We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How does one exceed perfection..”

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Ranked #1 of 112 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“How does one exceed perfection..”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We just got back after a 4N/5D stay at the Oberoi Cecil. This hotel is all about taking the word 'awesome' to the next level of superlativeness.
Our original plan was to stay at the Wildflower hall. But, the location of the hotel does not permit children below the ago of 12 to stay at that property. As a result, we landed up making reservations at the Cecil.
I am not going to rant much about the features of this is hotel. Hotel websites do a good job of that. Basically it had everything that most five star hotels have. Add to it a brilliant property in a very good location and an old world charm. What really sets this hotel apart was the personal care and attention and quality of staff and service. I was travelling with my 22 month old son. Some examples of how well he was taken care of
1. The hotel has a large activity rooms for kids of all ages including adults. Starting from doll houses, stuffed toys, board games, video game machines (without any need for coins), game consoles, pool table and much more. My son pretty much wanted to spend the entire day in this room.
2. We wanted to take a walk to the nearby mall road. But our son would refuse to walk. The concierge had a couple of strollers thereby solving our problem.
3. The staff at the restaurant paid great personal care and attention to all his food related requirements. The quality of food was pretty good.
In addition the hotel also has a indoor heated pool and jacuzzi offering superb views of the surrounding mountains. Mid December seems to be a low season as result of which the crowds were pretty lean. That proved to be an icing on the cake.
I really couldnt locate any negatives in this property. I would have preferred free wifi in the public areas (lobby, lounge..). In addition, the bathroom felt like a standard business hotel. Nothing luxurious about it.
Overall, this is a splendid property to stay in with out of the world service. I eagerly look forward to our next visit to The Oberoi Cecil.

Room Tip: Premier rooms can prove to be a good choice for families with infants due to their large size. The r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for such a positive review. I am happy that you stayed with us during you trip to Shimla and that we were able to give you a memorable stay even though you could not stay at our other beautiful property. We do have a lot of family's that stay with us on vacation and the kids activity room is designed to have children of different age groups enjoy various games and activities. Your kind words about the efforts that the team made to ensure your comfort at all times is much appreciated. We do look forward to many more stays and more visits to Shimla from you.

Regards
Arpit Pant
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,288
    238
    42
    11
    9
See reviews for
499
637
58
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights to complete our tour of India. Having stayed in a number of 5 star hotels during our trip but this was the best. It may not have had the best bedrooms but it more than made up for it in the quality of service it delivers. It just strives to make your stay as enjoyable, relaxing and as memorable as possible. Never have I seen so many customer focused staff in a hotel. Everyone from reception, to room keeping, to pool attendants to restaurant staff all working hard so that you can relax and get the most from your stay.
Rooms - large and comfortable with excellent beds. Bathrooms are well equiped if slightly small by todays standards. However, not a concern.
Pool area - excellent and well maintained facilty. Recommend the hot spa pool! Pool attendant was 1st class. Brought us bottles of chilled water and cool watermelon. Nice touch.
Restaurant - ate in the dining room on each of our 3 nights. Food was excellent with a choice of buffet or a la carte. Again staff were just 1st class making sure that each meal was to our satisfaction. Heag chef came out on a few occasions just to ensure we were happy with everything. Breakfast was also just as good.
The ground floor features a large lounge with a bar for drinks and snacks/small meals. In the evening there is a piono player. A nice touch adding to the atmosphere especially for pre dinner drinks.
Internet - the only negative I can say about this hotel is why do they charge for this service. A premium hotel should not have to do this and it would be great if they could remove this charge.
Shimla - what was once a small town now has a population of some 250k and growing. However, unlike almost every other place we visited in India it does not have a litter problem, bans smoking in the pedestrian area at The Mall and the local citizens taking a pride in its appearance. Well done.
The Mall is a 25/30 minute gentle walk from the hotel and is safe as it is mostly traffic free.

Thoroughly recommend a stay at the Cecil.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and writing such a detailed review of your experience. It is a pleasure to know that you rate The Oberoi Cecil as the best hotel you stayed in during your trip to India. Guest services are always our prime focus and the entire team's endeavour is to work towards achieving it for all our guests. The hotel is a heritage buliding and the design's of all rooms and public area's reflect the same. The heated pool is a great place to relax and unwind. I am happy to note you enjoyed the spread on the buffet and also had a chance to explore the menu. The lounge at the atrium lobby level indeed creates a magical atmosphere in the evenings, with live piano music. I do take a note about your observation on the internet pricing. The hotel offers 5 mbps speed and the same connection allows our guests to use upto four devices in the rooms. Shimla being a tourist town and a hill station is taking a lot of steps from all directions to improve on the environment and it is this collective effort which hopefully is getting the results. We hope to have you back.

Regards
Arpit Pant
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

It was a super experience staying at the Oberoi's .. The staff was extremely courteous and friendly. The upkeep of the place was fabulous . Their service was truly exceptional and the entire staff was very attentive to our needs . The swimming pool , steam and spa is recommended . The place is very well maintained and the rooms are big ,luxurious and has a fantastic view .
Its a MUST stay and we will definitely visit again.Good job Oberoi Cecil

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Wow, we are all very pleased to read that you had a wonderful time while with us. It is heartening to note that the service provided by our team added to your experience. It is really nice to know that your are planning a visit again and we all look forward to having you back.

Regards
Arpit Pant
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koh tao, thailand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

It is a wonderful experience.
The staff are very attentive, the breakfast is great, the rooms are spacious and beautiful. Of course you pay for all this but it is done well. The pool is great and should not be missed. Personally I would like some outdoor space to enjoy the wonderful air, view and warmth.
Enjoy a stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay at The Oberoi Cecil. I would share your positive feedback about the breakfast spread with our Chef's.

Warm Regards
Arpit Pant
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I had stayed in oberoi cecil this summers. This is one of the oldest properties of oberoi and i have heard Mr. Oberoi used to work here as a front office staff.
A very elegant and classy property and neatness is exemplary. Food was real awesome as it our Marriage anniversary we were served a cake in our room as a complimentary from the hotel.
Chef was really good and guys in F&B section really did a perfect job.
Rooms were big, luxurious and with the fantastic view of the valley.
Temperature controlled swimming pool was really awesome and kids were overjoyed.
i think one of the best properties in india if u are going with the kids to Shimla as the other one oberoi wildflower does not allows kids below 12 yrs.
Keep it up oberoi cecil

Room Tip: Stay on the 2nd &3 rd floor valley facing superior rooms instead of the ones on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience. The Oberoi Cecil is a historic building over a 100 years old and now considered amongst the finest heritage of Shimla town. The founder of Oberoi hotels and resorts Late Shiri Rai Bahadur Mohan Singh Oberoi did start his career from this iconic hotel. I am happy to note that we were able to make your marriage anniversary special. We look forward to more visits from you in the near future.

Regards
Arpit Pant
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Me and my husband stayed at the oberoi,cecil in shimla.The idea was to relax and rejuvenate and oberoi gave us much more.Everything from the room to the beautiful guest area to the lobby was immaculately perfect,what you naturally expect from a 5 star hotel but what actually went beyond my expectation was the exceptional staff behaviour.I congratulate the entire oberoi team for being so well groomed,warm,attentive and having an outstanding sense of service.Also,i'll mention the sumptuous meals that we had there,which'd just oomph the whole luxury factor.i'v been to a lot of 5 star hotels round the globe but never seen such service such as the oberoi.Thank you so much for taking your business so seriously.u guys are fabulous :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us on your visit to Shimla. It is a pleasure to note that the hotel facillities, our team and the service were able to help you relax and rejuvenate. Your positive feedback holds immense value to us. I would pass on your appreciation about the food to our kitchen team. We all look forward to having you back with us soon.

Regards
Arpit Pant
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Welcoming and attentive staff. Large room (Superior) with a magnificent view over the valley. Expensive by Indian standards but not for a 5 star hotel. Beautiful swimming pool and spa area.

Located about 30 minutes pleasant walk away from Mall Road.

Enjoy a relaxing time being pampered here.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to a Superior Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and posting your review. I am happy to note that you liked your room and the views of the valley. Thank you for appreciating the team at the hotel which is our biggest strength. The walk to the mall road from the hotel is indeed a pleasant one offering one great views and also passing through some great historical buildings. We do hope to have you back at The Oberoi Cecil on your next visit.

Regards
Arpit Pant
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shimla
1.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#10 of 112 in Shimla
1,071 reviews
5.6 mi away
Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas
1.3 mi away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#3 of 112 in Shimla
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
1.4 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 112 in Shimla
799 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#11 of 112 in Shimla
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla

Property: The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Address: Advanced Study Road, Shimla 171004, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Shimla
#1 Spa Hotel in Shimla
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shimla
#1 Family Hotel in Shimla
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in Shimla, the gateway to the majestic Himalayas. Downtown Hotel with Colonial styling, 1 km from Shimla Station & 22 km from Jubalhatti-Shimla Airport. The Hotel is situated at the quite end of the famous Mall and is an ideal base from which to discover the unique beauty of the spectacular Himalayan ranges, Cedar forests and ancient monasteries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Cecil - Shimla Hotel Shimla
Oberoi Shimla
Shimla Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing