We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A BIG THANK YOU”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Ranked #1 of 117 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2013

May I take this opportunity to thank Jyoti Thakur and the remainder of the staff at The Cecil . My wife and I were on a trip with Great Rail Journeys and arrived at the hotel on 2nd February 2013 . It was Hazels 50th birthday on the day we arrived 2nd February . Upgraded room 18 Red Roses and a Birthday cake greeted us in our room . We had a great stay . Staff fantastic , Hotel Fantastic . Food Fantastic . Shimla Fantastic . Thank you again Jyoti and the staff for a very memorable stay . Will be back one day soon I hope .

Les Slater
Alnwick Northumberland UK

Room Tip: Ask for Valley View higher situated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear Guest

We are delghted to read your review. It is heartening to learn that we were able to have both of you enjoy your special day. Jyoti is indeed a star for all of us and I would be more than happy to share your appreciation with her.

Thank you

Arpit Pant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,674)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,264 - 1,270 of 1,674 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

From the moment we were picked up at the station we were treated like royalty. Loved the place. Customer care was exceptional and go the extra mile to look after you.

We booked a valley room which was worth the extra as the view is wonderful. The only problem was the adverse weather, it was bitterly cold therefore making the room chilly due to the location and the windows being of the original structure. The staff made sure we were warm and supplied us with extra heating and duvet.

Breakfast was superior to others and choice vast, with the usual European and Indian selection. It is a shame that some of other residents choose to turn up in their pyjamas to breakfast. Strange, but the staff did not seem to bat an eyelid, must be used to it. Could not see this happening in other 5 star hotels in Europe.

Dinner was very good whether buffet or a la carte. Good touch that we were kept away from the tour groups so individuals were in a quieter part of the restaurant.

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Valley room for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cambridgetravller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your stay experience. We really appreciate your kind words and it is an immense source of inspiration for all of us at the hotel. The weather in Shimla has improved with a lot of sunshine. We look forward to your nest visit.

Regards
Arpit Pant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

You walk into a magic kingdom, stunning entrance, rooms a delight, spacious, clean and comfortable. Food first class good choice of English and Indian food, hot and cold selection. Views over the mountains are tremendous. Staff very helpful and caring had some laundry done prompting returned. A pleasant twenty minute walk from town, roads are very steep in places the back road up to the hotel is very steep dirt track, if you don't like heights close your eyes. Taxi drivers know what they are doing though. Plenty of ATM in town good shopping, variety of different shops. It is mountainous roads are very tight, lots of sheer drops, but you are safe in the taxis.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook central area I would go for rooms from first floor up as ground floor rooms open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for such a delightful feedback. It gives me great satisfaction to learn that your stay at The Oberoi Cecil was memorable and that from the loaction of the hotel to the food and our service left a positve impression on you.

Warm Regards
Arpit Pant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed in Shimla in February and were lucky to have one really sunny day to enjoy the peace and beauty.

This hotel was truly beautiful inside and the staff were absolutely keen to serve in whatever way they could. It was disappointing to have to pay for water at dinner, but, other than that, we loved the food they served and the breakfasts were excellent.

The pool complex was lovely and the staff there were also very attentive and kind. Again, provided slippers if you forgot them and went out of their way to be helpful. I would suggest that they only serve drinks out of non-breakable glass in the pool area as it would be a catastrophe if glass got into the pool. Loved the jacuzzi and I understand that the massages were good, too.

Would definitely recommend this hotel - but remember to keep the windows/balcony doors closed against the monkeys!

Room Tip: Either front or back is good - especially overlooking the valley, but the rooms onto the road had ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helhed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to learn that you enjoyed your time whilst at the hotel and our service was to your satisfaction. Your constructive points would surely be looked into. The weather has also now cleared and it is a great time to be outdoors. We look forward to having you back soon.

Regards
Arpit Pant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

What a lovely hotel, utterly charming building and wonderfully attentive staff throughout. Bedrooms vary but are generally large with separate lounge area making a suite. We went as part of a well looked after group and realised the key challenge is to get the right room to maximise the enjoyment. The first floor rooms lead off the lounge area, the second and third suffer more from monkey visits and some of the fifth have smaller windows and ours also suffered from mechanical noise from the loft area. So try to get 4th floor and then on the non road (south west) side. Food here is generally very good and the level of service was the best we experienced in India. If you do go with a group be aware that the more popular dinner buffet dishes can run out so don't delay!

Room Tip: 4th floor non road rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exbiztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience and insight. I am delighted that as part of a tour group you enjoyed the hotel facilities and our service and were well looked after. The hotel is over a 100 years old and is a heritage building. The location of rooms across the hotel offer guest different views and experiences and individual preferences are different. I would be happy to share your postive comments about the food with our kitchen team. Please be assured the we ensure food stays available through the meal periods.

Regards
Arpit Pant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Everything about this hotel was great, the service was fantastic I felt so welcome by all the staff. I guess a single female travelling was unusual for them, as everyone knew who I was and greeted me by name as I moved around the hotel.
I would not hesitate to return to this hotel it was one of the best I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ljb295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear Guest

It is wonderful to note that your stay at The Oberoi Cecil was memorable and as a single guest you felt comfortable. Thank you for rating us so high and we look forward to having you back again.

Regards
Arpit Pant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I was there with my friends for lunch, beautiful hotel excellent service. We ate at the restaurant we all still crave the dahi ke kebab and amazing food. I mean complimentary parking and the staff who make you feel comfortable and like royalty.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharuSangwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your meal experience at our restaurant. Your positive feedback is much appreciated and we hope to have you stay at The Oberoi Cecil on your next visit.

Regards
Arpit Pant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shimla
1.3 mi away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#2 of 117 in Shimla
551 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#14 of 117 in Shimla
1,098 reviews
5.6 mi away
Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 117 in Shimla
822 reviews
0.5 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
1.5 mi away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 117 in Shimla
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla

Address: Advanced Study Road, Shimla 171004, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Shimla
#1 Spa Hotel in Shimla
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shimla
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shimla
#1 Business Hotel in Shimla
Price Range: $206 - $1,479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in Shimla, the gateway to the majestic Himalayas. Downtown Hotel with Colonial styling, 1 km from Shimla Station & 22 km from Jubalhatti-Shimla Airport. The Hotel is situated at the quite end of the famous Mall and is an ideal base from which to discover the unique beauty of the spectacular Himalayan ranges, Cedar forests and ancient monasteries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Cecil - Shimla Hotel Shimla
Oberoi Shimla
Shimla Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing