We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Go There”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
WelcomHeritage Woodville Palace Shimla
Ranked #25 of 117 Hotels in Shimla
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Never ever go there in January. We arrived after 18 inches of snow had fallen.There is no heating in the rooms apart from an electric fire. Diners were eating wearing overcoats. The staff had no idea how to serve a meal or look after their guests although the offer of hot water bottles was well intentioned. Made Fawlty Towers look good. Internet access was down. The plumbing in the bathroom was quite frankly dangerous. Wires coming from hot water tanks and scalding steam coming from the taps. The hotel boasts about is 1930's feel but nothing has been done to it since and it is frankly archaic. Would give a minus rating if I could.
Loved Shimla though which we thought was an amazing place and the people were very friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidTomkins81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
divrajjubbal, Owner at WelcomHeritage Woodville Palace Shimla, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear Mr. Tomkins,
Our sincere apologies for your experience at our hotel. We are in the process of modernizing our facilities and would look to incorporate your feedback on infrastructure in our plans. We will look into our staff as well as it is our goal to ensure our clients expectations are met. We hope that you would consider staying with us post our re-haul.
Kind regards,
Divraj Singh Jubbal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 336 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at Woodville during Christmas 2012. Went with my wife and two kids.
They had organized a nice barbeque in the lawns with an Archery contest - was great fun.
While it is a 15-20 minute walk away from the mall - one doesn't mind the walk as it is mostly flat (no major climb). Even my kids enjoyed the walks from the Hotel to the mall and back.
The staff is very warm and the food is decent.

Room Tip: Its definitely more fun staying in the Palace Wing rather than the Heritage Wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shanz_9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a kind of place where you can sit and write poems! M serious! The location, scenic view from rooms, food, lawn, room facilities are so relaxing.. I bet you will not feel like leaving the room.. Absolutely amazing.. this hotel is..

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shivee s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Pros - Very large Rooms, Very Large Bed, Fireplace with in room (chargable extra), Comfortable parking with in Hotel, Excellent and Tasty Food, Huge washoom with 100ltr Water Heater enough to take 2 people shower with in 30min in Shimla Cold Winters. Room Heater Rods could make stay comfortable.
Cons - Very Old Furniture, sofa's seats have worn out both from inside and outside, Wash room floor and bath tub seriously need renovation although taps were working OK.
Location - Right next to Governer and Chief Minister house, take a 15min walk and you are in Mall Road, path is OK but has some climb. Very Quiet with its own lawns to sit outside on an bright sunny day :)
Verdict - If you want to stay in good hotel with smiling staff, good food and ready to accept the cons - strongly suggest do try once and make ur own review.

Room Tip: Go for there higher catagory room with in the main complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Docvini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

its a beautiful, quaint palace....full of antiques, old carpets and other old royal family things. beautiful garden with hammocks. tranquility enjoyed at its best......normal rooms not at all maintained....shabby bedspread.....old tv....bathrooms upkeep poor.....food was ok....rather good....caramel custard was excellent. the chefs good with continental....english dishes....chicken roast etc, breakfast so so.....good staff....by and large an average experience.....the suite is very nice n tastefully done give one the feeling of being in the palace......

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thehouseoftea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

its an old but good hotel with lot of greenery at the premises, the service is good, food is also good, good view, 3 kms from mall road,clean spacious rooms, bathrooms are clean but require a little bit of refurbishment, heaters are there in the room.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank manishberiwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I decided to spend the new year in the hotel (checkin 30dec and checkout 1st Jan. The reason why I chose this hotel was because I was not getting reservation in any 4 or 5 star hotel in shimla and my travel agent highly recommended it (now I realise that it was because this was the only property available)

Upon arrival we saw no happy faces to greet or welcome us. After parking the car we went straight to the reception. The checkin was quick but the room was a big disappointment. I had a very old look and old furniture. The bathrooms were below average. I think to give a fair review, this may be also because it is a heritage hotel and they have tried to preserve and provide the same. This my be good for some but bad for others. In my case I did not like at all. I was travelling with my kids and they were equally disappointed. There was nothing for their entertainment and keep them busy. This was minimum to be expected at a WH hotel.

I asked them if they can provide me an alternate room (better room), they provided some option ( a cottage) at additional cost. The cottage was also very average but better then their imperial room for which I already paid 23k for 2 nights...!!!

The dinner and breakfast was very average stuff. I requested for some South Indian food (kids asked for dosa) and it was a clear no. Another disappointment.

At one point if time we thought of checking out and returning back to Delhi. But later decided not to do so as we were late to depart. I also enquired of some money can be refunded if I checkout a day early. The answer was big no. I understood.

I would recommend this hotel only if you have taste for heritage hotels. Avoid if travelling with kids.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunildalal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shimla hotels
0.3 mi away
East Bourne Resort & Spa
East Bourne Resort & Spa
#27 of 117 in Shimla
329 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#2 of 117 in Shimla
551 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmount Shimla Forest Greens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#18 of 117 in Shimla
504 reviews
5 mi away
Marigold Sarovar Portico
Marigold Sarovar Portico
#11 of 117 in Shimla
319 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#13 of 117 in Shimla
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WelcomHeritage Woodville Palace Shimla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomHeritage Woodville Palace Shimla

Address: Raj Bhawan Road, Shimla 171002, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 117 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range: $77 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — WelcomHeritage Woodville Palace Shimla 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodville Palace houses 31 rooms, inclusive of the royal cottage and royal suite, which have been tastefully decorated into theme rooms. In the tradition of most heritage hotels, no two rooms are alike in decor and yet they offer that same high quality service and comfort to the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your WelcomHeritage Woodville Palace Shimla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodville Palace Shimla
Woodville Palace Hotel Shimla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing