We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little cafe”
Review of Wake & Bake Cafe

Wake & Bake Cafe
Ranked #3 of 114 Restaurants in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $5
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Cozy cafe with freshly cooked food, high quality ingredients, great ambiance. Right in the middle of the mall near the Red Fire Trucks. Look up for the blue building with yellow windows :)
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great little cafe”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Lovely terrace upstairs with a nice view.
AMAZING crepes and lovely service, this is a very friendly little stop in the middle of the hectic shopping on the Mall.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lco11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Himanshu_Sud, Owner at Wake & Bake Cafe, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for taking out time to review our cafe. Evening is a good time to be up on the terrace. The sunset is very picturesque. We wish you well for all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    184
    47
    9
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
167 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Shimla needed a cafe like this”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

A much needed addition to the food scene at Shimla. The food & service is very good and the pricing excellent. Their savory crepes are very good not to be missed. The daily special are good chicken schnitzel another must try. The menu has enough variety to get you to revisit the place. have been there more than once on the last visit to Shimla and will certainly revisit the place when next in Shimla

The resturant is very well located on the town hall square, on the second floor above the shop Madame. Sit by the window and you will catch both the cool breeze and the sea of tourists walking on the Mall. A must try to visitors to Shimla who like non Asian food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SunnyKochhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Himanshu_Sud, Owner at Wake & Bake Cafe, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for an informative review on our cafe. We are honoured that you would visit us again the next time you are in Shimla. You should try the terrace sitting for a different view of the town. Also we are working on new specials so no matter how many times you would like to visit, we hope to make you come back for more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Refreshing bakery”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Very good cakes and coffee. I had carrott cake and 'chai'. Both very good. Sit next to the window, enjoy the cool breeze and a sea of tourists outside on the mall road, near town hall stairs. The wooden stools are quite comfortable, after long walks on the Ridge and mall. Service is excellent.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kapil6474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Himanshu_Sud, Owner at Wake & Bake Cafe, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for taking out some of your precious time to review our cafe. We are planning to expand our bakery over the winter so you would most definitely have an even larger variety of cakes. A lot of visitors miss out on viewing the terrace. In case you missed it, theres another thing for you to do on your next visit to Shimla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shimla, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“amazing people”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

people working are friendly and food is good.....the terrace is a good place to sit....humus and pita is a must to be tried...............................................................................................................

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank aadityadutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Himanshu_Sud, Owner at Wake & Bake Cafe, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for taking time to review our cafe. We are glad you like the service and food. Your constant encouragement will help us maintain our standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cool place!”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

My wife and I had a falafel and coffee here, both very good. The staff is young and friendly, the place sits right overlooking the town square so you can do a lot of people watching, and overall it's got a cool feel to it. There is a lot of punk crowd at the place, so it's easy entertainment overhearing their gossip :)

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aaditeshwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Himanshu_Sud, Owner at Wake & Bake Cafe, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our cafe. It is encouraging to know that the quality of our food and coffee is appreciated. We are constantly working to keep the standards up. You should try the terrace sitting the next time you visit if you would like a view of the valley. Hope to see you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wake & Bake Cafe also viewed

Shimla, Shimla District
Shimla, Shimla District
 
Shimla, Shimla District
Shimla, Shimla District
 

Been to Wake & Bake Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing