We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snowfall and last minute arrangement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Ranked #1 of 112 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
Jodhpur, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Snowfall and last minute arrangement”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Had experienced -3 degrees in January with snowfall and all roads blocked. We really enjoyed staying in this property. Specially the SPA, heated pool, Jacuzzi etc. Staff was really helpful. Restaurant view is nice but food is average. Other facilities are okay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dharmendraslodha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Shimla town indeed received its heaviest snowfall for a particular day at about 38 cms since the past eight years. The main highway though was cleared by the same evening. The roads are now fully open with a lot of tourists coming to the town to enjoy the snow. I am happy to know that you enjoyed the spa and the pool facilities. Should you get time do let me know on your feedback about the food part. You could write to me at arpit.pant@oberoihotels.com

Thank you
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,296
    238
    42
    11
    9
See reviews for
505
639
58
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jodhpur, India
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The best hotel in Shimla. Perfect in every sense may it be facilities, staff willingness to serve you at best, room cleanliness, room decor & spaciousness, hotel ambiance or the restaurant services.
Best pool to dive in (Heated pool with Jacuzzi) . Food is excellent along with the team members in the serving area. They will pamper you & I will it is the business line at Oberoi's properties. The customer & its satisfaction is there utmost priority. Perfect kids activity center with tons of fun for kids. There was a little confusion at the time of check out due to a particular maintenance staff but still it was one of best holidays.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank optics05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting you review about your stay at The Oberoi Cecil. I am happy to note that all of our services helped you enjoy your time at the hotel. You could write to me at arpit.pant@oberoiotels.com and share the details of the little inconvenience that you have mentioned about. Thank you for rating us the best hotel in Shimla.

Warm regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
1 review
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed for 3N/4D at Oberoi Cecil in Jan 2013 and had a gr8 experience of luxury amidst fantastic decor of the hotel. The service and reception of the staff was excellent. The food was excellent and was served with great warmth and pleasing smiles of the catering staff with special attention to the kids. Overall a wonderful experience and would sure like to recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is great to hear that your stay was "fantastic". Our team is indeed our biggest strength and thank you for recognizing teir efforts. Our little friends are indeed special and the hotel has a dedicated activity centre and a lot of daily activites to ensure they have fun. We look forward to more visits from you in tne near future.

Thank you
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad-Deccan, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This hotel is appropriately located and provides easy access to different places to see as well as Mall road and Railway station. Stay in this hotel gives a Regal feeling and it has good Bar for evening relaxation.

Room Tip: Room facing ridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 84doctor84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your appreciation. It is great to hear that the central location of the hotel enabled you to explore the town better and that the service at the hotel made your stay comfortable and relaxed.

Thank you
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Everything about this hotel is truly 5 star. From the minute you reach the entrance and are greeted by the staff, your first view of the magnificent atrium, and the timeless decor of this beautiful building which dates back to the time of the British Raj. Oberoi have made a magnificent job of its complete refusbishment.

Our bedroom overlooked the valley with fantastic views for miles. The room itself was beautifully appointed with quality furniture and fittings. Food and service in the restaurant could not be faulted and the staff in all departments whom we met were so obliging in every respect.

The worst bit was having to leave it all behind to return to Delhi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alasdair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We do ensure and work hard towards enhancing all aspects of stay for our guests and your positive words about our team and the service right from your arrival to your dining experience is much appreciated. The hotel does take one back into history and to the times of the Raj as does this small town. We do hope to have you with us again.

Thank you
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at this property for 3D /2N in Jan 2013 and had a memorable experience. Apart from the fact that we were pleased with the room upgrade that we received, the service was very good, food was nice and the staff was super attentive. We overheard a few other co-residents complaining about the variety on offer at their dining buffet, but I found it to be sufficient. Location is approx 15-20mins walk along a private road from one end of Mall Road. We got the room (1BR+Living suite) on the top floor with partial view of the Valley, which was quite nice. We were cautioned against keeping the windows and balcony door open - to prevent monkeys from getting into the room. Didn't manage to take out time to use their pool & gym.
The property has an English era setting with excessive wooden interiors. Bathrooms are somewhat old school (aka not ultra modern but we'll stacked and property maintained).
All in all, we had a fun time.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sameer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and sharing your experience. We all at the hotel are very pleased to note that you had memorable experience and that you enjoyed the room, views from the hotel, the food and service. The hotel indeed retains the old world colonial charm owing a lot to its immense history dating back to more than a100 years. We do hope to have you with us soon.

Warm Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed in Oberoi cecil during Christmas this year. Amazing hospitality. Staff is super friendly, prompt and co-operative. Honest Crew - we forgot some jewellery in one of the room lockers and they called us back, informing about the same. Not only informed us on time, made all necessary arrangements for the safe delivery of the belonging.
Many thanks.

Room Tip: Rooms with no view are smaller compared to other rooms. However, no view doesn't mean, its a blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnshuSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is wonderful to read that your Christmas holidays with us were memorable. Thank you for your appreciation about the team and service at the hotel. I am happy to note that your valuable items reached you in time. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Warm Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shimla
1.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#13 of 112 in Shimla
1,074 reviews
5.6 mi away
Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas
1.3 mi away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#2 of 112 in Shimla
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
1.4 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#4 of 112 in Shimla
802 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#11 of 112 in Shimla
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla

Property: The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Address: Advanced Study Road, Shimla 171004, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Shimla
#1 Spa Hotel in Shimla
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shimla
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shimla
#1 Family Hotel in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in Shimla, the gateway to the majestic Himalayas. Downtown Hotel with Colonial styling, 1 km from Shimla Station & 22 km from Jubalhatti-Shimla Airport. The Hotel is situated at the quite end of the famous Mall and is an ideal base from which to discover the unique beauty of the spectacular Himalayan ranges, Cedar forests and ancient monasteries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Cecil - Shimla Hotel Shimla
Oberoi Shimla
Shimla Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing