We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful couple of nights at Aapo Aap”
Review of Aapo Aap Home Stay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aapo Aap Home Stay
Ranked #3 of 139 Shimla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful couple of nights at Aapo Aap”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I spent two nights at Aapo Aap homestay and thoroughly enjoyed my time there. Shivi was an excellent host, providing suggestions on places to visit and drawing maps of where I might want to walk. The rooms are really spacious and also have a kitchen and communal area. The view from the terrace is beautiful.

My thanks to the cook: breakfasts and dinner were delicious - fresh, home-cooked food. All the staff members are very polite and everyone is so friendly.

Shivi kindly arranged a driver to meet me from the train station when I arrived so I had no problem finding the place (it is about 20 minutes out of Shimla). The next morning it was an easy trip by bus into the centre of Shimla. As the bus starts its journey from outside the house, it's not an issue getting on board!

I would definitely stay at Aapo Aap again if I came back to Shimla again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Rosie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    17
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
55
85
25
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had a great time in Shimla. Shivi did everything to make us feel comfortable. The room and the view were great. We had very good breakfast and vegetarian dinner. Thank you Shivi and carry on like this. André & Carolin

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndreWittmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed three nights and loved it. Clean rooms with amazing views . 17 minutes south of Shimla on a quiet hillside. Tasty food, kind and helpful staff, and as bodders wrote "spiritually relaxing, tranquil, and serene.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lisbeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Aapo Aap Home Stay came personally recommended to us by friends and having now stayed there, I have absolutely no hesitation in passing it on. If you don't need the bright lights and night life of Shimla on your doorstep, but prefer something that is spiritually relaxing, tranquil and serene, here is the place to stay. Aapo Aap is on the Sargheen-Panthaghati ridge, about 20 minutes drive south of Old Shimla. The well-appointed and commodious house faces east. It is built on four or five levels and the terraced verandahs catch the first rays of the rising sun. There are stunning views all round and many pleasant interesting walks nearby. The guest accommodation is capacious, spotlessly clean, well furnished and comfortable. We found the staff to be cheerful, helpful and always anxious to please. Guests who dine in are invited to share the Kanwar family table. The food is excellent. Typically fine Himachal cuisine, but Raju the cook is quite happy to knock you up an English omellette or a couple of fried eggs for breakfast, if that's what you prefer. Evening meals are quite sumptuous with a variety of delicious dhals and paneers. And with typical Punjabi hospitality, the chapatis and parathas keep on coming until someone tells the cook to stop!

Altogether a most enjoyable and memorable three days of our trip to the Siwalik. We felt treated more like family, rather than itinerant hotel guests. We are resolved to return, and next time it will be for longer.

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper levels will catch the first rays of the morning sun. Chai at dawn on the balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank bodders635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We recently spent 4 nights at Aapo Aap Homestay and had a wonderful time. Slightly off the beaten track,driver found it little difficult to find but was well worth the journey.The apartment was very spacious with everything we could possibly need. Views from the large verandah are amazing. Shivi was a great host offering excellent advice on what to do, where to go around Shimla .Food was delicious and plentiful! We would highly recommend Aapo Aap Homestay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Tamara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Aapo Aap is a great homestay.
Shivi is a great host and very helpful. Stayed there for 6 nights (after initially booking for 2) and he helped us explore the region in a good way.

The food the cooks cook is amazing (vegetarian) and the views are unbelievable. He helped us arrange a driver and places to visit on our short trip and even recommended us to see another Homestay a few villages away where we ended up having lunch...wonderful!

Although it might be a little more expensive than some other places around, it is definitely worth the money.
The rooms are huge and all facilities you need are there.

On a note: make sure you have contact details and address with you, since it might be a little hard to find for drivers outside of the region. (We took a driver from New Delhi)

Apart from that I would definitely recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank collindominique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We recently spent one week at Aapo Aap Home Stay with our two children, ages 6 and 8. All of us had the best time and the kids want to go again for a longer stay. We were expecting just a hotel room but it is more like a self contained apartment including an entry room with TV, bedroom, bathroom, small kitchen area, and dining/lounge room. There were a couple of board games for the kids to play and plenty of books, magazines, and local area reading in the lounge area. We had some laundry washed by the hotel for the cheapest rates of any of our other hotel visits, and we also did some hand laundry as there was a big sink and drying rack, as well as an ironing board and iron.

The views are amazing from the verandah and it is so spacious the kids spent a lot of time out there just running around and playing while we read. It was very relaxing and quiet.

The food was DELICIOUS. We ate all our breakfasts and dinners there and we loved every meal.

The house staff were all friendly and helpful and Shivi was wonderfully hospitable and looked after us really well. He even looked after the smallest details like providing us with umbrellas (without us even asking) when we went out for a walk because he thought it might rain (it did).

We would definitely recommend this place to anyone and hope to go again one day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shimla hotels
3.4 mi away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 112 in Shimla
856 reviews
2.5 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 112 in Shimla
794 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#12 of 112 in Shimla
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Snow King Retreat
Snow King Retreat
#96 of 112 in Shimla
53 reviews
5.4 mi away
Toshali Royal View
Toshali Royal View
#23 of 112 in Shimla
331 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aapo Aap Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aapo Aap Home Stay

Property: Aapo Aap Home Stay
Address: | Aapo Aap Building, Near Sargheen Chowk, Panthaghati, Shimla 171013, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aapo Aap Home Stay 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aapo Aap Home Stay - a bed and breakfast accommodation, is part of the initiative taken by the Himachal Pradesh Government to promote rural tourism & stands duly registered with the Himachal Pradesh Tourism Department. Distance from our homestay: Mall Road - 10 Km, Shimla Railway station & bus stand- 12 Km. Taxi charges Rs.400-600 For one side trip. Bus charges Rs.20-30 Per person for one way transfer. Free Wi-fi in the lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Aapo Aap Home Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing