We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oberoi Cecil Size does not matters”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Ranked #1 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Oberoi Cecil Size does not matters”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I had stayed in oberoi cecil this summers. This is one of the oldest properties of oberoi and i have heard Mr. Oberoi used to work here as a front office staff.
A very elegant and classy property and neatness is exemplary. Food was real awesome as it our Marriage anniversary we were served a cake in our room as a complimentary from the hotel.
Chef was really good and guys in F&B section really did a perfect job.
Rooms were big, luxurious and with the fantastic view of the valley.
Temperature controlled swimming pool was really awesome and kids were overjoyed.
i think one of the best properties in india if u are going with the kids to Shimla as the other one oberoi wildflower does not allows kids below 12 yrs.
Keep it up oberoi cecil

Room Tip: Stay on the 2nd &3 rd floor valley facing superior rooms instead of the ones on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thevirtualeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience. The Oberoi Cecil is a historic building over a 100 years old and now considered amongst the finest heritage of Shimla town. The founder of Oberoi hotels and resorts Late Shiri Rai Bahadur Mohan Singh Oberoi did start his career from this iconic hotel. I am happy to note that we were able to make your marriage anniversary special. We look forward to more visits from you in the near future.

Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,213
    234
    40
    10
    8
See reviews for
457
614
53
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Me and my husband stayed at the oberoi,cecil in shimla.The idea was to relax and rejuvenate and oberoi gave us much more.Everything from the room to the beautiful guest area to the lobby was immaculately perfect,what you naturally expect from a 5 star hotel but what actually went beyond my expectation was the exceptional staff behaviour.I congratulate the entire oberoi team for being so well groomed,warm,attentive and having an outstanding sense of service.Also,i'll mention the sumptuous meals that we had there,which'd just oomph the whole luxury factor.i'v been to a lot of 5 star hotels round the globe but never seen such service such as the oberoi.Thank you so much for taking your business so seriously.u guys are fabulous :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saakhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us on your visit to Shimla. It is a pleasure to note that the hotel facillities, our team and the service were able to help you relax and rejuvenate. Your positive feedback holds immense value to us. I would pass on your appreciation about the food to our kitchen team. We all look forward to having you back with us soon.

Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Welcoming and attentive staff. Large room (Superior) with a magnificent view over the valley. Expensive by Indian standards but not for a 5 star hotel. Beautiful swimming pool and spa area.

Located about 30 minutes pleasant walk away from Mall Road.

Enjoy a relaxing time being pampered here.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to a Superior Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and posting your review. I am happy to note that you liked your room and the views of the valley. Thank you for appreciating the team at the hotel which is our biggest strength. The walk to the mall road from the hotel is indeed a pleasant one offering one great views and also passing through some great historical buildings. We do hope to have you back at The Oberoi Cecil on your next visit.

Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed (8 in 5 rooms) October 2012 for 2 nights, as part of a 26 day tour. Best hotel of the holiday, rooms, staff, spa, food, general feel etc. ALL EXCELLENT including the location. We did not have a bad comment to make, the only hotel to fit this statement of the whole holiday.

Room Tip: Cannot comment on price as we were given a total price for the holiday from ERCO Travels, Delhi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan692007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Front Office Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time and posting your review. Your positive feedback indeed pushes the entire team at the hotel to do better. We look forward to your future visits with us.

Regards
Ashish Gosain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
161 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Beautiful room, wonderful service, really felt special, highly recommended.
A classic hotel walking distance to Shimla and viceroys palace (or inst adv studies) big galleria area. Reminiscent of raj era.
Restaurant very attentive good buffet breakfast or a la carte. Evening meal had curry, good but not outstanding.
Pool and spa pretty good
Downsides, nothing big time - pity no free Wi Fi, tv limited although they do have some free DVDs in reception nothing special. If kids do run around in the galleria the sound carries as you only have a single door to the big open area.
Would we go back... Absolutely
They suggest a tip in a sealed envelope to reception rather than individually, we were happy to do this.

Room Tip: You could request a room overlooking the valley, others overlooked road but was nevertheless quite o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marauder65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and your appreciation about the hotel location, the room and the service. I would also pass your feedback to our kitchen team on your inputs. The swimming pool and the spa in the hotel do offer our guests great relaxation. I also note your inputs on the wi-fi service. The speed offered is 5 mbps that is the best in the city and the wi-fi set up in the hotel allows our guest to use upto 04 devices together. We are in the proceess of enhancing our DVD collection and also upgrading our Television service and soon would be able to add more channels. We all look forward to having you back at The Oberoi Cecil in the near future.

Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

V good all round. High quality , good food
Excellent service . Great views and amenities , quiet and accessible , good rooms . Be careful with monkeys - one came in window ( 3 rd floor! ) and stole fruit
........,............



Would use again .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ormers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and posting your review. Your positive feedback indeed pushes the entire team at the hotel to do better. We look forward to your future visits with us.

Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

To begin with the positives, and there were many! This is a very elegant and atmospheric hotel with comfortable well appointed rooms (please note that not all rooms have views - ours had a very large balcony which overlooked the front), impeccable service, good indoor pool and fitness facilities, and more than acceptable buffet breakfasts and diners. However, our three night stay was marred by disrupted sleep from dogs barking through the night. We travelled as part of a group of 34, and most of our group experienced the same problem wherever their room was located. We do find it strange that no other review up to now mentions this. After leaving feedback, we got an immediate email apology from the manager saying he had taken the matter up with the municipal corporation. This was a nice gesture, and we appreciate that problems of this kind are probably beyond the control of the hotel, but it was enough of an issue for us to think twice before recommending the hotel to others.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dellwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberoicecilshimla, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for your postive feedback about the services (room, food and facilities) at the hotel. I apologise for the noise issue that you faced during your stay.We once a month call the Municipal Corporation to clear up the road in front of the hotel for dogs. On this occasion we found out that a female dog litter had got trapped in sand which resulted in the noise. The same has been cleared. I do hope that this isolated incident would not mar your overall impression about The Oberoi Cecil and we do hope to have you stay with us during your next visit to Shimla.

Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shimla
1.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#9 of 111 in Shimla
1,039 reviews
5.6 mi away
Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas
1.3 mi away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#4 of 111 in Shimla
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 111 in Shimla
781 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 111 in Shimla
840 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#12 of 111 in Shimla
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla

Property: The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Address: Advanced Study Road, Shimla 171004, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Shimla
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shimla
#1 Spa Hotel in Shimla
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shimla
#1 Business Hotel in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in Shimla, the gateway to the majestic Himalayas. Downtown Hotel with Colonial styling, 1 km from Shimla Station & 22 km from Jubalhatti-Shimla Airport. The Hotel is situated at the quite end of the famous Mall and is an ideal base from which to discover the unique beauty of the spectacular Himalayan ranges, Cedar forests and ancient monasteries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Cecil - Shimla Hotel Shimla
Oberoi Shimla
Shimla Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing