We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Shimla”
Review of Aapo Aap Home Stay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aapo Aap Home Stay
Ranked #3 of 139 Shimla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in Shimla”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Aapo Aap has very spacious and clean rooms. The staff is courteous and helpful. The food (only vegetarian) is great too - totally home-made. Though located a bit far from the town, it has an excellent view of the hills. By far the best place to stay in Shimla.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SmartestSiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    17
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
55
85
25
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed twice last month at Aapo Aap Homestay for several days and it was by far the best homestay experience we ever had in India. Shivi is the embodiment of hospitality and the atmosphere of this large free-standing house is very peaceful, relaxing and laid-back. Like the rooms, the balconies are spacious and offer gorgeous views over the valleys. Aapo Aap is located 10km from the hectic, bustling hillstation of Shimla but it is easy to get a local bus into town and Shivi was always happy to help us out whenever we wanted to hit road. All in all we would highly recommend anyone who is in the mood for a calm, relax stay in himachal pradesh to drop by for some time to recharge the batteries and enjoy a carefree holiday. Thanks again Shivi!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anna86304551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

8kms away from hustle n bustle of concrete hillstation Shimla mall its not convenient for those wthout car at disposal. But ambience wise great as overlooking hills n valley from sitting area very good food, tastefully appointed suite apprtment with mineral water free at disposal.Tea coffee maker at room n great toilet ambience. Owner takes great effort to see ppl r comfrtbl n served homely n tasty food in great dining plc. But they allow only veg food. If ny1 wants to stay here to njoy Shimla n around then good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deep90gupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Travel Date - 25 May 2013
Traveled as a couple and had fun staying at Aapo Aap. I went with the reviews on tripadvisor and was looking out for a place outside of shimla to enjoy the himalyan range with peaceful environment. This was just the place I was searching for.

Mr. Shivi will ensure that you get the perfect experience staying on his property. Shimla is no more a hill station and is similar to any other metro city just located on the mountains. The moment you step out of shimla towards chhota shimla, this is the place you would want to stay.

Room - pickup any room. they are all the same and will give you beautiful view of entire himalyan range.
Service - very good. The cardamom and ginger tea was beyond words.
Cleanliness and hygiene are maintained at all the times.

You can play ludo, chess, read books and stay at peace here. Lovely property. Will plan a trip again with entire family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank nitindewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallabh Vidya Nagar
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We spent two weeks in Himachal Pradesh and this place was our favorite because it has all the things you want and none of the the things you don't! The mountain views were beautiful and uninterrrupted by other buildings. It was quiet and peaceful - no hustle bustle or air pollution (it's 12 km outside Simla.) We took the chairs from our spacious room outside to relax on the huge terrace and commune with nature. There is also a garden with beautiful roses on the side. The hearty breakfast was included and the dinner food was very reasonably priced and homemade fresh every day. There isn't a restaurant, you just let Shivi know by 2pm if you will be there for dinner. We found it tasty and not as oily as a lot of restaurant food we've had. It was like home food, which is a treat when you are travelling. Also, I have some food allergies which were graciously accommodated. The place was clean, with clean towels and bed linens - not always the case for this price range in India! Shivi was a helpful and relaxed host, and we would definitely stay there again. It would be a nice place to stay for an extended period (for which discounts are apparently available.) Two nights were not enough!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank GajriKesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I spent 3 nights at Aapo Aap in late April and met with a warm welcome and great support from Shivi Who went out of his way to make us at home,lending us an Indian phone, ensuring we always had what we needed. The only down side was a malfunctioning pipe in the bathroom which gave a whole new mening to the phrase 'wet room'. Aapo Aap may be a bit out of the centre of Shimla but the views are spectacular - doing yoga on our balcony with the monkeys running past was a highlight! - and it is very good value for money with endless and delicious food for both breakfast and dinner. We didn't find the mediation room till the end of our stay but would have used it if we had.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

3rd - 5th April 2013 - Arrived from Dharamshala to a lovely place to stay. Rooms were clean and of good size with nice, comfy duvets - not just blankets. Hot water worked well and bathrooms were clean. Breakfast was nice but with 3 other couples staying, we would have preferred our own table rather then having to make small talk in the morning and pass things around the table. Wifi was available on request at breakfast and very quick.

Location of Aapo Aap is a bit out of the way. Our driver did not know where it was. Luckily, I had used my iPhone to download the map. He was very hesitant still on driving down the narrow roads. I would suggest that you arrange to meet Shivi (the manager) at a point in Shimla and he can direct your driver to the house that way - otherwise you may spend hours looking for this place.

Room Tip: Take a map to locate this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leena_and_Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shimla hotels
3.4 mi away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 112 in Shimla
856 reviews
2.5 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 112 in Shimla
794 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#12 of 112 in Shimla
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Snow King Retreat
Snow King Retreat
#96 of 112 in Shimla
53 reviews
5.4 mi away
Toshali Royal View
Toshali Royal View
#23 of 112 in Shimla
331 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aapo Aap Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aapo Aap Home Stay

Property: Aapo Aap Home Stay
Address: | Aapo Aap Building, Near Sargheen Chowk, Panthaghati, Shimla 171013, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aapo Aap Home Stay 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aapo Aap Home Stay - a bed and breakfast accommodation, is part of the initiative taken by the Himachal Pradesh Government to promote rural tourism & stands duly registered with the Himachal Pradesh Tourism Department. Distance from our homestay: Mall Road - 10 Km, Shimla Railway station & bus stand- 12 Km. Taxi charges Rs.400-600 For one side trip. Bus charges Rs.20-30 Per person for one way transfer. Free Wi-fi in the lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld and Cancelon so you can book your Aapo Aap Home Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing