintings & drawings and much more. Returning to the Cecil, one high-profile guide calls it 'characterless'; in my opinion nothing could be further from the truth. It is a fitting building for a city of immense character.

Room Tip: Our 4th floor suite was perfect both for the view and comfort offered.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Guest

It is a delight to read such an insightful review on your visit to Shimla and your stay at The Oberoi Cecil. It is very encouraging for us when the efforts of our team are recognised by the guests who experience our service. I am really happy to read that you enjoyed all aspects be it your room, the various hotel facilities, the food and service. Thank you for taking the time and posting your review.

Regards
Arpit Pant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews