We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It has its quirks, but that's the whole charm of it”
Review of Chapslee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chapslee
Ranked #4 of 112 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“It has its quirks, but that's the whole charm of it”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This is a must - the opportunity to experience a piece of history - and don't miss the opportunity to hear all about it first hand from your charming host who will give you the potted family history which is almost synonymous with the story of the Raj.

The rooms were comfortable, the food delicious and the ambience wonderful. Reggie's been doing this for over 30 years so has the right balance by instinct between engaging with his guests and leaving alone them to bask in the experience; in addition all the staff are courteous and attentive.

You'll see that all the reviews say the same thing - please believe them and don't miss out on an opportunity like no other.

It has its quirks, but that's the charm of it. It's certainly not a hotel, more an elegant home stay, but absolutely an unmissable experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pete6612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
89
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ghaziabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I booked this hotel mainly based on its #1 rating on TripAdvisor. And it is unmatched experience to stay here.
The attitude of its owners Mrs and Mr Kunwar Ratan Jeet Singh and staff are remarkable and just the right level and they go to great length to make you feel at home.
It is a place you would definitely come back to and recommend to your friends. Thank you very much for making our stay so pleasant!!!

Room Tip: selection of room is immaterial, the feel ,the royalty, the true feelings remains same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pandeyshriharsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

From the moment you book to the moment you leave you are made to feel welcome and cared for. You don’t feel like you are staying a hotel. You feel like you are extremely privileged to be staying in a beautiful, luxurious and spacious old home. The photos speak for themselves. Every room is full of beautiful objects, fine rugs, wonderful paintings and elegant furniture. It is easy to imagine this as the summer residence of a prince in Edwardian times. Although of a far far far grander scale it reminds me of my grandmother’s house with its uneven floors, cracked walls and ceilings, old fashioned light switches and polished wood all lovingly cared for and preserved.

Not only is the building a delight. So was the food. My stomach had not agreed with something and all spice food was of my menu. I was losing weight rapidly. We were asked in advance, even while travelling, what we would like and it was delicious. I think I even converted my Indian companions to English food, especially the apricot pancakes (or are those French?).

Not only are the building and food a delight. Our host was also a delight. He made sure that we were well looked after despite arriving late in the evening. And next day he made sure that we were well informed to sample the delights of Shimla. He provided excellent instructions on how to drive to the Vice Regal Lodge, I am sure we would never have got there without them. And he made sure that our travel arrangements back to Delhi were the best for us – Toy Train and overnight AC1 sleeper.

If you are ever in Shimla – stay at Chapslee – it is the best attraction in Shimla and so few get to see it. Make sure you are one.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Penny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Like stepping back in time! A truely unique place and a real privilege to have been able to stay. For anyone with a sense of history this place is unmissable. The host is a true gent, his chef superb and the staff unfailingly polite. I have never stayed anywhere with such charm.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Living in a museum

Staying in chapsle is like staying in a museum you can find 200 year old carpet and other artefacts every thing is old and antiquated including wash basins. With no tv living in nature in.old mansion and being treated like royalty transports one to raj era.
One minus point is lack of restaurant where one can get round clock service though breakfast and dinner served is great,
Overall it was unique and relaxing experience ,

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coolajat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Being at Chapslee is like living history. The sense of presearvation is awesome. I asked for a tour of the house, and the host was gracious enough to grant it. Every piece in that house is an antique. our room (the deluxe suite) had a sketch dated 1899, a photograph signed 1942, a water color in the study signed 1935. The wall display with arms is amazing. I could spend hours just looking at the things in Chapslee... miniature paintings, photographs, relics.. every room is a treasure trove in itself.

I would recommend Chapslee to everyone out there who is looking to relive a part of the Raj history.

We booked directly because we couldnt see an online deal. It is expensive for the regular traveler.

Room Tip: i would recommend the suites. Though every room is special in its own way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lonetraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Chapslee was less a hotel and more a home or a piece of history. We enjoyed our stay immensely thanks to the wonderful setting, our gracious host and his attentive staff. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom decent (plenty of hot water, even in an old house like this). The breakfasts and dinners were exquisite and we were so well looked after throughout our visit. We'll definitely be back next time we're in India, and suggest everyone else takes the opportunity to go while they still can.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shimla hotels
1.5 mi away
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#10 of 112 in Shimla
1,071 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#2 of 112 in Shimla
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
0.8 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 112 in Shimla
799 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 112 in Shimla
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapslee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapslee

Property: Chapslee
Address: Chapslee, Shimla 171001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shimla
#5 Family Hotel in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Chapslee Hotel Shimla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing