We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Ranked #1 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed in Oberoi cecil during Christmas this year. Amazing hospitality. Staff is super friendly, prompt and co-operative. Honest Crew - we forgot some jewellery in one of the room lockers and they called us back, informing about the same. Not only informed us on time, made all necessary arrangements for the safe delivery of the belonging.
Many thanks.

Room Tip: Rooms with no view are smaller compared to other rooms. However, no view doesn't mean, its a blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnshuSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is wonderful to read that your Christmas holidays with us were memorable. Thank you for your appreciation about the team and service at the hotel. I am happy to note that your valuable items reached you in time. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Warm Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,247
    237
    41
    10
    8
See reviews for
471
628
56
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our stay at oberoi on 5.1.2013 to 8.1.13 was awesome. the staff was ever ready to serve us and there was always 'yes sir it will be done'...Our hotel was fairly close to the mall road and we got a room with balcony facing towards the valley
.Food was better as compared to other 5 star hotels in india but still we thought that it needed some improvement.
.Rooms were spacious with unlimited supply of tea coffee and mineral water. hotel is centrally hoted and at o degree outside we could swim in heated pool and jacuzzi both indoor.
One minus point was there was no open garden or terrace. but overall 10 out of 10.
I recommend Simla should be expericened with oberoi, you will feel you are in the days of the british raj. Sandeep, sangeeta and divyam, Delhi.

Room Tip: rooms facing the road in the main building..go for premier rooms if u r a couple and go for a room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandeep-Goyal1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is great to read that your trip post new year to Shimla was a happy one and that you enjoyed your time at The Oberoi Cecil. The Cecil's location is close to a lot of must see places of the town including The Mall Road. The hotel is a heritage building and a lot of care was given to ensure it retained the original soul. I would be happy to share your positive feedback about the food and servive with the team.

Warm Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at the “A wonderful stay at the Oberoi Cecil Shimla!” a very well maintained property with very picturesque views of the surrounding hills and not too far away from the Mall. Excellent food and service and amazing value for money. The staff was always ready to help and serve us with a smile on their faces. Highly recommended !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ram p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review about The Oberoi Cecil and for giving us a thumbs up. Your positive feedback is much appreciated and certainly goes a long way in motivating all of us to keep doing better. Wishing you and the family a very happy new year.

Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I am very late writing this review as I actually stayed at the hotel for three nights in October . However my stay was so enjoyable that I thought they deserved a big thank you.
My friend and I had written to the hotel and asked about arranging a room with a view of the spectacular valley and when we arrived we were given an complimentary upgrade to a superior room with a view to die for.
On our last day my friend realised she had not sent a postcard and went to the desk to buy stamps. The staff insisted on taking the card and arranged the postage themselves. Perhaps a small thing in itself but very much an indication of the service you can expect at this hotel.
The public rooms are beautiful and the restaurant has lovely views onto the valley. My one slight disappointment is that in the restaurant tables for two are tucked away from the windows and can seem a bit dark and boring.
I had been promising myself a Thali (a wonderful selection of different Indian tasty bits) and on my last evening I ordered one . I should have shared it with my friend as so much food arrived. The Chef also came to the table to check that it was to my taste!(it was).
After the heat of Delhi and Jaipur the fresh air of Shimla was very welcome and I found the town extremely interesting. There are many excellent shops on the upper levels but we also visited the shops on the lower streets which should not be missed.
Shimla and the Oberoi Cecil get a big thumbs up. If I ever get the opportunity I would be more than happy to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room. The view is worth the extra. Be careful with your balcony doors. The monke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrannyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for taking time out and sharing your experience. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the views and liked your room. The Thali is surely a must try for all as it brings in one platter the unique tastes of this wonderful region, its nice to know that you gave it a try and liked it. Our team is the highlight and when guest's appreciate the small gestures, it goes a long way in motivating us to strive harder. Thank you for your confidence in us.

Warm Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our trip to Shimla was one of the highlights of our holiday in northern India. We stayed two nights at the Cecil and two nights at Wildflower Hall. The Cecil is nicely positioned so that the Mall and the Vice Regal's Lodge are both within easy walking distance. The hotel is beautiful particularly the central bar and lounge area and designed to evoke the atmosphere of the days of the British Raj when Shimla was the centre of government for the Summer months. We had a standard room which was spacious and very comfortable.

The staff make the Cecil very special - nothing is too much trouble and they take the time to make sure you have everything you need.The restaurant is excellent and we would recommend the buffet dinner. One of the chefs (unfortunately we didnt get his name but he was an oriental gentleman) carefully explained each dish and even gave us small tasters so that we could be sure we made the right choices. All the staff went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay.

To get to Shimla we took the Shatabdi express from Delhi which was surprisingly good and the toy train from Kalka. The toy train is not particularly comfortable but the journey up through the mountains is incredible and sets the scene for your stay in Shimla. We enjoyed walking through the town and we would recommend the conducted tours of the Gaiety Theatre and the Vice Regal's Lodge.

The Cecil and Wildflower Hall compliment each other and spending time at each one is the perfect way to see Shimla.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seamoon24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

A Happy New Year to you and the family. It is wonderful to hear that Shimla for you was the highlight of your vacation. The two Oberoi hotels in this town indeed provide the best of the hill station. It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your compliments about the staff at the hotel, it is our team that works very hard to ensure our guests leave with memories. I shall pass on your compliments to Tashi who was the Chef at the buffet. The Toy train is a popular mode that most guests take to reach the town from Kalka and it is a part of UNESCO world heritage list. We look forward to your continued visits at Oberoi Hotels.

Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We visited shimla on december 20th 2012. I read lots of reviews from trip advisor before booking this hotel. I have seen the photograph listed by the users, but to my surprise the hotel is far beyond what we see in the pictures, it so luxurious, staffs courtesy is great and can be compared to world class hotels. Right from the entry to hotel till checkout we were treated like a king. While we entered the hotel we were greeted like a VIP and shown a nice couch to be seated and served hot coffee for the chill climate. While we were still wearing the miraculous feel in our face, the manager assisted us in check in formalities, every one in the hotel hierarchy makes their guest feel proud of selecting this hotel for the stay.
In the room, everything is a master piece, crafted very well, water quality is very good.
Food is very tasty, fresh, and our stomach felt too good.
Desserts are made every time we order it, its really good.
OVERALL THE STAY WAS GREAT, I WOULD RECCOMMEND STRONGLY TO MY FAMILY MEMBERS AND TRIP ADVISOR members.

REAL 5 STAR hotel

Room Tip: Order for GULABJAMUN, RASAMALAI its so fresh u would never find it anywhere in India so fresh
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perfectman79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It is a big compliment for all of us to hear that you found the hotel much better than in photographs. I am happy that our services from start to end were to your satisfaction. I would be happy to pass on your compliments about the food and desserts with our Chef and the kitchen team.

Warm Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We just got back after a 4N/5D stay at the Oberoi Cecil. This hotel is all about taking the word 'awesome' to the next level of superlativeness.
Our original plan was to stay at the Wildflower hall. But, the location of the hotel does not permit children below the ago of 12 to stay at that property. As a result, we landed up making reservations at the Cecil.
I am not going to rant much about the features of this is hotel. Hotel websites do a good job of that. Basically it had everything that most five star hotels have. Add to it a brilliant property in a very good location and an old world charm. What really sets this hotel apart was the personal care and attention and quality of staff and service. I was travelling with my 22 month old son. Some examples of how well he was taken care of
1. The hotel has a large activity rooms for kids of all ages including adults. Starting from doll houses, stuffed toys, board games, video game machines (without any need for coins), game consoles, pool table and much more. My son pretty much wanted to spend the entire day in this room.
2. We wanted to take a walk to the nearby mall road. But our son would refuse to walk. The concierge had a couple of strollers thereby solving our problem.
3. The staff at the restaurant paid great personal care and attention to all his food related requirements. The quality of food was pretty good.
In addition the hotel also has a indoor heated pool and jacuzzi offering superb views of the surrounding mountains. Mid December seems to be a low season as result of which the crowds were pretty lean. That proved to be an icing on the cake.
I really couldnt locate any negatives in this property. I would have preferred free wifi in the public areas (lobby, lounge..). In addition, the bathroom felt like a standard business hotel. Nothing luxurious about it.
Overall, this is a splendid property to stay in with out of the world service. I eagerly look forward to our next visit to The Oberoi Cecil.

Room Tip: Premier rooms can prove to be a good choice for families with infants due to their large size. The r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Epicurious263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for such a positive review. I am happy that you stayed with us during you trip to Shimla and that we were able to give you a memorable stay even though you could not stay at our other beautiful property. We do have a lot of family's that stay with us on vacation and the kids activity room is designed to have children of different age groups enjoy various games and activities. Your kind words about the efforts that the team made to ensure your comfort at all times is much appreciated. We do look forward to many more stays and more visits to Shimla from you.

Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shimla
5.6 mi away
Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas
1.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#10 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
1.3 mi away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#3 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#4 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#12 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla

Property: The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Address: Advanced Study Road, Shimla 171004, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shimla
#1 Business Hotel in Shimla
#1 Spa Hotel in Shimla
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shimla
#1 Family Hotel in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in Shimla, the gateway to the majestic Himalayas. Downtown Hotel with Colonial styling, 1 km from Shimla Station & 22 km from Jubalhatti-Shimla Airport. The Hotel is situated at the quite end of the famous Mall and is an ideal base from which to discover the unique beauty of the spectacular Himalayan ranges, Cedar forests and ancient monasteries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Cecil - Shimla Hotel Shimla
Oberoi Shimla
Shimla Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing