We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Ranked #1 of 123 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were part of a Riviera group but, unlike some who paid the same price, were allocated a cold, sub ground level room which had a view of a hedge bordering the car park. We were given a blanket on the second night and a heater on the third. If you are part of a large group it is galling to find that some of the group have been allocated suites, mountain views, 4th and 5th floor rooms in the main block. We drew the short straw and I made my view known to the manager. They ought to send staff to see how the Taj group treat their guests. We also waited for 10 minutes on the first night for wine glasses. One of our party had already finished her main course. The wine bottle was on the table but staff had to go out of the dining room to find glasses! Very odd hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Moc20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review. I do regret that the room allocated during your stay was not upto your liking and owing to cold weather conditions you were not very comfortable .Being a heritage colonial structure rooms are on all sides. Your constructive feedback is of immense help and I assure you that we would take measures to improve upon our service. Should you plan to visit this part of India again do write to me at arpit.pant@oberoihotels.com

Regards
Arpit Pant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,709)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,295 - 1,301 of 1,709 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

On a Riviera tours holiday we had already met some great service at a variety of hotels but the Cecil outdid them all. It wasn't just the number of attendants, but their unstoppable desire to make everything during our stay perfect. Tashi (hope that's right!) took us to our suite and spent ten minutes befriending us and explaining every gadget/facility to ensure we made the most of our time at the hotel. This approach continued non-stop whether dining, seeking out the billiard room or visiting the pool (where the attendant welcomed us like old friends, took photos etc even though we did not have time to swim). The suite was well-appointed, comfortable and equipped with modern TV, minibar (cheaper than all other hotels visited) and separate luggage room. The windows withstood the best efforts of the local monkeys to break in! The public rooms were tastefully presented with an excellent pianist providing low-key music in the bar area. Service here as everywhere was attentive without being over-pressurising. Reception staff were welcoming and efficient, dealing with minor issues with a minimum of fuss. Access to the city is easy whether on foot (25 minutes to the mall) or by taxi (about 150 rupees). We were fortunate to enjoy wall-to-wall sunshine and made the most of it, shopping until we dropped, then returning to our haven for an excellent evening meal (to complement the full buffet breakfast which rendered lunch unnecessary). Trips out include the Viceroy's Lodge (fascinating), drives into the higher Himalayas (breathtaking) and of course the Mall (scarves, pashminas and shoes particular bargains; don't miss the Gaiety Theatre & the churches); just above the Cecil and easily missed is the Shimla Museum, rich in religious relics, paintings & drawings and much more. Returning to the Cecil, one high-profile guide calls it 'characterless'; in my opinion nothing could be further from the truth. It is a fitting building for a city of immense character.

Room Tip: Our 4th floor suite was perfect both for the view and comfort offered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Guest

It is a delight to read such an insightful review on your visit to Shimla and your stay at The Oberoi Cecil. It is very encouraging for us when the efforts of our team are recognised by the guests who experience our service. I am really happy to read that you enjoyed all aspects be it your room, the various hotel facilities, the food and service. Thank you for taking the time and posting your review.

Regards
Arpit Pant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We chose to stay at this hotel based on price and accessibility to public transportation and on the basis of that I would give it a five. , it is pretty beautiful. Going to and from the hotel was always an experience.We booked a room which was worth the extra as the view is wonderful

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vijay Singh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

The Oberoi Cecil is loacted at Chaura Maidan and is in close proximity to all the must see places and the city center. I am happy to hear that the loacation of the hotel was to your comfort. We do hope to have you again with us in the near future.

Thank you
Arpit Pant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

May I take this opportunity to thank Jyoti Thakur and the remainder of the staff at The Cecil . My wife and I were on a trip with Great Rail Journeys and arrived at the hotel on 2nd February 2013 . It was Hazels 50th birthday on the day we arrived 2nd February . Upgraded room 18 Red Roses and a Birthday cake greeted us in our room . We had a great stay . Staff fantastic , Hotel Fantastic . Food Fantastic . Shimla Fantastic . Thank you again Jyoti and the staff for a very memorable stay . Will be back one day soon I hope .

Les Slater
Alnwick Northumberland UK

Room Tip: Ask for Valley View higher situated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear Guest

We are delghted to read your review. It is heartening to learn that we were able to have both of you enjoy your special day. Jyoti is indeed a star for all of us and I would be more than happy to share your appreciation with her.

Thank you

Arpit Pant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

From the moment we were picked up at the station we were treated like royalty. Loved the place. Customer care was exceptional and go the extra mile to look after you.

We booked a valley room which was worth the extra as the view is wonderful. The only problem was the adverse weather, it was bitterly cold therefore making the room chilly due to the location and the windows being of the original structure. The staff made sure we were warm and supplied us with extra heating and duvet.

Breakfast was superior to others and choice vast, with the usual European and Indian selection. It is a shame that some of other residents choose to turn up in their pyjamas to breakfast. Strange, but the staff did not seem to bat an eyelid, must be used to it. Could not see this happening in other 5 star hotels in Europe.

Dinner was very good whether buffet or a la carte. Good touch that we were kept away from the tour groups so individuals were in a quieter part of the restaurant.

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Valley room for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cambridgetravller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your stay experience. We really appreciate your kind words and it is an immense source of inspiration for all of us at the hotel. The weather in Shimla has improved with a lot of sunshine. We look forward to your nest visit.

Regards
Arpit Pant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

You walk into a magic kingdom, stunning entrance, rooms a delight, spacious, clean and comfortable. Food first class good choice of English and Indian food, hot and cold selection. Views over the mountains are tremendous. Staff very helpful and caring had some laundry done prompting returned. A pleasant twenty minute walk from town, roads are very steep in places the back road up to the hotel is very steep dirt track, if you don't like heights close your eyes. Taxi drivers know what they are doing though. Plenty of ATM in town good shopping, variety of different shops. It is mountainous roads are very tight, lots of sheer drops, but you are safe in the taxis.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook central area I would go for rooms from first floor up as ground floor rooms open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for such a delightful feedback. It gives me great satisfaction to learn that your stay at The Oberoi Cecil was memorable and that from the loaction of the hotel to the food and our service left a positve impression on you.

Warm Regards
Arpit Pant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed in Shimla in February and were lucky to have one really sunny day to enjoy the peace and beauty.

This hotel was truly beautiful inside and the staff were absolutely keen to serve in whatever way they could. It was disappointing to have to pay for water at dinner, but, other than that, we loved the food they served and the breakfasts were excellent.

The pool complex was lovely and the staff there were also very attentive and kind. Again, provided slippers if you forgot them and went out of their way to be helpful. I would suggest that they only serve drinks out of non-breakable glass in the pool area as it would be a catastrophe if glass got into the pool. Loved the jacuzzi and I understand that the massages were good, too.

Would definitely recommend this hotel - but remember to keep the windows/balcony doors closed against the monkeys!

Room Tip: Either front or back is good - especially overlooking the valley, but the rooms onto the road had ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helhed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to learn that you enjoyed your time whilst at the hotel and our service was to your satisfaction. Your constructive points would surely be looked into. The weather has also now cleared and it is a great time to be outdoors. We look forward to having you back soon.

Regards
Arpit Pant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shimla
1.3 mi away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#2 of 123 in Shimla
559 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#14 of 123 in Shimla
1,107 reviews
5.6 mi away
Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
1.4 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 123 in Shimla
829 reviews
4.9 mi away
Marigold Sarovar Portico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla

Address: Advanced Study Road, Shimla 171004, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Shimla
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shimla
#1 Spa Hotel in Shimla
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shimla
#1 Business Hotel in Shimla
Price Range: $190 - $592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in Shimla, the gateway to the majestic Himalayas. Downtown Hotel with Colonial styling, 1 km from Shimla Station & 22 km from Jubalhatti-Shimla Airport. The Hotel is situated at the quite end of the famous Mall and is an ideal base from which to discover the unique beauty of the spectacular Himalayan ranges, Cedar forests and ancient monasteries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Cecil - Shimla Hotel Shimla
Oberoi Shimla
Shimla Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing