We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Woodville...Maybe Wouldnot..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of WelcomHeritage Woodville Palace Shimla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
WelcomHeritage Woodville Palace Shimla
Ranked #28 of 110 Hotels in Shimla
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Woodville...Maybe Wouldnot..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I utilized the coupons to Visit Shimla at the Woodville Palace.
While the property has a lot of history, and glamour as the Erstwhile Royals are still in residence, the state of upkeep of the property leaves a lot to be desired.
The size of the rooms is understandably the typical Hill size. Some aspects of service leave a lot to be desired.
1. At check in the Desk Staff was disappointed that we came with Card Vouchers, as they would be paid much later. I explained to them it was not a "free Junket" as I have spent a lot of money to earn these rewards.
2. The Bedrooms had no Pillow Covers or Towels at Check in. The same had to be demanded.
3. The cleanliness of the Bathrooms left a lot to be desired. The Pots were Dirty as were the walls in the corners.
What was excellent was the food at the Restaurant as well as the Garden Restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teghjeet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
divrajjubbal, Owner at WelcomHeritage Woodville Palace Shimla, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

Please accept our apologies for the short coming during your stay. We have taken measures to ensure your comments have been addressed.

We have passed on your positive feedback to the chefs.

We do hope you will give us an opportunity to extend our true hospitality in future.

Kind regards

Divraj Singh Jubbal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    101
    49
    25
    29
See reviews for
110
87
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Pros - proximity to the mall road (15-20 mins walk), away from the crowd
Cons - bad service, staff always in a bad mood, bad breakfast, average room service food, rooms in a bad condition (guess they are renovating)
AVOIDABLE...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AtulKharbanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
divrajjubbal, Owner at WelcomHeritage Woodville Palace Shimla, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are sad to hear your trip was not satisfactory. We do hope that you will give us another chance to extend our hospitality post our renovation.

Kind regards,

Divraj Singh Jubbal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shimla hotels

Bangalore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Shimla was our first stop in our hill station tour and Woodville was recommended by a friend. Our first impression was that it looked wonderful. It was a palace and it had royalty written all over it. We stayed in the deluxe rooms for 3 days and found the service just all right. The place is quiet and the food is not the best. A good place if you want to stay for a few days. For the service, felt that the price was a little too high. Otherwise, good stay.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are nice and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rahulbangalore29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
divrajjubbal, Owner at WelcomHeritage Woodville Palace Shimla, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing a review on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to know you had a pleasant stay. We will incorporate your comments on service into our next training session.

We do look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Kind regards,

Divraj Singh Jubbal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Our stay at Woodville was pleasant. The property really looks like a palace and is majestic. The rooms were nice and spacious and the service was prompt. Being our first stop in our hill station tour in India, I guess probably expected more from a hotel of this category. There was nothing wrong in particular, but I guess we just didn't tell in love with the place.
However, for a weekend, it is a good place. Recommended.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelmssunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
divrajjubbal, Owner at WelcomHeritage Woodville Palace Shimla, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor.

We are grateful you had a pleasant stay and look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Kind regards,

Divraj Singh Jubbal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Stayed 2 nights in a 'Deluxe' room - After looking through dozens of Shimla hotels with hygiene issues as per the reviews, we finally settled on Woodville Palace as it looked like the best option within our budget, but boy, was I disappointed!

The good:
- Vintage factor, since this is a former palace. The royal family's stuff and photos are all over the place and you're free to look through if you like.
- Rooms were very spacious.
- Peaceful location and pleasant 15-minute walk to the main market area (the Mall).

The bad:
- Really old rooms, smell musty.
- Very poorly maintained bathrooms - the one in our allotted room had stains and cracks, so we asked to see a few other rooms - the situation was as bad in all four rooms we saw and the staff was indifferent! The photos speak for themselves.
- Service is slow and some of the staff still hasn't lost the air of 'royalty'.

I've personally stayed in better rooms / hotels in India / abroad for lower prices and this hotel just seems like a case of neglect / disinterest on the part of the owner. It could do so much better!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the car parking, esp. the ones on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank as_bombay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
divrajjubbal, Owner at WelcomHeritage Woodville Palace Shimla, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to hear that you appreciated our heritage. We are in the process of renovating our rooms and facilities and hopefully will be in time for your next visit.

Kind regards

Divraj Singh Jubbal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Its a heritage property allright, but the maharaja's would have shot them for their shoody service! The morning tea take a good 90 mins to reach the room from the time a call is made to the kitchen, and calls reminding that an order was placed go ignored. Having said that, The property is by all means(all other means ) is an excellent one. The fortress of the maharaja of jubbal is located at probably the best place in shimla. Right on the road which has the governer house, as well as the chief minister's residence. The Mall road is walking distance(if you're one for slightly longer walks). When the food does arrive, boy is it delicious. Everything is fresh and piping hot. They have a limited menu, but they have perfected every dish down to the last grain, which is something I appreciate about this place. The hotel is probably one of the only few which can boast of having a lawn on its property, which is ideal for you to laze around with family. They hold a barbeque if they have enough occupancy, and it is worth every penny you pay for it! I wouldn't mind giving it a try again, but they definitely need to work on their service.

Room Tip: Try out their suite, its really big and well kept.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angadsingh21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
divrajjubbal, Owner at WelcomHeritage Woodville Palace Shimla, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing comments on TripAdvisor.

We have forwarded your feedback to our chefs and service staff. We take pride in our hospitality and were delighted to read your comments. We will look at improving our service.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Divraj Singh Jubbal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stunning property nestled in the mountains.....This beautiful palace with an old world charm is a great place for a relaxing holiday.
Very nicely appointed rooms. The Hollywood bar 1930’s, is a perfect place to have a glass of wine.
Excellent service, all staff members are extremely polite & have impeccable manners.
Perfect place for PEACE & QUIET, VIEWS & WALKS......
I’ll be back again!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Praneetk2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
divrajjubbal, Owner at WelcomHeritage Woodville Palace Shimla, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for providing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We were happy to read your kind comments. Your appreciation has been passed on to our staff.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to your home in the Queen of the Hills.

Kind regards,

Divraj Singh Jubbal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shimla hotels
2.8 mi away
Shimla Havens Resort
Shimla Havens Resort
#18 of 110 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#12 of 110 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 stars 412 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#8 of 110 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 stars 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
East Bourne Resort & Spa
East Bourne Resort & Spa
#23 of 110 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#7 of 110 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
5.0 mi away
Marigold Sarovar Portico
Marigold Sarovar Portico
#17 of 110 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WelcomHeritage Woodville Palace Shimla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomHeritage Woodville Palace Shimla

Property: WelcomHeritage Woodville Palace Shimla
Address: Raj Bhawan Road, Shimla 171002, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 110 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — WelcomHeritage Woodville Palace Shimla 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodville Palace houses 31 rooms, inclusive of the royal cottage and royal suite, which have been tastefully decorated into theme rooms. In the tradition of most heritage hotels, no two rooms are alike in decor and yet they offer that same high quality service and comfort to the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your WelcomHeritage Woodville Palace Shimla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodville Palace Shimla
Woodville Palace Hotel Shimla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing