We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful calm place in the lap of Nature”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shimla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Northmoon Homestay Shimla
Ranked #4 of 136 Shimla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Peaceful calm place in the lap of Nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Me and my wife stayed in Northmoon homestay for 2 nights and we were lucky enough to see the snowfall, the same day we arrived. It was a fabulous experience at Northmoon homestay. The stay, food, hospitality was excellent.Do visit this place to experience the heart of nature and to have excellent home cooked food offered by Mr.Suresh uncle and aunty..would definitely love to visit again...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Navin_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
34
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed at Northmoon alongwith my wife for 3 days and totally relied on the reviews provided by previous guests. I must say the service, food and rooms are excellent.

The rooms are spacious, clean, well ventilated and have a charm of wooden house (the walls have wooden sheets embedded). The rooms look same as provided on website. The bed is comfortable with ample blankets provided for a warm sleep. The rooms have electric heaters which can be used to keep one extra warm. The bed can accommodate 2 adults easily.

For cleanliness conscious people, the toilets are big, ventilated, clean with 24 hours hot water supply.

The rooms have spacious balcony which provide stunning view of valley and farms below. All the rooms face the sun so it helps to keep the room warm and enjoy the warm sunlight if one feels like lazying in the sun.

The food is excellent and is prepared by Mr. Sharma's wife. The food is rich in ghee and tastes wonderful. She prepares the local delicacies as well as normal home food. The food is not at all "hotel" food. For calorie conscious people and who dont like home food please stay away from this food.

Both Mr. and Mrs. Sharma ensure that the guest have the best time at their homestay and are caring and warm. Mr. Sharma would also help to arrange local sightseeing upon request.

I would definitely recommend to people to stay here and i would like to come back here to get relaxed again.

Room Tip: Try to occupy rooms which are higher as the higher rooms would provide stunning view of the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Vikramk22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at Northmoon Homestay at Fagu (at about an hour's drive from Shimla) in the first week of October and have come back completely smitten by the serenity of the place and warm hospitality of the owners - Suresh ji and Indira ji.

The rooms are very comfortable, spacious, clean and tastefully done. The interiors are done in Cedar - which leaves a very pleasant natural aroma. The beds and linen were crisp and super clean. The rooms have a balcony which give a great view of the surrounding valley and the fields below. The peace, which any city-dweller keep missing in his/her daily life, was what we got in abundance here. This was after long, I could just sit back and listen to the sounds of nature ... singing of the crickets, whistle of the wind, swishing of the trees and an occasional bird breaking the monotony by screaming aloud...ah, what bliss! After very long, we got time when we could just relax and unwind and spend idle moments with each other. We went trekking the jungles too which was a lot of fun.

The owners were warm and welcoming and went out of their way to make us feel home. They treated us to some amazing local fare that Mrs. Indira prepared herself. In matter of just 2 days, it felt we knew them for years...This is a place we have been unbashedly recomminding to people in our circle... Those scouting for peace, head to Northmoon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Abracadabra2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangladesh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Really amazing, peaceful place to spend your time, away from hustle and bustle of people and crowd. we stayed for 7 days in northmoon and days just went. staying there wasn't enough. i want to go there again. we stayed at the top floor. room is big and clean and you can enjoy the view from the balcony.

Suresh ji and Indira ji, made out stay memoriable. Suresh ji helped us in everything. He came to receives us early in the morning at around 5:30 am. then he managed our trip to Rothang pass and our 1 day stay at manali. He literally did everything for us. And Indira ji's food were awesome. my partner enjoyed alot and seeing him enjoying the food, i enjoyed alot as well.

almost everyday we went to Shimla but we weren't tired of going there.. its just beautiful..the weather is changing. you can experience the rain, sun, fog all at the same day.

i want to go back again. complete peaceful place, full of greenery, hills, majestic views.

Thank you Suresh ji and Indira ji for making our stay wonderful.

Room Tip: stay on the top floor. you can have the wonderful view from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank SiniShom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overijse, Belgium
Level Contributor
212 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

End of August, we spent a night in Fagu before starting our 13 day trip to Sangla Valley and Spiti. It was a great experience. The rooms are spacious and the smell of the cedar wood is very nice. The surroundings, which can be admired form your own balcony, are very green. The hospitality of the owners warms the heart and they are intelligent, knowledgeable people and great to talk to. Being foreigners, it is nice that communication is perfect. The food is not only prepared with care and love but also delicious. They can also arrange transport and short and long excursions if one wants to go away for the day or longer. We can only regret that we arrived there in the evening and left again the following morning. However, we live in Delhi and we now know the perfect get away from the city.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms, on top of each other, so hardly any difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank laraBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We've stayed couple of nights at North Moon home stay and experience was simply out of world. Villa situated in front of pine trees and middle of lush green surroundings. It was an wonderful feeling to get so near to green nature and get away from hustle and bustle of City Life. Now come to hospitality that was simply splendid by Mr and Mrs Suresh. Mr. Suresh was so humble and taken care of our all needs and vegetarian Food prepared By Mrs. Suresh was mouthwatering, especially Parthas, Karela, Beans and Hamachi food. We just came back with memories of this wonderful experience and if situation permits, we'll go back to this wonderful place someday.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
13 Thank Pankaj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were a group of 9 people looking for an offbeat vacation away from the crowded Shimla. We were lucky to stumble upon North Moon. We had our bookings done about 2 months in advance and we were not sure of what to expect when we got there.

But when we did, we got more than what we wanted. We got peace. We got comfort. We got views that will remain fresh for time to come. We got great food. Wonderful hospitality from Mrs. and Mr. Sharma. They made sure we were comfortable all the time that we were there. Mr. Sharma also arranged a vehicle for us to go around in all through our trip to Himachal. Mrs. Sharma fed us the most awesome homemade food that we could ask for.

Northmoon is a big bungalow with 3 very big rooms made of wood. The scent of a wooden room is something we cannot image in Mumbai. We had the entire bungalow to ourselves. The bungalow overlooks Mr. Sharma's apple orchard and the valley beyond. The early morning views from the room were spectacular. The fog, the green trees, and the valley together make a wonderful sight. I strongly suggest having a hot cup of tea on the terrace of the bungalow in the morning.

My 1 year old daughter also had a great time. She had great fun with Mr. Sharma's grand-niece, Riddhima. She is such a cutie.

Overall, a wonderful experience. If there was any regret, it was the fact that our tight schedule did not let us spend more time there. :( We will make sure to have an extended stay at Northmoon the next time we visit Himachal.

Thanks a lot to the Sharma family.

PS: Pics coming soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank TaPri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shimla
8.1 mi away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
4.4 mi away
Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas
7.9 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
9.8 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
10.6 mi away
Shimla Havens Resort
Shimla Havens Resort
#18 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northmoon Homestay Shimla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northmoon Homestay Shimla

Property: Northmoon Homestay Shimla
Address: Village Talai, Post Office Fagu, Shimla 171209, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 136 B&Bs / Inns in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A real homestay in a peaceful village near Shimla city. You can have close view of the Himalayas from the front window. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing